We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
US$99
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ben Wyvis Hotel(Strathpeffer)
US$80
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lochview Guesthouse(Strathpeffer)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Riverside Chalets Caravan and Camping(Strathpeffer)(Great Value!)
US$19
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$208
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priory Hotel(Beauly)
US$125
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holly Lodge & Cottage(Strathpeffer)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Lodge(Strathpeffer)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
336
359
92
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
359
92
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsronnie rossshearings holidaylong journeyour waiterself driveevening entertainmentscottish dancerspump roomlovely hotelnational holidaysold railwayshearings hotelscoach tripfirst classoverlooking the villagestandard roomplenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 854 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2016

Just returned from a mid-week break with Shearings. Although a long and quite tiring journey, it was definitely well worth the trip. The hotel was really nice, with very friendly staff, good food, and as it looked as though our room had been recently refurbished, we were very pleased with our accommodation . Also the room was really spacious and warm.
Strathpeffer itself is very small and quaint. We did the trips out arranged by Shearings, and if you do this 5 day break, then do not miss the Gairloch Loop full day tour. At this time of year we were not expecting such good weather, but amazingly had clear skies with lovely sunshine which gave us some fantastic views around the route.
The tour coach driver ( John ) was one of the best we have ever been with on a coach break. His knowledge and banter made a good trip even better. He was absolutely brilliant.
The entertainment in the hotel was very good, especially Ronnie Ross, and with 4 free drinks every night, the whole break was really terrific value for money.
We always say we have had a good time when we take a lot of photographs, and we certainly took a lot of photographs on this trip !!!!! Lovely hotel, friendly people, and superb scenery. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vince p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

We've just finished refurbishing another 20 rooms, I'm glad our guests are enjoying them.
Thanks for all the lovely comments about the staff and food.
Great to hear you had such a good time.
Best Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile

Just on our way home after a great weekend away. Hotel spotless great staff and great food - what more can you ask for.
We arrived late on Friday and once we had eaten dinner we.t to our rooms to find our cases right outside the door
Entertainment every evening bur finished early so if you wanted an early night you were not disturbed.
We had room 207 which was very comfortable and had an excellent shower.
Would stay here again if ever in the area.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarolnMike_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for a lovely review.
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 29, 2016

The hotel was full of character,great setting for a short break, the rooms we and our friends had were spotless and roomy. The food was also good ,the staff excellent,we were recommended to visit this hotel by a few other people and we can see why.The entertainment on the friday and sunday nights was really good,Ronnie Scott and Raymond Chuckuk take a bow you both added to our enjoyable time,will we revisit this hotel ,like many of the other guests we spoke to yes we will.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 121alex2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Great to hear you found yours clean and enjoyed the entertainment.
I'll pass on your kind comments to Ronnie and Raymond.

Thanks for the review.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2016

We went to Strathpeffer on 22nd February with National Holidays. Our journey up was excellent after a late start due to road works in Gateshead, Tyne & Wear. We arrived at the hotel at 6.0 clock and registered into our rooms. The bedroom was lovely, warm clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent as was the staff, nothing was too much for them. They had a squad of workmen there (they had a notice in reception warning us that they were there) they ere no bother even when we had our free day in the hotel (it had snowed the night before and my husband and I decided to stay put) We had a trip to Inverness on the Tuesday which was lovely and a trip out to Ullapool which was equally lovely, picturesque but of course it had snowed there as well so it was quite slushy as it was quickly thawing, we just stayed in a cafe/bar with a lovely roaring real fire and we were very comfortable. We would consider going back to Ullapool in the summer as it was beautiful beside the harbour where you could sit and watch the ferry boats coming and going and all the other fishing boats etc. Our National driver David was excellent in looking after us the days we were out and he got us back in very good time on Friday night (4.30 Gateshead). All in all the whole holiday experience was spot on as is usual with National Holidays. We are looking forward to our next break with National in May when we go to the Grand Hotel in Scarborough. Hopefully I will have another good report for you then.

Room Tip: We were in room 106 which was round the side of the hotel, very comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Thanks for a lovely review.
It's lovely to hear you had such a good time.
Enjoy your stay in Scarborough.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2016

Lovely setting in a quaint village. Had a very nice stay. Friendly helpful staff .Great food.The hotel was nice and clean with a really traditional Scottish feel .Enjoyed the entertainment.Thursday night was excellent with Raymond.Great atmosphere from a very talented musician/singer and all round entertainer.
Looking forward to next visit.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sundown615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2016

Great to hear you had a lovely stay.
Thanks for the review.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews