We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and welcoming”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oiseval

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Relaxing and welcoming”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a great place to stay if you wanting something around Loch Ness. Ros was easy to communicate with. The accommodation was perfect for us. 2 families with small kids. There was enough space and privacy. The house was warm, clean and well equipped with lovely views. Being about a mile out of the village meant it was easy to get around by foot and avoid the traffic.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWuest061...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I was traveling with 5 other woman. This house is absolutely amazing. The house and grounds were beautiful. We felt very at home here. The contact with the owner, Ros, was amazing. When we arrived, she had left a lovely note with a bottle of excellent wine and shortbread cookies. We could not have asked for a better place. We loved the town of Fort Augustus. Ros suggested several places to dine and the food was excellent. You would not go wrong if you choose this place to stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita S
1 review
“Beautiful setting, homely cottage”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A lovely cottage, as described, full of information on walks and attractions both locallly and further afield. The information provided prior to our arrival was very thorough and Ros was especially helpful with information to help us make the most of our visit when we found out a member of our party had suffered a foot injury and was unable to walk far. The local village was a short stroll away with a variety of places to eat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJCiren
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had such an amazing couple of weeks staying here. The photos don't lie - in fact to be honest if anything they don't do the place justice - you need to stay here and see for yourself!! The house offered absolutely everything we could have wanted - and some. Being so well-equipped meant that we were able to completely relax. The location is perfect. We walked up Ben Nevis, hired bikes for a week from Girvans Hardware Store in the village and cycled the Caledonian canal, the Great Glen Way high road to Invermoristan and the South Loch Ness trail. We also went further afield to Inverness, the Cairngourms and the silver sands of Moray - and whilst all of these were stunning in their own way, we drove away every time saying how we'd definitely got it right in choosing Oiseval and Fort Augustus. Location location! Thank you to Laura who left the house immaculately clean and thank you to Ros and David for thinking of everything!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555Patty
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hope to Come Back for Another Wonderful Week in the Highlands”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed at Oiseval with our adult children, their wives and a grandson. The house was perfect for all of us and so conveniently located. Many wonderful memories of our dinner at Dores Inn, trips to Inverness, boating on Loch Ness, forest hikes, terrific pub meals in Fort Augustus and the incredible exhibit at Culloden battlefield.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic location in pleasurable surroundings equipped with everything anyone would need or their stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The property could not have been better for our family gathering. All the essentials in the house and a bottle of wine and shortbread to welcome us. The property is as seen in the letting information. The lounge has a very appealing cathedral style ceiling and an excellent view towards the hillls at the other side of Loch Ness. A comprehensive information pack in house and e mailed to me prior to our stay. Less than 8 minute walk to village with one supermarket and petrol station. Lovely area and you can eat out or cook in. Fully intend a return visit and have recommended the property already to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a fab few days here at Oiseval. The property is spotlessly clean with everything in it you could want from a holiday home. The reason I'm saying holiday home, not house, is because we just felt very relaxed here. Comfy beds, good linen, lovely and peaceful. The bonus is the play park which is just over the road at the bottom of the drive. We didn't know about this before we booked but our children (5 and 7) spent time there every day. The property is great strolling distance into Fort Augustus and a magnificent view of Loch Ness. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing