We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, disappointing food however”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, disappointing food however”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Had a fantastic 2 night stay at Creiff Hydro as part of the Romantic Getaway deal. Room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious, however the cleanliness could have been improved on. We were disappointed that we could not access the Victorian Spa despite having day passes due to it being full to capacity the entire day.
Our first meal was in Meikle Restaurant and it was quite frankly terrible, this is our third bad experience inthe Meikle, therefore we changed our second night's dining to the Brasserie and LOVED it, the food and atmosphere were sensational and it became a true highlight of our stay.
The staff were so warm, welcoming and friendly and helped to make our trip so enjoyable and we really look forward to our next trip - making sure to avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thanks for your considered review Leanne S. Daryl and his team in the Brasserie are basking in your praise! It sounds like we’ve got some work to do ‘though to pass muster in Housekeeping and the Meikle Restaurant: thanks for the ‘heads up’ and sorry for these shortcomings. It’s a shame the Victoria Spa was so busy during your stay, but we’ve got maximum numbers per session for the comfort and safety of all users. We all appreciate your understanding and are glad to hear that you're already looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,846
    1,091
    483
    267
    114
See reviews for
1,777
1,043
40
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhu, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Found the hotel after a little local difficulties and were warmly received by lobby staff and reception. They know how to make kids happy. Hotel busy but plenty of space for all. Some Queing at meal time, otherwise service prompt and efficient. Plenty of choice on the menues and the meals went down easily, assisted by good wines. Lots to do and kids enjoyed the supervised play areas, while the more adult members biked, walked, spad or just had a coffee.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your lovely review Docdos. By the sounds of it, Crieff Hydro proved to be a great choice for your family ‘get together’ with something to please everyone, no matter their age! We’re really chuffed that you all had a great time and hope you’ll be back soon for more family fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Planned a 1 night stay to celebrate my sons 40th. Good facilities for the enjoyment of everyone. All spoiled by the level of service. 10 minutes to get 6 drinks with no other customers! Evening meal booked in Brasserie, the 9 of us sat down at appointed time. Order taken 30 minutes later, food served 50 minutes later. Drinks another 10 minutes. Ok it was very busy but there should be staff to cope. Food overpriced for the quality served. Breakfast and service in the Meikle were good. I sent a letter of complaint but not even an acknowledgment. I was brought up near Crieff and always believed the Hydro was something special but not any more. I do not usually give negative reports and I have travelled extensively but the management needs to rethink their staff training.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catrionaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We’re genuinely sorry that we fell so far short on this occasion CatrionaFrance, particularly as you had planned this stay as a 40th Birthday celebration for your son. This is certainly not what we are about, or what we tolerate on a routine basis and we are working hard on improving our total guest experience. Most importantly, what’s at the crux here is that we failed to make you feel valued - and for this we are truly sorry. Hopefully you’ll now have received our e-mail response to your letter. They say you learn 30 new things every day and (thanks to your feedback) I’ll now send an acknowledgement straightaway when a guest writes to us – sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Nice location to stay 1 week. For adults nice area if you like playing golf, walking and mountain biking. For kids is it a challenge to manage your calender with lits of activities.

We' ve stayed in a luxury cottage in crieff cottages at the outside of the park. A perfect location with an even more beautifull view niearby outdoor activities and golf. 10 minutes walk from the hotel facilitties and restaurant. Both restaurant are good but a little expensive related to the scottish bemchmark.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schroders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thanks for your review Schroders. We’re always up for a challenge at the Hydro, so please ask your kids to stop off at our Resort Desk on their next visit and we’ll put an action packed itinerary together for them, leaving you even more time to relax and enjoy the fabulous views. Hurry back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here for only one night attending a meeting at the hotel. Would have liked to have stayed longer! Good facilities on site, great countryside around the hotel and from what I experienced, great food and service; the staff are friendly. Would like to think that I will return one day and stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for a great review kBloke and we’d love to welcome you back to the Hydro. With so many activities on offer, we’ll make sure that your next stay isn’t all work and no play!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My partner booked Crieff Hydro as a surprise as I have been saying that I would love to have a spa break. We had an executive room which was lovely and champagne on ice and snacks waiting for us. The only downside to the room was the early morning hammering coming from building work.
The Hotel is very large but I would imagine that it feels very crowded in season. Even though this was a midweek in January, we were sharing the hotel with large numbers of older people and some families with small children.It was difficult to find a space to sit in bar area in evening due to large groups.So unfortunately after dinner there is little entertainment and we found ourselves wandering around or going back to our room to watch TV.
Booking for meals essential as both the restarants were very busy. Meals served were of a very high standard however the breakfast buffet was not fabulous - found this a bit cold and greasy.
We had a day pass for the Victorian Spa which was lovely - however the other pool was also very quiet as the hotel guests did not apear to be using these facilities. I had planned to use the Beauty Treatments on offer but these were very expensive.
We also used the Gym which was fabulous and very well equipped. We used the cinema - and were the only people in there!!!!There were activities schedulled each day but none of these particularly appealed to us as we were there for such a short stay.
The grounds are beautiful and there are very nice walks nearby.
Finally, the staff are very pleasant and helpful and there is a dedicated person at reception to advise as to activity on offer.

Room Tip: If you have any issues with mobility , consider where your room is positioned in relation to lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlabaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and left the Hydro feeling relaxed Orlabaj. It’s great to receive such a balanced and informative review, as we can clearly see what elements of your break you enjoyed and the areas where we can improve – thanks. Here’s hoping we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have stayed at the Hydro on many occasions and embraced what it has to offer for our family of three generations.

We stayed in one of the larger Culcrieffe Chalets, fantastic views and the accommodation was fabulous and well maintained. We know both restaurants well and on this occasion our experience has matched a number of recent reviews. The Meilkle restaurant offers the same menu and has changed its pricing policy. The Big Country and Kids club is great and our children loved every minute. There are some very good restaurants in Crieff and the chalet offers the opportunity to do your own thing.

The weather was fabulous and the men got to play golf with the girls enjoying horse riding whilst the ladies were pampered in the spa.

The evening entertainment was very mixed. The disco on Friday night was too noisy and we left disappointed after 10 minutes. On Saturday night the ceilidh was great for the various age ranges. On Sunday we had a great evening with Ernie’s disco. The girls had such a fabulous time and even my mother enjoyed the selection of music and it really made our holiday.

Crieff Hydro is always a good option for the whole family providing great day and evening entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4thehollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for a brilliant review 4thehollies! How fabulous that the Hydro has been enjoyed by three generations of your family and we're delighted there’s something to suit everyone, no matter their age. The new menu in the Meikle Restaurant is being trialled at present and we appreciate your feedback. Sorry the Disco was a bit loud for you on one of the nights, but if this happens again please just say and we’ll happily adjust the volume. Here's hoping that your family will keep returning for many years to come
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.6 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
22.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.3 km away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
755 reviews
36.6 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
24.9 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Property: Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing