We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
43
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese chaletssummer islesstunning locationrocky shorelarge bbqoutdoor seatingbig bonuswarm welcomefresh flowerswithin walking distanceour honeymoonstac pollaidhcomfortable bedsscallopson arrivallindadecking
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 46 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2018

I’ve written a fair number of reviews for TA, but I need to say up front that this one is very special. From the moment that I first emailed the point of contact to ask if the Port Beag Chalets had availability to the moment we left our chalet, we received personalized care and kindness. Linda responded to my initial inquiry very quickly; she provided detailed directions about how to drive to the chalet, together with information about the surrounding area, restaurants and other resources. I sent her a note when we were a few days away from our destination and again she responded immediately. Her directions along a single-track road after Ullapool were spot-on and very easy to follow. Although we felt we were driving into a somewhat remote area, the drive was easy and the mountains and surrounding scenery was spellbinding. Once we arrived at the Spruce Chalet, everything was just as Linda said it would be. The heat was on (which was needed given the cool rainy weather), there were fresh flowers on the kitchen table, a packet of welcoming cookies and plenty of information about what we could do. Linda came down to say hello and offered us some suggestions on where to hike and places to have a nice lunch or dinner (she was right to recommend Salt!). She was warm and friendly and made us feel immediately at home. Our three-bedroom chalet was simply furnished, but very cozy and welcoming. There was a washer/dryer and a well-equipped kitchen. The Wifi worked very well. The views were gorgeous. The beds were very comfortable. I wish we could have stayed much longer. It is a long way from Washington DC to the northwestern Highlands, but we loved our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review Dee. It was a real pleasure to meet you all, and I'm delighted you would like to return to stay with us in the future all the way from Washington DC. I hope we can welcome you back! All the best, Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

This was our 2nd trip to Port Beag, the first being for our honeymoon last year. We stayed a bit longer this time and although the weather was a little wild the holiday was phenomenal.
We stopped in the Rowan, a 2 bed 4 berth chalet on its own. It has recently been refurbished and not only does it look great, it's also very warm & comfortable.
The views are absolutely stunning and the amount of wildlife is incredible. There's no phone signal, no wifi and no noise, sheer bliss.
We'll definitely be back again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Babydoll_blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

We're really glad you enjoyed your second stay with us, and liked the Rowan renovations! It was a pleasure to have you stay, and I hope you'll be able to return again. All the best, Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights at Port Beag chalets earlier this month and had a wonderful time. Linda was really friendly and went out of her way to make reservations for us at local restaurants on each of the nights. She also got us booked onto the Summer isles boat tour. It’s a lovely part of the world that we’ve been to several times but this was our first time staying at Port Beag chalets and we’ll definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank browningt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Hello, thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. It was great to meet you and your family, and to hear about your ties with the area. Glad you enjoyed your stay and all the things Coigach has to offer! All the best, Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful holiday. We were lucky with the weather but I am convinced that we would have had a nice time regardless. It's a stunning location. The area has a lot to see for lovers of wildlife. The chalets are spotlessly clean and well furnished. Linda and her family are very helpful and kind. In fact with her advice she really helped to make our holiday one of our most memorable. We are going back this year!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thanks Kirsty, that's a lovely review to read. I'll pass on your comments to Tricia too, as it's her who makes the chalets clean and welcoming. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay, it was great to meet you and all your family, and really nice that you had such an interest in the area - looking forward to seeing you again this year! Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last year as part of a boys trip doing the NC500 and was so impressed decided to return with a group of couples. The location is simply unexplainable, words just won't do it justice....seeing is believing. The chalets are incredibly well equipped and very comfortable. Linda goes the extra mile to make your stat both welcoming and easy....highly, highly recommended, especially if you strike lucky as we did and get great weather. Only word if warnings is the 10-12 mile single track approach road, not for the faint hearted, but very scenic and worth the effort. To me this has to be a "bucket list" trip....everyone should do it, especially in May.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hamish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Port Beag Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Thanks Hamish for your lovely review - it was a pleasure to have you all to stay and I'm really glad you got such great weather. Thank you also for leaving the chalet so nice, we really appreciate that. Hope to see you all again! Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews