We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So happy to be back”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cairnhill

Cottage close up
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage close up
Cairnhill Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Cottage close up
Cairnhill Cottage
A view down the track leading to the cottage
A view of the Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Area
Bedroom 1 Double room with en-suite shower room
Bedroom 1 -En-suite
Bedroom 2 Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 2 Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 3 Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 3 Twin Bedroom
Upstairs Toilet
Family Bathroom
Utility Room
View of the River Stinchar from the cottage drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Girvan, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peter F
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“So happy to be back”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great to be back in this wonderful house.
This year we specially appreciated how clean the house was and how good the beds are.
We had a bad experience a week later in an other rental.
Too bad the dishwasher broke down after a couple of days.
Still the comfort, quality, nice style and location of this house made it a wonderful week.
One minus point, but I don't know if that can be solved, is that the house smells musty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thanks for the good review we are very happy you rebooked. We will place some air freshener in the Cottage to combat any problem with freshness, thanks for letting us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thanks for the review, we always like to make any changes tenants recommend so we are glad you enjoyed your holiday without problems.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob J
Burghead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for quiet reflection and relaxation”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Cairnhill is a comfortable cottage with all 'mod cons' set in the beautiful countryside of the Stinchar Valley ('ch' as in church not as in loch!). Birds abound in the trees at the edge of the property - including Nuthatch and Great Spotted Woodpecker. Eggs (duck's and hen's) may be bought from a roadside box at the foot of the hill and they are delicious. This area of South and East Ayrshire offers many lovely places to visit - Culzean Castle and Dumfries House, the whole Burns' experience around Alloway and Machlin, and beaches at Girvan and Ballantrae, among others. There are no eating or drinking places within easy walking reach but the cottage lends itself to sitting outside - as we were able in bright, warm sunshine - or around an open fire in the lounge, with a glass of wine. Wi-fi is available, if you need it, but mobile phone signals are intermittent (at best) so relax and accept that you are on holiday and away from it all! Do try 'Austins' restaurant near the harbour at Girvan - you will need to reserve a table. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our break at Cairnhill for the peace and quiet and comfort of the house and its location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Many thanks for the review and especially for the restraunt recommendation not one we have tried!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlily...
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail makes for a perfect stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked this cottage for a short holiday with the kids and our parents who had just arrived from Kuala Lumpur. We were planning to give them a restful holiday whilst exploring Ayrshire and Arran - which was exactly what we achieved!

Debbie had been a very attentive host from the before we arrived with right up until we leave, without being intrusive at all. The cottage itself was really lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean. We had the open fire lit up and alternative heating on (was told the boiler broke down which the owners profusely apologised and was dealt with very promptly). It was very cosy and comfortable when my parents arrived which helped them recover from the long journey.

We were impressed with such attention to detail. The cottage had everything we could ever need - tea, coffee, sugar, little pots of milk, perfect for making up a cup of tea and snuggling up in front of the open fire from the moment we arrived. We spend quite lot of time in the living and kitchen/dining just catching up and noticed how well everything was laid out. There was a separate utility room which housed the freezer, washing machine and dryer, next to the downstairs bathroom. There were fresh new washing up sponge, kitchen towels, the cutlery were lined up perfectly in the drawers.. the list just goes on. There was washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and laundry detergent - simple things that if not there, you end up buying more and have lots leftover, something I find quite inconvenient in most other places we've stayed. Debbie & husband has really set the mark here.

Downstairs was open plan kitchen/dining leading to the utility room and downstairs bathroom with mains water supply. On the left side there was the living room leading to the en-suite master bedroom with electric shower (we thought having different hot water supply was a good idea - handy if the boiler broke down). Upstairs were the two twin rooms and an upstairs toilet - again very handy. All rooms were furnished and cleaned to a really good standard.

The kids were entertained with lots of games, books, there was TV with Sky and wifi at the cottage. Outside is very spacious and tidy too. The cottage was on top of a hill and had very nice views.

Overall, very comfortable stay. We were highly impressed with the attention to detail - even the welcome card is of very high quality!! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank ou so much for such a detailed and comprehensive review. It did not give us much room for improvement but we will be trying to keep up the standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Many thanks for such a valued review. Of course should you find things not to your liking we will always try and improve, but in this case all I can repeat is "thank you so much."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deborah H
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Apart from the trauma of getting to Scotland (the M6 need I say more) and our sat nav not getting us close enough (more on that later) this was all we could have wished for!

Beautifully appointed and stunningly clean cottage in a quiet (apart from the cockerel - who starts early be warned!) rural location - away from it all but close enough that there are things to do.

Great welcome card and gifts from Debbie & Jim who really do go out of their way to help you (when we got lost on the way and providing us with a BBQ), the cottage has everything you need for a relaxing stay.

Our sat nav took us the wrong way so we got hopelessly lost and there is not much phone reception in the area - take the road to Ballantrae and then the next right, follow the road and at the yellow bungalow on the left you will see the track up to the cottage on the left - we found that the easiest way to get in and out!

recommended sights Glen Trool and Culzean Castle are must sees, didn't really do much in the evening as in going out as we had small (ish) child and dogs so we stayed in and played games!

would definitely recommend this cottage - but will fly to Scotland next timn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful cottage
Liked least: getting there!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for the good review, I will adopt your directions fot the next edition of the description. Sorry there is nothing we can do about the M6. Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you for the review and we are really glad you had a good holiday.
I expect we can let the air through the house before the next guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$88
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing