We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Scottish Country Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Your Highland Hideaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Highland Hideaway
A very special retreat The secluded garden, with glorious seaviews of the Summer Isles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Your Highland Hideaway
A very special retreat
The secluded garden, with glorious seaviews of the Summer Isles
The bright eat-in kitchen 1
The bright eat-in kitchen 2
Lovely traditional sitting room 1
Lovely traditional sitting room 2 - Perfect for quiet evenings by the fire
Light-filled Living/Dining room 1
Light filled Living/Dining room 2
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Inviting wood panelled family bathroom
Achiltibuie in the distance
Badentarbet bay....a short stroll from the house
Badentarbet bay with Tanera Mor in the background
Wester Ross mountains in the afternoon light
Nearby Stac Pollaidh - a very satisfying and not too challenging climb
Achnahaird beach - only three miles away
Achnahaird beach - ideal for kite flying
The Summer Isles
The Coigach Peninsula Road
On the road to Achiltibuie
Morning glory
Achiltibuie Post Office
A little gem...
Achilitbuie in Winter...just as magical
Achilitbuie in Winter...just as magical
Achnahaird in February
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
219528
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Scottish Country Cottage”
Reviewed September 30, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We had a great stay at the Loan in Achiltibuie. The Cottage is ideally located to explore the local area, walking distance to the the pub and beach. The house is fully equipped with everything you could need and has a really nice homely feel. I would highly recommend this cottage for a Scottish escape in a beautiful surroundings!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2018
Thank for your review, and I'm so pleased that you both enjoyed the house and the local area, which to anyone who has seen it, is simply stunning and sometimes epic in scale. I do hope you'll return, and again my thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John B
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A great place to relax and unwind, their are some lovely walks from the house along the coast with stunning views, a local shop that has everything you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wewther was perfect for the whole week
Liked least: The garden needs some attention, grass cutting in particular
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for the feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at 'The Loan'. Do come back and visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nick R
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to make you smile”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage was lovely, I had such a big smile on my face as I looked around and it provided the perfect place for our unwinding - whatever the time of day and weather. Truly stunning views from Achiltibuie to the Summer Isles and the mountains to the south and southeast. Local store 4 doors (100-200m) away.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
So glad you enjoyed Achiltibuie and the cottage. I hope you have occasion to visit again. Kind regards, Arabella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie R
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cottage, with a cosy old-fashioned feel.”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage was ideal for our small family of myself, my wife and 16-year old daughter. We loved the sunroom, the cosy lounge and the kitchen with the Rayburn stove. We also liked the slightly dishevelled garden which was full of bees and birdlife. It was nice to have broadband and a dishwasher.
The cottage was well placed for outdoor activities and exploring the area, and had a quiet location which was still convenient for local amenities such as the village store and restaurants.
Small quibbles: our 5'9" daughter did complain of the small size of the beds in the twin bedroom. We could not get the TV to work, which did not bother us but might bother some people. When we arrived the Rayburn cooker burner was set far too high and threatened to cook us all until we discovered how to turn it down.
Overall, however, we loved the cottage and felt at home there. We will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upstairs bathroom with the wonderful bath and loads of hot water!
Liked least: The too-small beds in the twin room
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
Dear Maggie and family,

I am glad you enjoyed the cottage. We do hope you'll return. Thanks for the feedback - always helpful. The TV is now fixed and we'll ensure the Rayburn which keeps the cottage so cosy when it's not so warm, is at a lower setting when it is.
Kind regards
Arabella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma4567
1 review
“Beautiful cosy cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at The Loan for a long weekend with our 2 year old daughter and cannot recommend it enough. We bought groceries as suggested in Ullapool however found the tiny village shop had all the essentials we needed. The cottage is picture perfect with a brilliantly designed layout giving you a cosy sitting room with a fireplace a perfectly equipped kitchen with Rayburn and a superb sunroom which was filled with age appropriate toys for our daughter, a very nice touch! The bedrooms are sympathetically decorated and every wall has a fabulous Scottish landscape painting to admire. We were blessed with the most incredible weather and we enjoyed long walks taking in the breathtaking scenery. This really is a magical place and has given us memories we will cherish.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review. Hope you come visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing