We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Troon, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
judio535
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is lovely and looks out on to a lovely garden. The bedroom is very small but the bed is comfortable and the living area is spacious and sunny.
The only downside was the kitchen which was small and would only be good for heating food up...I wouldn't like to try cooking a meal apart from a light breakfast.
Location is very good and Troon is a lovely town to stay in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
There is an electric free standing oven/grill with 4 rings ,a large fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster, fresh coffee maker and usual implements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariadna C...
1 review
“Clean, functional accomodation but not a holiday cottage”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The space is big, light, clean and was perfectly adequate for what we needed. The location is great, stroll across the road and you are at the beach. Troon is a short walk or drive away and has everything you need, plenty of shops and some nice cafes. Michael was very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed.

We were out exploring most of the time we were there, so we only really needed a place to sleep, for which the property was fine. However, had we been planning to spend more time in the property we would have been a little disappointed. It is not really a cottage, but a converted annexe to the main house. Whilst private, it doesn't really have that self-contained, holiday cottage feeling. Also, there is no access to the lovely garden that is pictured, just the front garden by the road. A couple of points to bear in mind if you're planning to spend a lot of time in the property!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Hi ,thanks for the review.
Just a couple of points.
The cottage is just that, it was built sometime early 19th century, earlier than the main house.
We do state quite clearly that the rear garden is for the use of the main house, and the large front garden can be used by cottage guests.
We consider this only fair as the main house has up to 12 guests ,paying a much larger amount and may want privacy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
A small window 6 inches 10 inches was broken. We have requested a glazier to repair. There is information on the site regarding transport links, rail and air, taxi,restaurants etc, also a printed sheet with information.
Apologies for the 2 items found on the bedroom floor. I will be speaking to the cleaners regarding this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Schmuppy
1 review
“Lovely place, Great Light”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed in this beautiful space for just over two weeks to have a quiet place to work, cook and relax. High ceilings and skylights in the lounge make this the lady of the house's favorite room when guests are not around, and I can see why.

They owners are congenial and friendly, and made me feel very welcome and cared-for. Dow even offered to give me a ride over to the local Tesco as she was going; she and Michael are the most gracious of hosts.

The cottage, attached to their larger home, is only a 10 minute walk to the center of town, and though the shops do close at 5 PM generally, there is a very large Morrisons in town, and it's quite easy to walk there and then grab a taxi from the 8ee's taxi stand which is across from the market. Taxis are inexpensive, and two restaurants in the Buzzworks restaurant chain, Scotts and Lido, are excellent and close by (Lido in the town centre, Scotts out by the Troon Yacht Harbour)

Also highly recommend the Little Cup of Wonder tea shop and cafe on West Portland, near the Lido restaurant, which is owned by the owner of the crystal shop and new age supply next door.

All in all, if you're in the West of Scotland and are looking for a quiet, gorgeous space near the beach to rest, relax and kick back, you couldn't do better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
We think we have been given a poor review for the following reasons: The
guests arrived around 3pm and stated they would like to bbq. Our site states that they have the use of the front garden, which is not gated.
It was raining, 7C,and windy, especially to the front of the property. My wife helpfully suggested that they bbq in the back garden,which was more sheltered, and willingly gave the guests a key
for access .
They left their luggage, and returned after about 30 minutes and said they would like to cancel.They wanted an immediate refund, which we refused. They also complained that they had a very large dog ,which they would have liked to let roam in the garden,but they were afraid it would wander onto the road. Previous guests have had dogs and taken them for walks along the beach just in front of the property.
Other points :
The cottage is not part of the house, but converted stabling, and separate from the house.
The lounge in the cottage is 19 ft by 15ft and has an impressive 15ft high ceiling with velox windows in the ceiling. Hardly "quite small" as written by the guests.
You only have to read previous reviews on the house and cottage to realise how friendly and helpful Dow is , not " grumpy "as stated.
To reiterate, a poor review, for all the above reasons.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norma R
2 reviews
“Very spacious and airy cottage”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Loved this cottage,it had everything you need,like a home from home.Loved the walks and was not far from the town centre.Lots of places to eat and everyone we met were very friendly.Mrs Dickson who co owned the cottage was lovely and would help in any way if needed.Will certainly come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Hi Norma, Thanks for your review, we would be happy to welcome you back anytime.
Kind regards, Mike and Dow
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna D
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing location”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We spent two nights in this lovely little place which is right across from the beach. We were met by a lovely young lady who showed us around, the cottage is connected to a large house so u can't really see it from the main road, but once in the property we were not disappointed. There's a small well equipped kitchen for short stays, and a really spacious living area with dinning table and access to a shared (with large house) well kept garden area. The cottage is right across from the beach and you can walk into the town centre within 15-20 min along the beach or on the nice walk way adjacent. The train station is about 5min in a taxi (£3) or again about 15min walk. There is also wi-if which was good and connected right away. When leaving we had a mix up with taxi numbers, so the young lady that welcomed us in kindly drove us to the station, this was a lovely gesture. This was a really nice place to stay for the weekend close to town and beach, thank you would love to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: There was nothing really, only comment I can make was that the shower made a loud squealing noise when in use
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing