We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just the job!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ivy Cottage

Looking up from millpond to Ivy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking up from millpond to Ivy Cottage
Cottage with Ben Wyvis in background Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Looking up from millpond to Ivy Cottage
Cottage with Ben Wyvis in background
Living room
View from patio at Ivy Cottage
Master Double Bedroom with Anta tartan
Driveway leading to ivy Cottage
Kitchen / dining area
Bathroom re-furbished 2014
Bathroom re-furbished 2014
Twin Bedroom
Cottage with a snowy  Ben Wyvis in background
Kitchen
Nighttime sky at cottage
Standing stones above cottage
Master double Bedroom
Master bedroom
Sheep graze in the fields surrounding the cottage.
Bedroom 3 with superior bunk beds.
View from kitchen window.
A warm welcome awaits you.
View from patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Treacleca...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just the job!”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great cottage, extremely comfortable and well equipped for self catering.
Wonderful views from elevated position, with great walking in hills and moors behind cottage.
Super welcome pack, and a warm reception from Angus and Fiona.
Dingwall and Strathpeffer Free Church a great place to worship and hear the gospel preached.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Ivy Cottage despite the inclement weather on the day of your arrival and that you enjoyed the Sunday service in Dingwall.
You are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a lovely place my wife and I loved our stay in Ivy cottage. Lovely views and ideally situated for exploring the Highlands. Our hosts Angus and Fiona were lovely and very helpful, the cottage was very well equipped. Can’t wait to go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay despite the mixed weather but you made the most of it and covered many miles during your stay. You are welcome back to Ivy Cottage anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammitrav...
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to enjoy the highlands”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a great cottage. The owners are very hospitable and the cottage is so well kept. It's a beautiful home base from which to explore the highlands. It's also great to spend time at the cottage soaking in the views or going for long walks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was favourable allowing you to make the most of the cottage location. thank you very much for your custom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind...
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic family break”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A wonderful property set in a rural setting. Close to local amenities in Dingwall and Strathpeffer. Our host, Angus, went out of his way to make us feel welcome, including showing our three children the newborn lambs! Lovely welcome pack on arrival. Property very clean. Will definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and It was a pleasure showing the children round and letting them take part in the lambing activities. I missed them last night doing the feeding on my own!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim v
1 review
“Scottish hospitality!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The best value for money in the whole of Scotland, great central location, nice, well maintained house in the middle of the Highlands. Close to Inverness,strathpeffer,supermarket,distilleries, gas stations etc.Thanks again to The owners Angus and Fiona. They are very friendly people, concerned about you well-being during your holiday. No request is to much, not even Scottish premier league football tickets!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
It was a pleasure having you at Ivy Cottage and glad we were able to make your stay a pleasant one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
govindlon...
london
1 review
“Fantastic excellent stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We been there for 5 days it was a lovely stay , they have everything u need for stay beautiful view and lota of information for tour
The cottage owner angus is very helpful he has given us nice ride in his bike
Very recommended we will definately go next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
It was a pleasure having you at Ivy Cottage and glad everything was to your satisfaction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alachel
Sauchie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage, beautiful views, peaceful location.”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a fantastic weeks holiday at Ivy Cottage. Wish we had booked it for two weeks! It enjoys a peaceful rural setting (complete with sheep), but is only a short drive away from Dingwall, which has a large supermarket, shops, cafes etc.

The property itself is presented in an immaculate condition and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The log fire is great to keep you cosy on a cold Scottish night! The welcome pack is full of local treats and the owners were so thoughtful leaving Easter eggs for our two young children. Very much appreciated!

I can not recommend this place highly enough and we will definitely be returning in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural setting.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and so disappointed we didn't get any new born lambs for the children to see during your week at the cottage .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing