We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boys Dormitory

View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Aerial view of the Abbey The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Aerial view of the Abbey
The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Antiques throughout the property
Spacious open plan living area
Solid oak kitchen with all modern amenities
Very comfortable sofas for admiring the view of Loch Ness
Antique UK king-sized brass bed
Billiards room and club lounge - the former monks' refectory
Indoor pool in the historic chapel
The abbey cloisters
The view from the window in winter
Loch Ness from the grounds of the monastery, with Boat House restaurant
Gorgeous sunrise over Loch Ness
View of the Boys Dormitory window from the cloisters
Fort Augustus Abbey at dusk
View through the daffodils to the monastery
Stunning architecture of the abbey
View of Boys Dormitory from the gardens
Caledonian Canal at Fort Augustus, built by Thomas Telford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stonewalk...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. The Abbey is a wonderful place to stay and the Boys Dormitory was a good choice, plenty of space, clean and comfortable. The apartment was at the top of the building with good views through the beautiful shaped windows over Loch Ness. The cloisters are a must to see and walk round. Fort Augustus itself is like a small resort with 5 canal locks and very good eating places. We would stay at the Abbey again but might try one of the other apartments only due to the amount of steps - 75.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorryG
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment with stunning views!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Spent a week in this lovely apartment. Took a whlle to get used to the stairs but worth it for the views from the living room - simply stunning, whatever the weather!! Apartment very well furnished and kitted out to a very high standard - could have stayed on permanently!! We can thoroughly recommend the high speed rib boat trip in the evening to Dores (book a table at the Dores Inn in advance - it is very busy).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location + views
Liked least: Unsupervised children in the pool (refer to pool rules)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandomRev...
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect relaxing long weekend getaway”
Reviewed June 5, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed in the Boys Dormitory for 4 nights in May. The weather was miserable, but it suited the setting! We spent most of our time gazing out over loch ness while sipping champagne and wine.

Location wise...it was pretty easy to get to by car from Inverness airport, and driving in just about any direction leads to some amazing views of the highlands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Entrance hall and area leading up to room, feels a bit like a school or something
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry697
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Apartment”
Reviewed April 12, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We spent a week at the Boys Dormitory in Feb and had a fantastic time. The apartment itself was lovely and extremely clean and tidy with amazing views of the loch. It was beautifully furnished and the kitchen included everything we needed and more. The extra touches like the shortbread biscuits and pint of milk in the fridge on arrival were lovely.
Due to the time of year we visited, a lot of the tourist attractions were closed but we expected this and had a great time walking and exploring the area without the crowds - even managing to go to Skye for a day where we saw an otter.
We'd really recommend the Boys Dormitory and would definitely like to go back again in the future. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful fit out of the apartment
Liked least: The stairs! Although we did know about them before hand.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimik00
Sheffield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning Apartment with an incredible view”
Reviewed January 10, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in October 2011. The apartment is furnished to a very high standard with all the equipment you could want. The view from the living room window is amazing; we sat and watched the sun come up every morning. There apartment is half-way between Fort William and Inverness so conveniently situated for exploring the Highlands. After a day of walking in the Highlands the apartment was fantastic to come back to, the roll top bath and very comfortable bed helped us re-charge each night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the sitting room window
Liked least: The three flights of stairs to reach the apartment.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe-Ash
Wiltshire, UK
1 review
“The best holiday we have ever had!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed at the Boys Dormitory over New Year (2011-2012) and fell in love with the apartment and it's surroundings in the highlands.

As another reviewer has said, we also found that this was the first holiday that we really felt like we did not want to come home! It was truly amazing to wake up to the spectacular view over the loch and to explore the beautiful surroundings in the snow. We miss that view so much!

The apartment contains everything you need to stay in and cosy up and make lovely meals, it feels like a home from home (anybody who stays there will probably wish that it is their home, as we certainly did!) The only thing which could have improved our stay would be for the on site swimming pool to be open (which it will be shortly - only recently been built).

The local pubs and shops were close by, only a 5min walk and The Bothy felt like a traditional 'local's pub' which we really liked as it provided a nice atmosphere and the locals were really friendly! We spent New Year at the Boathouse (on site) which was a good night - busy with a mix of Abbey guests and locals but advise you to buy tickets as early as possible.The local shops actually sold a surprising amount, you could easily purchase food locally to cook at the apartment but we also found an M&S on a day out to Inverness.

The walks and drives around the area are spectacular and as long as you take the correct clothing and footwear it isn't cold at all!

Lunch at Inverlochy Castle (40 min drive away) is a must, 5* top quality food! If they have the 'taster menu' while you are there, choose that!

The owners of the apartment Mark and Laurie and the staff at the Abbey are also wonderful, Mark and Jeanette advised us of good local restaurants and where to spend New Years Eve and were so lovely and helpful throughout, the booking process was simple and speedy.

Everything was perfect and we will be visiting again, would recommend this holiday to couples especially, can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the living room window
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakery3
Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment, beautiful location, perfect”
Reviewed January 6, 2012 for a stay in March 2011

This apartment is just as described and more. It has an indiscribable atmosphere which must be due to the love and attention to detail that Mark and Laurie have put in to it, the age and history of the building and the wondeful views. My partner and I have stayed here in the boys Dorm several times and hope to stay many more, From the moment we first walked in to it we were smitten.

We love to walk and the location is a perfect base. We have only stayed here in the winter (take your thermals) and have had the place pretty much to ourselves. The roads are quiet at that time of year and even when there is deep snow the main roads are cleared quickly. We have walked in deep snow in the mountains and not seen a sole. A perfect place to unwind. The light around the mountains and lochs is perfect for photography and the sky changes by the minute making every photo different from the last.

Usually when on holiday we like to experience different places to eat, but here we force ourselves to go out for a meal once because we feel we should. The rest of the time we can't wait to get back to the apartment, cook supper and settle in for the evening. The kitchen is fully equiped for self catering and the apartment has everything you need for a restful evening following a days waking, beautiful and comfortable furniture, IPod docks, radio, TV, DVD player and DVD's, books, magazines and board games. Within the Abbey there is access to a communal lounge, pool table, football table, ping pong, garden chess and there will soon be a swimming pool.

I feel I must comment that this apartment is up several flights of stairs that are not for the faint hearted. I don't feel it would be suitable for anyone with a health problem or disability that affects their mobility and ability to climb stairs. Thankfully that is not a problem for us and once you get up there it is well worth the climb!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The love and attention to detail that has gone in to the apartment
Liked least: Climbing all the stairs to get to it!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing