We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,401)
Filter reviews
4,401 results
Traveller rating
2,036
1,251
598
338
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,036
1,251
598
338
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meikle restaurant victorian spa winter garden kids club self catering child care family hotel soft play quad biking executive room outdoor activities family break bunk beds bouncy castle crazy golf the main hotel party night
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 4,401 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in one of the culcrieff lodges (818) and really enjoyed it but a couple of things make it very good rather than excellent. Before diving into the details, it is worth saying that we really had a brilliant time and I expect we will return in the near future.

Positives:
Lodge was done to a very nice standard and had all the expected amenities. Rooms and bathrooms were large with sleeping for 6.
Swimming pool is very nice with toys for toddlers.
Brasserie, Picollo and Winter garden food and service was good.
Pony rides at the riding school were great and managed to squeeze us in without a reservation.
Crazy golf was great fun (and only a short walk from the lodge).
Broadband connection was 60MB+

Negatives:
TV setup in the lodge was old/limited with no ability to plug in an external source such as games console or streaming box (which is something that is provided in Center Parcs) so we resorted to propping up an iPad to watch Netflix in the evening.
The boiler stopped working twice in our 4 day stay and needed someone to come up and reset it (it is inaccessible for guests). In each case, maintenance had resolved the issue within 30mins but the timing impacted child bedtime and morning get up and go plans.
The phone in the lodge did not work, and there were no externally accessible numbers listed on the documents in the lodge (that we could see) which meant we had to phone through the external booking line.
The swim costume spinner/dryer at the pool was out of order as was one of the kids trampolines.
The showers and sink in the lodge ran slow (showers were fixed within half a day of calling).

Overall, it felt like there were a few too many unattended maintenance jobs which really shouldn't be the case on a resort of this standard.

Lastly, we had one incident which shouldn't affect other guests, but it is worth mentioning. We took bikes and a trailer out for a cycle round the hill - half way round, one of the bikes rear derailleur buckled and snapped the chain. We phoned and they said someone would be with us in 5 mins. After 20 mins waiting (with my cold child and wife) we walked back in which took a further 30mins. Bikes were refunded, but we didn't get a good answer as to why we were made to wait on the hill and no-one came to help.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review Ross M. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you do plan to return to the hotel. We were, however, sorry to learn that some aspects of your recent stay fell short. Your feedback will be shared with our Management Team so that they can take this on board going forward and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an exclusive suite in the victorian building with a complimentary bottle of prosecco, and lovely jar of sweets.
The room was outstanding, with bathrobe laid on the bed, plenty of pillows and very comfortable bed, the bathtub was huge, great for a relaxing soak.
Food was excellent, prepared to very high standard, ,gym and spa facilities were also a bonus.
Staff are very attentive to customers needs. I have previously highly recommended and will do so again.
Thanks for making our stay wonderful once again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank deefarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review deefarquhar. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team. Your thanks will be passed on to them and it will be a pleasure to share your feedback. We do hope that you will return and visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friends have been and enjoyed it very much -we didn’t.
Long queue to check-in. Rooms not guaranteed as available til 5pm on day of arrival is ridiculous.
No availability of restaurants before 9pm
Pool very busy and a bit ‘murky’, they’d run out of towels.
Food was awful, overpriced and took forever. Limited choice for vegetarians: Grilled courgette and polenta chips £15! Obviously been under heat for too long as the salad was so wilted couldn’t eat it. Had to wait for a table for breakfast for 15minutes (there were 3 rooms of people waiting!!!)-it was poor too.
Beds so uncomfortable we came home a day early! The room looked tired, dated and in poor state of repair (torn wallpaper, stained chairs)

The activity centre was great -we really enjoyed an archery lesson, crazy golf and quad bike. Most of the staff were very courteous under what appear to be very difficult conditions not of their making!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank Bfarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us Bfarq. These have in turn been shared with our Management Team so that they can take your feedback on board going forward. We were sorry to hear that so many areas of your recent visit fell short. Although we do indicate that our hotel rooms will become available between 2 pm and 5 pm on the day of arrival, our Housekeeping Team to their very best to have the rooms ready at early as possible within this timeframe. We do also offer a rolling refurbishment of the hotel building although sadly a project of this size does take some time to complete. We do hope that you may consider visiting again in the future and see that further improvements have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed there several times before and love the country views and the victorian spa. But sadly we have decided never to return again after the way we were treated by the staff and by the changes introduced by the management.

We checked into the hotel on arrival and were given our keys to our room. We were asked if we would like to book for evening meal and we asked for a table for two at 7pm in the Meikle Dining Room. we were informed that they had no availablilty at 7pm and was offered 6:45pm as an alternative.

We went to our room on the first floor of the building, room number 143, and were horrified to find that the rooms on the first floor were being painted. The smell of paint in room and the corridor was very strong, the corridors were littered with furniture from the rooms which were being decorated.

Room 143 has a view of the reception hall tin roof, not just a partial view but the entire view was of a roof. The bed was a small double bed, the sofa and chairs in the sitting room were badly damaged with edging hanging off and tears in the cushions. The bathroom was very small and was not to the standards which we had seen before on previous visits.

I went to the reception and spoke to one of the welcome staff (Edward) and asked if we could upgrade our room, I was informed that the hotel was fully booked and there was not alternatives.

My wife and I decided that we could not sit in the room as the odour from the paint was so bad, so we decided to go to the victorian spa. On arrival we were informed that the session was full and the next one was fully booked but there was a session from 6:30pm where it is run on a first come first served basis. On previous visits the victorian spa was available for £12 which lasted for 24 hours and you could use it whenever you wanted. That has been changed to sessions of 2 hours, only available at certain times costing £10 per session. I cannot think why this change has been implemented as it was a lovely sanctuary for older patrons.

We then went to the Meikle lounge to have a refreshment, a gentleman came in and asked if they could book tables in the dining room at 7:00pm, the response was yes sir that is your table booked. So it looks like the staff on reception were playing some kind of game with the customers, telling them things were not available when they were. So I decided to go to the hotels web site and check accomodation availablility, I was horrified to see that there was plenty of accomodation available for the day which we stayed, so we went back to reception and spoke with Edward again, he said that there was another room available but the view from the windows was not a good view either. we were shown the room and declined it as the view was another roof view.

We went back to the room and I checked the accomodation availability again, whilst doing so a chat session appeared and I began a chat with an online advisor, the advisor said that they had rooms with lovely country views available for that day. I then replied that we have been told that there are no rooms available etc. The online advisor said that she was phoning the reception staff there and then as there were rooms available. One minute later our hotel room telephone started ringing, it was reception to say that they had two rooms to show us. We visited both rooms, both had acceptable views and the rooms were executive doubles, we chose one of them and we moved our belonings to the new room. We were advised that we would have to pay a £20 upgrade fee and we said that was no problem as we had asked to upgrade at whatever cost but had been informed there were no rooms available.

On checking out we discovered that we had not been charged an upgrade fee, however, we had also received a £50 gift voucher from our daughter so we asked them to apply that to the bill as we were never going to return to the Crieff Hydro Hotel.

I can only thank the online advisor for intervening and making our stay a reasonable stay. I must say that there was no signs anywhere in the hotel from the hotel management apologising for the works being done to the first floor. I have seen this all over the world in even the most basic hotels, but Crieff Hydro Hotel management did not even bother to apologise to their patrons.

Room Tip: Do some checks on accomodation availability or the same could happen to you
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback Robert m. We were sorry to learn that you were so disappointed with your stay and felt misinformed regarding both the dining times and the availability of rooms and I can only apologise for this.
Whilst the Reception Team have a list of times available, the restaurant itself can look at the table plan and will offer some flexibility if this is at all possible. Sometimes cancellations do occur and the restaurant would have had up-to-the-minute information regarding this.
It is surprising to hear that you had been informed that there were no suitable rooms available, even in a different room type to your own, and we will investigate how this was able to happen so that there can be no recurrence of the issues that you experienced.
Your feedback regarding signs in the are undergoing refurbishment will be passed on to our Management Team so that they can take your feedback on board.
We were sorry to hear that you do not plan to return to the Hydro and feel that it is not for you, and can only hope that you may reconsider and that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked on an It Is On voucher and I feel that reflected our stay.
We were put in a small room on the ground floor with a horrendous view of pipes outside the hotel.
The bed were not comfy, and clearly two single beds pushed together.
The staff were friendly, and I can't fault that. But I feel like we may have received slightly better service had we been paying the full price.
At the end of the day, we were still paying customers.
I won't be rushing back.

Stayed: September 2018
2  Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback Melanie T. Any deal or voucher should not reflect on a visit in any way and we are sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay. It is not clear from your comments if you mentioned the fact that you were unhappy with your room at the time of your visit as we do have a Duty Manager available to assist our guests and it would have been great to have been able to turn your stay around for you. It was, however, lovely to read your kind comments regarding our team. I can only hope that you will reconsider and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews