We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulously comfy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Monty's Cottage

Dores Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dores Beach
Monty's Cottage Cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Dores Beach
Monty's Cottage
Cosy lounge
Wood burner
Cosy lounge
Hall
Main Bedroom - Double Bed
Main bedroom
Twin Room - beds can be zipped up
Twin Room - beds can be zipped up
Fully equipped kitchen
Shower
Bathroom
The walk to the Falls - 2 mins from the cottage
Falls of Foyers
View from the local pub
Loch Ness September 2013
The Dores Inn
Sunset on Loch Ness March 2013
Sunset on Loch Ness 2013
Village Green children's playpark
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Foyers, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Arthur S
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulously comfy cottage”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage in the lovely foyers was perfect. We were overjoyed with the quality of everything provided in the cottage and my goodness there was everything you could wish for. The beds were the most comfortable we gave stayed in and the lovely gesture of a whiny tot and shortbread was very welcoming. The area surrounding Foyers was outstanding and there was plenty to do for all ages. Ben Nevis was a priority for us and was hard work but worth it, landmark adventure park was a great day out, especially if you like go-ape type of activities. Lots of sight seeing, castles and museums. We've never taken so many photos! Other than the long journey (which really wasn't that bad 10 hrs) this Loch Ness retreat was a fantastic base and an absolute pleasure to stay. We rarely leave comments but we would highly recommend this beautiful cottage and all it's luxury's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything combined, it was very special
Liked least: Getting used to the tight roads
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
077Dee
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Warm and very comfortable”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very Clean ,excellent informative welcome pack. The beds were more comfortable than my own. This area is part of undiscovered Scotland and so it is a drive to castles and attractions that was fine by us. we felt like we were the only tourists in Scotland with Loch Ness at our front door. Cannot recommend highly enough. Thankyou for the welcome dram of single malt very much appreciated.
Regards
Dee

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: bit of a drive to a decent pub
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pringle4u
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply stunning with a fantastic location. Truly your home from home.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Monty's Cottage really exceeded our expectations. It had everything you would possibly need to enjoy your visit to Loch Ness and beyond. From the initial enquiry (had a lightning response with each query) right down to complimentary whiskey and needle & thread in the kitchen drawer. Monty's is truly of 5 star quality.
The cottage is set in a beautiful location away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life, even in the evenings you can hear the nearby waterfall gently helping you to sleep.
Within a small walking distance of Monty's their is a small shop/cafe which served an excellent lunch within the falls in a stunning location. We found the people here were so friendly and pleasant.
We visited many areas around the Scottish highlands and found that Monty's was in a prime location, everything seemed so close with beautiful views on our travels.
Would we stay at Monty's again? Without a doubt, already planning our next visit. The owners are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble, only an email or phone call away.
Thank you again for making our stay so magical!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience with the owners, very efficient with any enquiries, nothing too much trouble.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mila W
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage; log fires & feather duvets”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time for the 3 nights we stayed here.
Plus points; feather duvets, crisp white sheets, log fire (the guy next door sells extra logs and kindling), candles, well stocked kitchen with washer/dryer, great tv selection / dvd's for rainy nights, walking distance to Foyers waterfall, helpful owners, fantastic guidebook and cottage manual, great bath (didn't even try the shower but it looked good!). Cannot fault Monty's Cottage, you'd be crazy not to stay if you find yourself near Lough Ness.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesphil
East Brent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Homely and comfortable cottage amidst stunning scenery”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A beautiful property in a fantastic location . The property is furnished to a high standard but also felt very comfortable and homely. The accommodation was spotless and the treat of shortbread and " wee dram " were very welcome . Even the Journey to Monty's was a wonderful experience driving alongside Loch Ness. Lovely walks past the water falls down to the Loch with very friendly locals to chat along the way. This really is a lovely cottage set in a great area & I would highly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic getaway in beautiful scenery”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Monty's Cottage is a superb cottage finished off to a very high standard with all the facilities you need to enjoy your stay. All the sights of Loch Ness are within a short drive with plenty of dog walking routes on your doorstep. Our spanador Mikki absolutely loved it! Even the journey to the cottage past Loch Lomond and through Glencoe is breath taking . The whole holiday was a perfect way to spend our silver wedding anniversary. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda280...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage with everything you could possibly need for a comfortable home from home holiday. All furnishings/fittings were of a very high standard and quality. A very relaxed and cosy feel to the cottage and the location is amazing. Just minutes walking distance from stunning scenery. A little shop and cafe within walking distance too. The owners have thought of everything and were very approachable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the cottage and the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing