We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Our own private Lochan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our own private Lochan
Front of Cottage from Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Our own private Lochan
Front of Cottage from Garden
Cottage Across the Lochan
Dining Room
The Garden
Lounge
The Boat
West Down to Lochan
Garden
Looking South
Play Area
Balnain Cottage from Adjacent Fields
Welcome to the Lake
Looking North
Seating Area Overlooking Lochan
Pine Marten- Regular Visitor to Bird Table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolyn K
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a wonderful place to stay - even better than the photos! :) Wonderful for wildlife and quiet. The cottage has high standards and has everythign you need! You woudl not be disappointed...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review Carolyn. We are pleased that Balnain continues to meet your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a week at Balnain and had a wonderful time. Loved the outside space during the day - quiet but full of wildlife. And everything you need in the cottage for a warm and relaxing evening. Look forward to a return visit sometime soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carolyn K
Canncok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect location”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2011
4
people found this review helpful

This is a fabulous location - I never visited the same place twice until I found this amazing place, now I return every year. It is perfect: quiet, secluded, safe, an amazing place for the wildlife enthusiast. Red Deer, Roe Deer, Red Kites all come near the garden, wood peckers , wrens and siskins. If you didn't want to leave the cottage you would still have plenty to see and do. You will not be disappointed. The cottage has everything you need and is very comfortable. I love the real fire in the evenings while watching the red deer in the field.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - really theres nothing to say thats negative.
Liked least: I had to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing