We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service in Meikle Restaurant a Disgrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed in Crieff Hydro for one night which enough for us.This was a gift from our daughter ,& we were so disappointed .The service in the Meikle Restaurant is unacceptable.We booked our meal for 7.15p,.om arrival we were each given a glass of water,the menu,then ignored for 30mins.I had to approch a waiter & ask to have our order taken.We then had our starter,waited on dirty plates to be moved then main meal, our dirty plates then sat for 25mins,again I had to approach staff to ask to have these plates removed & to have the sweet menu,again we waited on the menu which was eventually dumped on our table & I mean DUMPED.The waitress could not get away fast enough to talk to other clients.Our tea & coffe then arrived before the sweet.We were made to feel like second class citizens,the waiter obviously forgot we were there but to be honest they are the most unfriendly staff to be working in a restaurant.On checking out .we did inform reception that we were not happy with the service,we then spoke to a deputy manager who totally agreed we should not have been subjected to this service,he did say they had been very busy but they were not overly busy at 7.15.He did offer us lunch ,but this was unacceptable as we were checking out.I am not the first person to complain about the service in the Meikle,as is obvious by the reviews it is getting.My daughter also had to complain on her last stay.I fully expect the manager to reply to this as usual & say they will learn by their mistakes but this does not seem to be happening.We definitely will not return to Crieff Hydro because of the way we were treated & will not be recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

We read your review with a very heavy heart shakin and we’re all desperately sad to have disappointed you, particularly as your stay was arranged as a gift. The service you describe isn’t acceptable at any time and we’ve addressed this in light of your review. It’s really important to us that every visitor to the Hydro feels special and it’s very clear that we failed miserably on this occasion. We’d appreciate the chance to talk to you about this personally if you’d like to get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,273 - 3,279 of 3,930 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

The best thing about the hotel was the kids club and the activities in and around the hotel for the children (adventure play park, putting, garden tennis). It is most definitely a family hotel and not for a romantic break! The swimming pool - again fantastic for kids but extremely busy at all times during the day with kids in the spa and sauna too! Food is good enough quality. 

Negatives - pool was dirty, I heard a few people comment on this - could feel grime and clumps of dirt on pool floor but again it was packed with kids do couldn't be helped. Hotel was very busy during our stay (march) and was very understaffed. Our wait for dinner was 1 hr 20 mins between starter and main course, with staff buzzing about like crazy. Queue for breakfast 15 minute wait with staff running about clearing tables. 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_231176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thanks for your considered review Kate_231176. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the Kids Club and various activities during your visit. You’re right - it’s very lively here at the Hydro during the school holidays, so maybe not the best time to enjoy a romantic break! We’re sorry for the delay between courses in the Restaurant. Looking at the diary, it’s clear that the bookings should have been staggered more, which will happen from now on. We've ordered a new part to filter out the sand that you felt underfoot in the pool. Hope you’ll be back soon to see the improvements in both areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed in a studio apartment with my husband for a weekend break.
The studio is clean, modern and has plenty of space for 2 people, although the lounge has the most uncomfortable seats ever!
Each studio has allocated parking although someone had already parked in our space when we arrived, there's lots of alternative parking areas though.
Took a walk around the woodland area which gives wonderful views over Perthshire.
Used the Brasserie restaurant on the first evening. Have read a lot of negative comments about the food here but we both found it to be good, not outstanding, but not as bad as some of the reviews make out.
Our only complaint was the number of kids running about the place, bumping into tables, shouting and screaming. I know this is a family resort but the restaurant areas are large enough to be able to segregate families with kids and those without. This isn't done though.
Used the snooker room in the evening, which costs £1 every 14 minutes.
Breakfast was an even louder affair. A lot more screaming and crying in the Miekle restaurant which is an even bigger area but again no thought was given to who was sat where.
Use the Segways the next day, excellent instruction and well recommended.
Couldn't cope with going to the restaurant and battling the kiddie onslought the second evening so just had a sandwich in the garden room.
Glad to get home for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Don't expect a romantic weekend - it's full of loud and screaming kids. Great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziepq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

We appreciate your candid review suziepq. While some people love the energy all the children bring to the Hydro during the school holidays, others might prefer to seek the quieter areas within our 900 acres to relax. It’s great that you enjoyed the woodland areas and the outdoor activity centre and we’ll pass on your lovely comments to our Segway Instructors. Here’s hoping that we can welcome you back at a quieter time, when you can enjoy more of the scenic Perthshire views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just back from a trip to Crieff Hydro with my friend and 5 children between us!! We stayed in the self catering cottages although when we got there it was an amazing large house with a Turret and a fabulous layout. All mod cons and completley immaculate. There was a childrens play area right next to it which was fantastic as although it is only March we managed to pick the week where temps were reaching 21!!.The hotel is amazing beautifully decorated all staff were lovely we asked a chap where we could find the Big Country childrens club and he walked us right to the door which was a good bit away lovely guy. The childrens club was fabulous all of our kids ranging from 3 to 8 yr olds absolutley loved it . there are 3 hour sessions offered 3 times a day staff were fabulous with the children we had breakfast over looking the building they were in and saw the staff taking them over to a lawn to play games with them and they all had on their tabards it was so cute to watch your kids thoroughly enjoying themselves. Children who attended this eat free from 4 to 6pm you took them to an area where there was a childrens buffet and the choice was amazing and the food was delicious for them at lunch time there was a packed lunch provided for them also free of charge. We had a wonderfull time and I cant wait to book up again!. before going I had read some terrible reviews on this site and I am so glad I didnt listen because I thought it was off the planet!. If I could say anything it would just be that the food could be improved for the adults at lunch there was quite alot of prepacked sandwiches and things but I felt for how lovely the place was like a cold buffet salad bar etc would have been better. I am sure you would have had a lovely meal in the Miekle restaurant but we just felt it looked a bit too grand just for a lunch but no other complaints at all it was wonderfull and it website does it no justice!

Room Tip: For a large family I would definitley reccomend a self catering cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbell792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

We loved reading your review campbell792. You’ve managed to capture the spirit of the Hydro brilliantly in a few breathless sentences and we’re all chuffed that you had such a great time! You certainly packed a lot into your visit and the fabulous Spring weather was an unexpected bonus! Thanks for your glowing report and here’s hoping you’ll all be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at Crieff Hydro the third time last week and in the main were not disappointed! I booked a last minute offer and upgraded to an executive room which was extremely pleasant and comfortable even though it did not have much of a view. Since we last stayed 3 years ago, many changes have taken place, notably the front entrance hall and foyer. The jury is out on this one! The reception area is very nice but the inner hall has, in our opinion, been totally stripped of its character. We found it quite depressing! Dinner in the Meikle restaurant was excellent the first night but I would have to say we were extremely disappointed to find that on our second night, the menu had not changed at all! I'm glad we were not there for a week if this is the policy of the hotel! Our main complaint was with the service, or should I say lack of it, in the Meikle bar. The staff were sullen and unfriendly and table service did not appear to exist. If this is the case, surely a notice should be placed on the bar counter to say so. We also sat for over an hour surrounded by five dirty tables. Not good enough for a 4 star hotel! All in all, we really enjoyed our stay albeit with the odd gripe or two. Crieff Hydro is an amazing resort at an affordable price and one to which we hope to return on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the view over Crieff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your 3rd visit to the Hydro Tidel. We’re pleased that you liked the new Reception area, but sorry you’re not so keen on the public areas. Some guests love our new look, but we accept that interior design is very much a matter of personal taste. The new Meikle weekly menu with daily ‘Signature’ changes was introduced recently and we're monitoring the response to this at present - so we're grateful for your feedback. Thanks too for taking the time to post your report and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at Crieff Hydro for the first time ever a few weeks ago, with extended family. When we first looked at booking, it seemed rather expensive for a family of 5 but I now see that it is worth every penny. The family room was fantastic, a suite with fantastic kids room to sleep all 3 of them, and lovely double room for us.
Staff are all wonderful, so friendly and welcoming, from maids to bellboys, waiters, creche.
Food was excellent - delicious breakfasts, great kids pack lunch included, fantastic kids evening buffet with something for everyone, and we had a wonderful meal in the Meikle Restaurant while the kids went to the 'Big Country' on Saturday night.
There is so much to do, we barely scraped at the surface in a weekend. Tennis courts, spa, swimming pool, lovely walks, play park, endless outdoor activities, kids craft sessions. I would seriously contemplate a 2 week family holiday there, it was so relaxing! Swimming pool was nice, but very busy with children, and it was like a sardine tin during the kids hour (although our daughter thought the big inflatable slide put up then was the best thing she'd ever seen).
Kids loved the evening disco, and made them feel like they'd had a very special treat.
Overall, I would thoroughly recommend for all families, but if you don't have kids, it's probably best to go elsewhere as there are children everywhere!
Only slight niggle was the staffing of the Wintergarden cafe - there always seemed to be a huge queue despite it not being that busy. Another 2 members of staff would have sorted it out.
Nearly forgot to mention we got a babysitter for our youngest and were apprehensive about leaving him with an unknown - couldn't have been more delighted with the lovely lady who arrived (an experienced grandmother, rather than a moody teenager). Also we booked a photographer on hotel's recommendation (Craig Reekie) to take shots of our extended family at the hotel, who was great and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Family suites are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baxterfamily33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

We were all giddy with excitement when we read your fantastic review baxterfamily33. Thank you so much for posting such a comprehensive and positive report! It’s great to hear that you all had a wonderful time. With so much left still to do, we hope it won’t be long before we can welcome you back to the Hydro. In the meantime, thanks again for all your lovely comments which have really made our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Caters for children brilliantly, the only thing that lets it down is the food itself. We took a 20 month old, lots to do, park on site, also great park in crieff, family pool and play barn. Ducks to be fed at St Fillan's nearby. Attentive, smiley staff, only niggle is the food in the Brasserie. Quality didn't justify the price.(Steak is £21 plus £3.50 for chips, baked salmon £14.95) Child's pork meatballs were served in sauce made of tinned tomatoes (nothing else). There's lots of choice on the Brasserie menu but you leave feeling they should try doing fewer dishes, better. Felt like average pub food at brasserie prices. Auchrannie on Arran cater for the same crowd and yet they've got the food side of things licked.

Room Tip: If you have a baby ask for advice on rooms. We were told at breakfast our child had woken up the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrieffHydro, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thanks so much for your honest review strum13. We’ll congratulate ourselves on the things we’re doing well and turn our attention immediately to the areas where you’ve highlighted we could try harder. We really do appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll be back soon to see how we’ve interpreted the menu changes that you’ve recommended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crieff
0.6 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
22.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.3 km away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
786 reviews
24.9 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,329 reviews
36.6 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort

Address: Ferntower Road, Crieff PH7 3LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Crieff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Crieff
Price Range: $129 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most comprehensive family resort in Scotland, 4 star Crieff Hydro is centrally located in its own 900 acre estate with an unrivaled range of leisure pursuits for all ages. Choose from over 40 on-site leisure activities and take advantage of inclusive daily childcare for 2-12 year olds in the 700m2 kids club. Extensively redeveloped from top to bottom, Crieff Hydro is only an hours drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crieff Hydro Hotel Crieff
Crieff Hydro Resort
Crieff Hotel Hydro
Crieff Hydro Scotland
Crieff Hydro Hotel And Resort Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing