We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THEY THOUGHT OF EVERYTHING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THEY THOUGHT OF EVERYTHING”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

NO, it is not a high end luxury, super plush hotel but it has everything, good food, wonderful location, even a dog concierge!
The welcome was great and the only thought was that our room had single glazing - they professed eco credentials and . . . . .
Can highly recommend for a holiday or a stopover on the way north.

Room Tip: You just have to have a view up Loch Earn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nookman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
……No, it is not high end luxury……Thanks great review, that one sentence has it all, good food, wonderful location, even a pet concierge !! What more can be said apart from look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    222
    61
    35
    32
See reviews for
139
584
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

The Four Seasons hotel in St Fillans is a wonderful find. It's location at the foot of Loch Earn is simply stunning. It's well worth paying a little extra for a room overlooking the loch. We spent quite a lot of our time just looking out of the window at the wonderful view. The hotel is completely dog friendly. We took our pair with no fuss whatsoever. The hotel itself is a bit dated and quite quirky but that only adds to its charm. The staff are friendly and efficient and know the surrounding are well. But the best thing about the hotel is the restaurant. The food was outstanding. Don't miss the pan fried scallops - they are scrumptious. I'll definitely be back. Oh and by the way as mentioned by a previous poster get a table by the window and suck in some more of that view.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PijuDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
…..”The food was outstanding. Don't miss the pan fried scallops - they are scrumptious. I'll definitely be back. ….” Thanks you very much for this positive review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the quirks. Please note the Window Table Booking Procedure ! The longer your weekend stay in the more likely you will have a window table if you eat in the Fine dining Restaurant every night
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We are just home from a wonderful break at The Four Seasons and are already planning a return trip, later in the year. We initially picked this hotel as we love to take our dog with us on our travels, particularly when visiting a beautiful part of the country with hills to climb and loch-sides to explore. This hotel goes out of its way to welcome its canine guests and even offers a 'pet concierge', a lovely, humorous touch which is very much indicative of the hotel's charm.
We stayed in chalet 6, nestled in a woody spot on the hillside behind the hotel. The chalet is charming - this is not a five star luxury retreat and to view it as such would be wrong - however from the Beatles pictures on the walls (the Fab Four stayed here once upon a time) to the dog biscuit that is laid out alongside the homemade shortbread, it has bags of character. It is also clean, comfortable, perfectly cosy and just a little bit retro. But here's the show stopper - when we woke up early on our first morning, the view from the chalet window made us gasp. We had arrived in a downpour and the deluge had continued all evening. What a delight to wake to sunshine peeking over snow-capped hillsides reflected in the perfect blues of Loch Earn. Absolutely breath-taking and I shall upload a photograph of this view as seen from our window.
Breakfast was absolutely superb - every taste is catered for: porridge drizzled with Drambuie; fresh fruit salad; scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and Champagne and so on. Over the course of our stay I enjoyed a perfectly cooked Scottish breakfast and a light and fluffy kedgeree (not to mention my ultimate indulgence of toast and Nutella when no-one was looking - divine).
We ate in the fine dining restaurant on our first night and it was faultless. Fresh Scottish cuisine done very well. A tip for other diners - if you have the option to reserve a table, pick one in the window. We were happy enough to gaze at the view from across the room, but we were exceptionally jealous of those tables with a view of the moody waters of the Loch as the sun went down. We are foodies at heart and do believe the restaurant is well-deserving of its AA rosettes.
Finally, I must say a few words about the staff for it is they who truly make the difference between a great stay and a wonderful one. From the hotel owner who furnished us with maps and recommended walks in the nearby villages, to the ever-present waiting staff ready to serve us a drink with a smile, crack a joke and ask about our day - they were friendly, always attentive and never imposing. They also possess a wealth of information about the local area which is both stunning and tranquil.
As dog-lovers, the presence of our canine friends was a big plus point for us however I appreciate that other non-doggy folks might find this off-putting. For us it was a treat - from the handsome Doberman we patted in reception to the slumbering German Shepherd enjoying a sunny spot by the bench outside and of course who could forget the resident Munsterlander who gave our hands a welcoming lick over the reception desk - this was a pet paradise and it made us smile.
For all those accustomed to the sterile service of a five star brand, this might not be your cup of tea; but for those who enjoy quirks and the personal touch of a true Scottish gem, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: For a great view opt for a chalet but be aware of an uphill walk when retiring at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldieferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
…..“But here's the show stopper - when we woke up early on our first morning, the view from the chalet window made us gasp”…..Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive Review covering all the high points on the Hotel, even to the finer points at Breakfast of Porridge and Drambuie and Nutella’d Toast.
I am delighted that you appreciated them so. Let me say again from the Resident K9 Receptionist that fellow four leggers are more than welcome to come and enjoy the Four Seasons Experience…(at no overnight charge …shhh). In Case you are not a dog fan we do endevour to ensure dog free rooms. Thank you also for the encouraging feedback for the staff and chefs, who all work very hard looking after guests and four leggers alike. Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you later in the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Excellent 3 day break with our dog Shep. Stayed in chalet 5 - amazing views, cosy chalet and very peaceful. Food in the hotel was devine - perfectly cooked and plenty of it. Staff friendly and attentative. Area great for walks and you can even get to a good walk within seconds from the chalets. Very, very dog friendly which is why we choose this hotel - will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
“…..amazing views, cosy chalet and very peaceful. Food in the hotel was devine “….. This all sounds a very good recipe for a perfect mid week Break, and I am delighted that it was at the Four Seasons. Thank you for the great input and we look forward to seeing you very soon. As a Dog friendly Hotel we offer a Pet Concierge Service; including dog sitting, or listening service, Dog menu, and Dog walking. In case you forgot you dog we can offer a dog to be walked subject to Pagne’s sense of humor at the time of course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our second stay in this beautiful hotel. The scenery is stunning and the staff are very welcoming. The food in the main restaurant and/or the smaller bar was exceptional. We will certainly be returning and I would recommend you do the same.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have uninterrupted views of the loch and surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
“....just returned from our second stay”. Praise from returning Guests is indeed most welcome and gratifying, so thank you very much. Hope you will be back soon for stunning scenery and staff. Always give us a call for the Best Rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed in Chalet 5 also - what a superb location. Views from the hotel - WOW !!!!!!!!!!
In 2 seconds you can be on the old railway track which joins a forest road and climbs way above the hotel with amazing views, but if you want more there's Ben Vorlich (short drive down the loch), plus more. Shep was very happy.
Food excellent and plentiful ( dinner in restaurant and breakfast too), staff friendly, attentative, and positive. Chalet perfect for us and Shep, very clean, very quiet and warm comfortable sleeping areas - with many extas. A cracking find. Will be back !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Chalets and hotel rooms allow dogs - but are cleaned so well you wouldn't know dogs had been.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snez45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Guest Relations Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
...from the K9 Guest Relations Team.......“……A cracking find…Will be back…..” Many thanks for your great review; you obviously appreciated the subtleties of the Four Seasons Operation and much enjoyed. Staff appreciation is always most welcome. Ps.Shep, we can sort out some more inventive walks and great views next time. Sham and Pagne; the K9 Guest Relations Managers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just come back from 3 nights with the four seasons and feel totally chilled out. The atmosphere of the hotel and its staff was most agreeable. My wife, myself and our labrador stayed in Chalet no 5 and enjoyed magnificent views, comfort and a bath with more than adequate hot water essential for a soothing ones aching limbs after some glorious walks. The setting is perfect for both access into the surrounding hills and also ease of access from the South.
Food was simply wonderful, the game delicious as was the fish. The view from the restaurant down Loch Earn facing West was very memorable.
Thank you Andrew for a fantastic break.

Room Tip: If you have dogs as previously recommended by others chalet 5 is a step away from the old railway li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
“….3 nights with the four seasons and feel totally chilled out…….”Many thanks for the great and positive feedback on all points. (Much enjoyed your comments in person re a previous review) Delighted that you also enjoyed the Two AA Rosette food especially after the days out on the Hill. Next time you must fit the Bistro in, for lunch of course, as who would want to miss the award wining Fine Dining Restaurant for Dinner? Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Fillans
0.2 km away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
11.6 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
17.1 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
31.7 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.6 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Comrie
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Seasons Hotel

Property: The Four Seasons Hotel
Address: | Lochside, St Fillans PH62NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St Fillans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Earn, offering complimentary WI-FI and free parking, this hotel is surrounded by breath-taking scenery of the Scottish Highlands.The Four Seasons was built in the early 1800s and was converted into a hotel in the 1900s.The hotel is cosy, comfortable and well-presented with unique furnishings, with warm colours and light creating a fun and relaxed atmosphere for guests. Views across the Loch are ever-changing throughout the seasons: fresh new colours of spring, long, light summer's evenings, spectacular sunsets to the west, morning mists shrouding the loch and the snow covered Bens, making this one of the most beautiful locations in Scotland to visit. The 12 bedrooms are all en-suite and individually styled and spacious, with hairdryer, colour TV, direct dial telephone, radio/CD player and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms over-looking the Loch boast picturesque views whatever the weather. There are 6 chalets situated within a secluded hillside behind the hotel with double/twin beds and a bunk room for two, all have the same amenities as the rooms within the hotel. For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury.For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury. The Four Seasons has a choice of two restaurants, the stylish Meall Reamhar offers fine dining (evenings only) serving a contemporary Scottish cuisine, consisting of fresh fish, Scottish beef and lamb, and locally grown vegetables. The Tarken Bistro offers the same standard of cuisine in a more informal setting, providing light lunches, blackboard specials and suppers. A range of fine wines, champagne and whisky are available; enjoy a cool glass of Chablis on a summer's evening or malt by the warmth of the log fire in autumn! The hotel is the perfect location for that special occasion whether it is a traditional dinner party, birthday or wedding. Facilities for business meetings and conferences are available for up to 70 delegates. The location of the hotel makes it the perfect place to explore and admire the natural beauty of the Scottish highlands. Enjoy great dog walks in some of Scotland's finest scenery. The resident friendly canines welcome fellow pets free of charge. The beautiful village of St. Fillans has a 9-hole golf course and offers water sports, hill walking and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons St Fillans
Four Seasons Hotel
St. Fillans Four Seasons
The Four Seasons Hotel St Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing