We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is fantastic, the staff brilliant, the location stunning.

I had a bad leg and the staff really did go out of their way to make my stay that little bit more special.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Feedback from colleauges suggests all the rooms are nice. Never heard one bad word from all my colle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarHallGolfandSpa, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Mr W,

Thank you very much for your very kind words. It was a pleasure for all of us here at Mar Hall to look after you and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards.

LA - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    277
    129
    69
    43
See reviews for
174
635
10
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I'm afraid this hotel just didn't hit the mark with myself and friend. Their half way there but just lack the ability to go that extra mile for the customer unlike other hotels we have stayed in. Decor was lovely in parts but somehow they just can't shake off the creepy atmosphere.
Beautiful building and location but not at all 5 star pretty much a wedding reception only venue as we spotted very little other guests that evening. Public areas in need of TLC, dining room boring and stuffy, staff unimpressive. Food was ok and expensive for what it was. Hotel was noisy at night with wedding guests also making it clear that they were unimpressed by staff and quality. Breakfast was disappointing pretty much self service. Overcharged at check-out which was then removed from our bill. Other guests were having a similar issue the next morning. My advice would be if you get it cheap you maybe could overlook the flaws but if your paying top prices then you expect to be treated like they actually care if you return. We did discover the lovely Ingliston Country Club when we took a small car journey into Bishopton and had a lovely lunch there.

Room Tip: One with garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarHallGolfandSpa, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Ms M,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and to share them with other travelers. We deeply regret the fact that you feel we let you and your friends down on this occasion. Mar Hall and its staff have a reputation of excellence and extreme friendliness and we are sorry your experience did not live up to your expectiations.
Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards.

LA - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed at Mar Hall for the first time this year. I had been before for afternoon tea. Both experiences were first class. The surroundings are lovely to sit in and look at from the inside and to wander round the outside. The food and service is terrific and the rooms are luxurious. We arrived later than we planned to for our overnight stay so we didn't have time to use the facilities that night but we were delighted when we were told we could use the spa and leisure facilities after we had checked out the next day. It felt like a weekend away instead of just a night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarHallGolfandSpa, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Ms M,

Thank you for posting a review on Mar Hall's tripadvisor page. We are extremely happy to read you spend a lovely time with us on the resort and hope to see you return soon.

Kind regards.

LA - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Visited mar hall on friday night for a 1 night stay. The hotel entrance (driveway) is well maintained & looks great as you drive towards the main building. Cant fault the hotel overall , we got checked in smoothly with a pleasant lady on reception still smiling yet it was well past 5pm.

The room was at the top of the hotel no. 2 room was very nice & unique in its decor, the bathroom was massive with bath & shower.

We stayed in the hotel bar & had few beers to unwind . Had great sleep in king size bed .

The breakfast was served buffet style or to order the buffet was more than adequate.

Would go back in a minute , staff were always on hand ..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruno777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarHallGolfandSpa, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers. We are pleased to learn your stay with us was successful and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards.

LA - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have stayed at Mar Hall several times and must confess it keeps getting better. We arrived before the 4p.m. check in but to our surprise and delight our junior suite was ready with a spectacular view of the gardens, round which we had a leisurely walk during the day. After some excellent pre dinner cocktails we had a memorable dinner before retiring to the sumptuous grand hall where we enjoyed drinks accompanied by an excellent and very audience interactive pianist. We the retired to watch a complementary DVD in our room. The next day we overindulged on our breakfast before enjoying a leisurely couple of hours in the Spa, for which guests have complementary all day membership after checkout. Many thanks to Restaurant Manager Laurent and the rest of the team at Mar for their excellent attention to our needs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarHallGolfandSpa, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Mr McC,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We are thrilled to read you had a great time wiht us on the resort and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards.

LA - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Visited the Spa for a 'day' treat. I love Aveda and was super excited! The treatment was wonderful, facial with neck and foot massage (my friend who had the same treatment didnt get as good a massage as me though) and the Therapists were lovely. Can't fault that!

However, the overall experience was really disappointing. The pool area was a very 'run of the mill' hotel pool, only one steam room and one sauna were operating which would have been fine had the place not been over-run by children. Any possible relaxation was spoiled by children running around the pool, throwing cups of water, bombing in the pool and going between the steam room and sauna. The noise was dreadful and you couldnt even swim a length without having to avoid children jumping in and diving around you.

We gave up and went to the 'relaxation room' but unfortunately as it is small and there were not enough beds or chairs for the people waiting for treatments. We finally got chairs but then any relaxation is halted by people being shown where the room is and walking through with loud shoes!

You are asked when you want lunch when you arrive. We arrived at the cafe at our specified time to be told there were no seats so we would have to wait. We were served about 15 mins after our specified time. To be honest I would not have minded about this but by this time i was hungry and just wanted to leave.

If you like Aveda then the treatments are great but as for a 'destination spa', it just does not hit the mark. We were going to book for a group later in the year as a pre-wedding treat but will now not be as the experience was so poor. I am disappointed to have to say it was disappointing :(.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bibyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarHallGolfandSpa, Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
It is very disappointing for us to read our guests did not enjoy their entire experience with us. Whilst sometimes, the spa and leisure club can be busy, they are usually a rather quiet place to relax and read your favorite magazine before or after a treatment.
We are really sorry your experience was not to your satisfaction and thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards.

LA - operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Really lovely stay with extended family. The staff could not be more helpful and the whole experience was relaxed and enjoyable. Would highly recommend Mar Hall

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishopton
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Earl of Mar Estate Mar Hall Drive, Bishopton PA7 5NW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Bishopton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hall Bishopton
Mar Hall Hotel Bishopton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing