We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sets the benchmark for all self-catering venues...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Glen Lyon, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sets the benchmark for all self-catering venues in Scotland”
Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This was our introduction to self-catering in Scotland. It sets the benchmark exceptionally high. Owner Susan Walker has a superb eye for detail and this is reflected in the fact that Tighnault is exquisitely-equipped. Everything just comes together beautifully; the stunning location, the tranquility, the great sleeps, the unique TV viewing chair, the amazing little wood burning stove and so much more. This place needs to be experienced to believe it. It is very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth...
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
“Absolutely LOVED this place!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We traveled over 1,000 miles around Scotland, and the beauty of Glenlyon was unsurpassed! Our long hikes were perfectly rewarded at the end of the day by the loveliest of cottages, Tighnault! So comfy, well equipped, well decorated, in a lovely location! I wish I could take the big round couch by the large front window home with me! Incredibly relaxing, away from all the buzz and hussle, but yet, with everything we needed IF we wanted to connect with the "outside" world! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotroph
Leamington Spa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect homely set-up”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Beautiful cottage in remote setting. Around 20minute drive from main road, but plenty of wildlife to see on the way. Cottage has everything you could ask for to make you feel truly at home, including a welcome package and a friendly phone call on arrival. Thanks! Would definitely return, next time for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becci g
1 review
“A little gem in a secluded location”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just come back from a lovely few days at Tighnault. The cottage was very cosy and all of the little extras made our stay even more enjoyable. I have never stayed in self catering accommodation which was so well equipped as Tighnault it was home from home. We would highly recommend staying here if you want somewhere away from it all with plenty of wildlife. The private location made it the perfect place for a relaxing holiday and a excellent nights sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the private location and how well equipped the cottage was
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstw90
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is lovely. Fantastic location and everything about the cottage is excellent. Would recommend to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shug67
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Spent 4 nights here with 2 friends and 1 very lively dog. Had a great time. The cottage is beautifully furnished and equipped. I can't honestly think of anything it lacks. And, as for the location - absolutely superb! It's been 20 years since I visited Glen Lyon and I'd forgotten how bonny it is. Great accommodation and superb surroundings. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage provides for just about everything.
Liked least: One of our party found her bed lumpy - a personal thing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuparAJ
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect summer holidays!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect summer - perfect long weekend with family and friends!
Amazing surrounding landscape, it was like being at home, like a cozy, comfortable, calming space. I highly recommend this place! This was a real find and we hope we'll be able to go back for a longer stay! Thank You!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing