We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Four Seasons Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Achray House Hotel(St Fillans)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
US$130
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Rural Retreat(St Fillans)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
584
233
68
37
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
233
68
37
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch earndog friendly hotelfine diningloch viewdog biscuitsmain restauranthomemade shortbreadscallopscourse mealstunning viewssuperb locationfirst classlocal walkspublic areasdining roomwine listshort break
Filter
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 954 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Four Seasons hotel in St Fillans is a wonderful find. It's location at the foot of Loch Earn is simply stunning. It's well worth paying a little extra for a room overlooking the loch. We spent quite a lot of our time just looking out of the window at the wonderful view. The hotel is completely dog friendly. We took our pair with no fuss whatsoever. The hotel itself is a bit dated and quite quirky but that only adds to its charm. The staff are friendly and efficient and know the surrounding are well. But the best thing about the hotel is the restaurant. The food was outstanding. Don't miss the pan fried scallops - they are scrumptious. I'll definitely be back. Oh and by the way as mentioned by a previous poster get a table by the window and suck in some more of that view.

Stayed: May 2012
3  Thank PijuDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

…..”The food was outstanding. Don't miss the pan fried scallops - they are scrumptious. I'll definitely be back. ….” Thanks you very much for this positive review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the quirks. Please note the Window Table Booking Procedure ! The longer your weekend stay in the more likely you will have a window table if you eat in the Fine dining Restaurant every night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We are just home from a wonderful break at The Four Seasons and are already planning a return trip, later in the year. We initially picked this hotel as we love to take our dog with us on our travels, particularly when visiting a beautiful part of the country with hills to climb and loch-sides to explore. This hotel goes out of its way to welcome its canine guests and even offers a 'pet concierge', a lovely, humorous touch which is very much indicative of the hotel's charm.
We stayed in chalet 6, nestled in a woody spot on the hillside behind the hotel. The chalet is charming - this is not a five star luxury retreat and to view it as such would be wrong - however from the Beatles pictures on the walls (the Fab Four stayed here once upon a time) to the dog biscuit that is laid out alongside the homemade shortbread, it has bags of character. It is also clean, comfortable, perfectly cosy and just a little bit retro. But here's the show stopper - when we woke up early on our first morning, the view from the chalet window made us gasp. We had arrived in a downpour and the deluge had continued all evening. What a delight to wake to sunshine peeking over snow-capped hillsides reflected in the perfect blues of Loch Earn. Absolutely breath-taking and I shall upload a photograph of this view as seen from our window.
Breakfast was absolutely superb - every taste is catered for: porridge drizzled with Drambuie; fresh fruit salad; scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and Champagne and so on. Over the course of our stay I enjoyed a perfectly cooked Scottish breakfast and a light and fluffy kedgeree (not to mention my ultimate indulgence of toast and Nutella when no-one was looking - divine).
We ate in the fine dining restaurant on our first night and it was faultless. Fresh Scottish cuisine done very well. A tip for other diners - if you have the option to reserve a table, pick one in the window. We were happy enough to gaze at the view from across the room, but we were exceptionally jealous of those tables with a view of the moody waters of the Loch as the sun went down. We are foodies at heart and do believe the restaurant is well-deserving of its AA rosettes.
Finally, I must say a few words about the staff for it is they who truly make the difference between a great stay and a wonderful one. From the hotel owner who furnished us with maps and recommended walks in the nearby villages, to the ever-present waiting staff ready to serve us a drink with a smile, crack a joke and ask about our day - they were friendly, always attentive and never imposing. They also possess a wealth of information about the local area which is both stunning and tranquil.
As dog-lovers, the presence of our canine friends was a big plus point for us however I appreciate that other non-doggy folks might find this off-putting. For us it was a treat - from the handsome Doberman we patted in reception to the slumbering German Shepherd enjoying a sunny spot by the bench outside and of course who could forget the resident Munsterlander who gave our hands a welcoming lick over the reception desk - this was a pet paradise and it made us smile.
For all those accustomed to the sterile service of a five star brand, this might not be your cup of tea; but for those who enjoy quirks and the personal touch of a true Scottish gem, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: For a great view opt for a chalet but be aware of an uphill walk when retiring at night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldieferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

…..“But here's the show stopper - when we woke up early on our first morning, the view from the chalet window made us gasp”…..Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive Review covering all the high points on the Hotel, even to the finer points at Breakfast of Porridge and Drambuie and Nutella’d Toast.
I am delighted that you appreciated them so. Let me say again from the Resident K9 Receptionist that fellow four leggers are more than welcome to come and enjoy the Four Seasons Experience…(at no overnight charge …shhh). In Case you are not a dog fan we do endevour to ensure dog free rooms. Thank you also for the encouraging feedback for the staff and chefs, who all work very hard looking after guests and four leggers alike. Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you later in the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Excellent 3 day break with our dog Shep. Stayed in chalet 5 - amazing views, cosy chalet and very peaceful. Food in the hotel was devine - perfectly cooked and plenty of it. Staff friendly and attentative. Area great for walks and you can even get to a good walk within seconds from the chalets. Very, very dog friendly which is why we choose this hotel - will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ange R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

“…..amazing views, cosy chalet and very peaceful. Food in the hotel was devine “….. This all sounds a very good recipe for a perfect mid week Break, and I am delighted that it was at the Four Seasons. Thank you for the great input and we look forward to seeing you very soon. As a Dog friendly Hotel we offer a Pet Concierge Service; including dog sitting, or listening service, Dog menu, and Dog walking. In case you forgot you dog we can offer a dog to be walked subject to Pagne’s sense of humor at the time of course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our second stay in this beautiful hotel. The scenery is stunning and the staff are very welcoming. The food in the main restaurant and/or the smaller bar was exceptional. We will certainly be returning and I would recommend you do the same.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have uninterrupted views of the loch and surrounding mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

“....just returned from our second stay”. Praise from returning Guests is indeed most welcome and gratifying, so thank you very much. Hope you will be back soon for stunning scenery and staff. Always give us a call for the Best Rates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed in Chalet 5 also - what a superb location. Views from the hotel - WOW !!!!!!!!!!
In 2 seconds you can be on the old railway track which joins a forest road and climbs way above the hotel with amazing views, but if you want more there's Ben Vorlich (short drive down the loch), plus more. Shep was very happy.
Food excellent and plentiful ( dinner in restaurant and breakfast too), staff friendly, attentative, and positive. Chalet perfect for us and Shep, very clean, very quiet and warm comfortable sleeping areas - with many extas. A cracking find. Will be back !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Chalets and hotel rooms allow dogs - but are cleaned so well you wouldn't know dogs had been.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snez45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iinfoatthe, Guest Relations Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

...from the K9 Guest Relations Team.......“……A cracking find…Will be back…..” Many thanks for your great review; you obviously appreciated the subtleties of the Four Seasons Operation and much enjoyed. Staff appreciation is always most welcome. Ps.Shep, we can sort out some more inventive walks and great views next time. Sham and Pagne; the K9 Guest Relations Managers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews