We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break with shearings”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Just returned from a mid-week break with Shearings. Although a long and quite tiring journey, it was definitely well worth the trip. The hotel was really nice, with very friendly staff, good food, and as it looked as though our room had been recently refurbished, we were very pleased with our accommodation . Also the room was really spacious and warm.
Strathpeffer itself is very small and quaint. We did the trips out arranged by Shearings, and if you do this 5 day break, then do not miss the Gairloch Loop full day tour. At this time of year we were not expecting such good weather, but amazingly had clear skies with lovely sunshine which gave us some fantastic views around the route.
The tour coach driver ( John ) was one of the best we have ever been with on a coach break. His knowledge and banter made a good trip even better. He was absolutely brilliant.
The entertainment in the hotel was very good, especially Ronnie Ross, and with 4 free drinks every night, the whole break was really terrific value for money.
We always say we have had a good time when we take a lot of photographs, and we certainly took a lot of photographs on this trip !!!!! Lovely hotel, friendly people, and superb scenery. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vince p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016

We've just finished refurbishing another 20 rooms, I'm glad our guests are enjoying them.
Thanks for all the lovely comments about the staff and food.
Great to hear you had such a good time.
Best Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Bay Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Just on our way home after a great weekend away. Hotel spotless great staff and great food - what more can you ask for.
We arrived late on Friday and once we had eaten dinner we.t to our rooms to find our cases right outside the door
Entertainment every evening bur finished early so if you wanted an early night you were not disturbed.
We had room 207 which was very comfortable and had an excellent shower.
Would stay here again if ever in the area.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarolnMike_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for a lovely review.
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The hotel was full of character,great setting for a short break, the rooms we and our friends had were spotless and roomy. The food was also good ,the staff excellent,we were recommended to visit this hotel by a few other people and we can see why.The entertainment on the friday and sunday nights was really good,Ronnie Scott and Raymond Chuckuk take a bow you both added to our enjoyable time,will we revisit this hotel ,like many of the other guests we spoke to yes we will.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 121alex2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2016

Great to hear you found yours clean and enjoyed the entertainment.
I'll pass on your kind comments to Ronnie and Raymond.

Thanks for the review.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We went to Strathpeffer on 22nd February with National Holidays. Our journey up was excellent after a late start due to road works in Gateshead, Tyne & Wear. We arrived at the hotel at 6.0 clock and registered into our rooms. The bedroom was lovely, warm clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent as was the staff, nothing was too much for them. They had a squad of workmen there (they had a notice in reception warning us that they were there) they ere no bother even when we had our free day in the hotel (it had snowed the night before and my husband and I decided to stay put) We had a trip to Inverness on the Tuesday which was lovely and a trip out to Ullapool which was equally lovely, picturesque but of course it had snowed there as well so it was quite slushy as it was quickly thawing, we just stayed in a cafe/bar with a lovely roaring real fire and we were very comfortable. We would consider going back to Ullapool in the summer as it was beautiful beside the harbour where you could sit and watch the ferry boats coming and going and all the other fishing boats etc. Our National driver David was excellent in looking after us the days we were out and he got us back in very good time on Friday night (4.30 Gateshead). All in all the whole holiday experience was spot on as is usual with National Holidays. We are looking forward to our next break with National in May when we go to the Grand Hotel in Scarborough. Hopefully I will have another good report for you then.

Room Tip: We were in room 106 which was round the side of the hotel, very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2016

Thanks for a lovely review.
It's lovely to hear you had such a good time.
Enjoy your stay in Scarborough.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Lovely setting in a quaint village. Had a very nice stay. Friendly helpful staff .Great food.The hotel was nice and clean with a really traditional Scottish feel .Enjoyed the entertainment.Thursday night was excellent with Raymond.Great atmosphere from a very talented musician/singer and all round entertainer.
Looking forward to next visit.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sundown615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2016

Great to hear you had a lovely stay.
Thanks for the review.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The hotel is large, a little bit old fashioned but comfortable.Large reception rooms, with a lovely wooden staircase up to the rooms. The lift is a bit small. Entertainment is fairly good. Meals were nice and plenty of choice. We paid extra for a double standard plus, room was furnished in a contemporary style. Hotel situated in large grounds and as small village next to everything. Only niggles were no toiletries in the bathroom and at bar no sherry glasses, served in an ordinary glass. Overall staff very helpful, had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: At the end of corridors, for quietness
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Thanks for your review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

The highland hotel is a wonderful place to stay....the food was excellent and hot as well the waitress we had was a lovely smiling Latvian girl..nothing was too much trouble.the rooms are old fashioned ..but are being refurbished.the entertainment superb ..Ronnie Ross is great ..although seen him at Fort William.the trips were good..Tony our coach driver was very knowledgeable..and an excellent driver ..one of the best..the only downside was the pillows ..they were like rocks to say the least.i can definitely recommend this holiday ..and the scenery is stunning ..had a great time x

Room Tip: We were on first floor ..only view were the coaches !!!!
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 663shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Thanks for a lovely review.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you had mentioned your pillows we would have got them changed straight away for you.
I will pas on your kind comments to Tony and the staff.
Hope you'll join us again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.4 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
585 reviews
0.2 km away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
403 reviews
2.6 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
147 reviews
3.9 km away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
57 reviews
12.5 km away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: $114 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing