We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great warm House, next to the lock.”
other travellers have booked this property
Gran's House and rear garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gran's House and rear garden
View showing Gran's House and down Loch Torridon towards the Narrows from elevated position View from Gran's  House garden at full Spring tide.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Gran's House and rear garden
View showing Gran's House and down Loch Torridon towards the Narrows from elevated position
View from Gran's  House garden at full Spring tide.
View down Loch Torridon from Gran's House Garden on a rising tide.
Liathach and Torridon Village from the Shieldaig road
Grans and village shop etc from the water
Sitting room
Sitting room dining table into kitchen
Kitchen window bench seat and table
Snug/ TV room
Snug/TV room
Double bedroom loch view
Double bedroom loch view
Double bedroom loch view
Double bedroom  village view
Single bedroom loch view
View down Loch from garden
View down loch from Garden on highish tide
Gran's from water
View down Loch from Gran's
Torridon wildlife on Gran's garden
Shore to Gran's, tide out
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
womenrock
Keswick, Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great warm House, next to the lock.”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Good facilities and a warm house. Lots of room for everyone and no shortage of hot water after a day in the hills. Very easy to find opposite the café and general store. There were 2 female dears visited the garden every day, did not see otters but they are out there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francoise...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the cottage was wonderful . It totaly surpassed our expectations . The location was stunning . The wild deers were on the front lawn to greet us on arrival and the views never ceased to amaze us for the whole week . The comfort and attention to detail were outstanding . We found everything we needed in the kitchen . The cottage was warm all the time thanks to a wonderful stove and a log burner. The decoration was tasteful and homely . We can't wait to return . Thank you so much for everything .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terh2015
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a very welcoming, comfortable house in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived to find the frie lit ready for us. In February that is most welcome . Fresh tulips too - in the North of Scotland that was a beautiful gesture and - Ambassador you're spoiling us - Morag later brought a tray of scones that were among the best I've had and I live in the West Country where cream teas are a local specialty. Add to all that a warm, comfortable but not fussy house with a view down the loch to the sunset and beautiful hills all around and it would be hard to find a better place to stay

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Torridon and had the absolute pleasure of staying at 'Grans House'. Stunning location right next to the Loch. Accommodation first class, beautifully presented and comfortably furnished open plan living and kitchen downstairs and separate cozy sitting room with TV. The beds were very comfortable indeed, we all slept well!! Recommend the cafe/shop opposite which serves up a good array of fresh snacks. Despite the bad weather it did not spoil our stay... Looking forward to returning in the future when the weather is warmer

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna J
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Scotland.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This Easter was our second at Gran's House and though the weather was wet and wild, we had just as good a time and our walking/exploring was not much compromised. The house is wonderful - comfortable, cosy and with one of the best views in Britain out of its loch facing windows. When the wind raged we snuggled on the sofas by the log burner and watched the elements do their worst. Great kitchen, very well equipped and with a toasty Rayburn. Beautifully decorated though out with an eye for detail - lovely bed linen and a view to die for from each of the three beds that face the loch.
Gran's house ticks all the boxes for us - wonderful house in fabulous setting and slap bang in the middle of some of the best walking, water sports and beaches in the UK. Did I mention the brilliant cafe/shop across the road for cake after a long mountain day? Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, location, cosy factor
Liked least: Mattresses too soft
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent house”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Grans house after the roof blew off the cottage we originally booked and the owners kindly let us stay at the last minute. We only holiday in the UK and so have lots of experience with different properties. Grans house was by far the best equipped and had the best views of anywhere we have ever stayed. We were a little nervous that the cottage wouldn't be cosy with the wooden floors however it was always warm and inviting with the rayburn and the wood burner. We hardly used the lounge as sitting by the fire looking at the views were too incredible to resist. We were lucky enough to see the deer in the front garden and even though we didn't see any there was plenty of evidence of otters just down the road. The torridon inn is a 45 minute walk away along the road and well worth a visit along with the applecross inn an hours drive away.
The only downside to the property is the beds. They are very small doubles and in my opinion not very comfortable resulting in very disturbed sleep. That said I am very fussy when it comes to beds however if you are more than average height/build you may find it very snug and result to sleeping separately as we did at times. As I say I am very fussy so if you can sleep pretty much anywhere then don't let it put you off. It does have a very good shower which is often strangely difficult to find in other properties.
All in all excellent property which I would recommend, not sure I could cope with the beds again but would be tempted to try for the views. I would give it 8/10 (10/10 if I had slept better)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2014
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed staying at Gran's House and were happy to accommodate you at the last minute to allow your holiday to go ahead. Thank you for all your positive comments regarding Gran's House. With regard to your issues with the beds, we would like to inform you we have taken this on board and have purchased a King size bed, as well as a good quality mattress topper for the other double bed. We trust that this will ensure all our guests in the future have a good night's sleep!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78RMG
Aboyne, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous week”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Gran's House is in a stunning location right on the shore of the Loch, and very well appointed. The kitchen is very well equipped and the house well stocked with DVDs, games, fishing rods, etc. It now has Wi-Fi! Nice to have two bathrooms, and a powerful shower. Comfortable beds and pretty, nautical themed bedrooms. The Rayburn and log-burning stove are all that are needed to keep the house warm and cosy in the chilly evenings, although there are either storage heaters or electric panel heaters in every room if a boost is needed. The shop and café are right across the road; the nearest pub is a few miles away at Sheildaig. Mobile butcher/grocer, fishmonger and bank visit during the week, stopping right outside the house. Lovely walks in the Torridon mountains starting either from the house itself, or from a short drive away. Gairloch and Applecross ideal for days out, and the boat trip around the Lochs from Sheildaig is highly recommended. Great wildlife too, with deer in the garden (you can hear them in the small hours - be warned!) golden eagles, sea-eagles and other sea birds, seals, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: No outside light by the front door - take a torch!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing