We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
US$82
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craigvar(Strathpeffer)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochview Guesthouse(Strathpeffer)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
The White Lodge(Strathpeffer)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$202
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Priory Hotel(Beauly)
US$114
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
339
366
98
48
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
366
98
48
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsronnie rossshearings holidaylong journeyour waiterself driveevening entertainmentscottish dancerspump roomlovely hotelold railwayshearings hotelsnational holidayscoach tripoverlooking the villagestandard roomfirst classplenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 874 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2016

We went to Strathpeffer on 22nd February with National Holidays. Our journey up was excellent after a late start due to road works in Gateshead, Tyne & Wear. We arrived at the hotel at 6.0 clock and registered into our rooms. The bedroom was lovely, warm clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent as was the staff, nothing was too much for them. They had a squad of workmen there (they had a notice in reception warning us that they were there) they ere no bother even when we had our free day in the hotel (it had snowed the night before and my husband and I decided to stay put) We had a trip to Inverness on the Tuesday which was lovely and a trip out to Ullapool which was equally lovely, picturesque but of course it had snowed there as well so it was quite slushy as it was quickly thawing, we just stayed in a cafe/bar with a lovely roaring real fire and we were very comfortable. We would consider going back to Ullapool in the summer as it was beautiful beside the harbour where you could sit and watch the ferry boats coming and going and all the other fishing boats etc. Our National driver David was excellent in looking after us the days we were out and he got us back in very good time on Friday night (4.30 Gateshead). All in all the whole holiday experience was spot on as is usual with National Holidays. We are looking forward to our next break with National in May when we go to the Grand Hotel in Scarborough. Hopefully I will have another good report for you then.

Room Tip: We were in room 106 which was round the side of the hotel, very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Thanks for a lovely review.
It's lovely to hear you had such a good time.
Enjoy your stay in Scarborough.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2016

Lovely setting in a quaint village. Had a very nice stay. Friendly helpful staff .Great food.The hotel was nice and clean with a really traditional Scottish feel .Enjoyed the entertainment.Thursday night was excellent with Raymond.Great atmosphere from a very talented musician/singer and all round entertainer.
Looking forward to next visit.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sundown615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Great to hear you had a lovely stay.
Thanks for the review.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2016

The hotel is large, a little bit old fashioned but comfortable.Large reception rooms, with a lovely wooden staircase up to the rooms. The lift is a bit small. Entertainment is fairly good. Meals were nice and plenty of choice. We paid extra for a double standard plus, room was furnished in a contemporary style. Hotel situated in large grounds and as small village next to everything. Only niggles were no toiletries in the bathroom and at bar no sherry glasses, served in an ordinary glass. Overall staff very helpful, had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: At the end of corridors, for quietness
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Thanks for your review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2016

The highland hotel is a wonderful place to stay....the food was excellent and hot as well the waitress we had was a lovely smiling Latvian girl..nothing was too much trouble.the rooms are old fashioned ..but are being refurbished.the entertainment superb ..Ronnie Ross is great ..although seen him at Fort William.the trips were good..Tony our coach driver was very knowledgeable..and an excellent driver ..one of the best..the only downside was the pillows ..they were like rocks to say the least.i can definitely recommend this holiday ..and the scenery is stunning ..had a great time x

Room Tip: We were on first floor ..only view were the coaches !!!!
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 663shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Thanks for a lovely review.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you had mentioned your pillows we would have got them changed straight away for you.
I will pas on your kind comments to Tony and the staff.
Hope you'll join us again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2016

This Hotel is ideally situated for walking into the village and visiting the local sights. The staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are warm and clean with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The meals are brilliant and the dining room staff always had a welcome smile for us. They have something for everyone with the entertainment and the comfortable newly updated lounge has plenty of places to sit and meet new friends.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Joanne252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2016

Thanks for the review.
Great to hear you had such a good Christmas and enjoyed the new refurbished lounge.
Hope you'll be back next Christmas.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews