We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”

Review of Barwheys

Barwheys - Grand Dining Hall in the Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barwheys - Grand Dining Hall in the Farmhouse
Barwheys Barwheys - Beautiful fireplace in the Grand Dining Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Barwheys - Grand Dining Hall in the Farmhouse
Barwheys
Barwheys - Beautiful fireplace in the Grand Dining Hall
Barwheys - Beautiful 'honeymoon suite' in the Byre
Barwheys - Stylish kitchens
Barwheys - Luxurious en-suite bathrooms
Barwheys - in the beautiful Ayrshire countryside
Barwheys - Flat screen TV
Barwheys - Stylish bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms
Barwheys - Stylish bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Maybole, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diane F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Barwheys with a group of friends to celebrate my husbands 40th. The accommodation was fantastic - absolutely immaculate with all mod cons. Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
Hi Diane, it was lovely to welcome you and your friends to Barwheys and we are glad it was as you expected. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan K
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 7, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Barwheys was perfectly located for our family birthday party. We were aged 2 to 70 years but everyone thought that it was ideal. The very young ones had a lovely safe place to run around, the 10 to 40 years had a games room (barn) and X-box to amuse themselves and the older group enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and beautifully equipped and furnished rooms and kitchens. Everthing supplied was of the highest standard and 2 dishwashers in the main kitchen was much appreciated, together with the wine cooler and plentiful supply of logs for the outdoor fire. The clear instructions for the many appliances were impressive! We were lucky enough to enjoy perfect weather but it was clear that we would have enjoyed ourselves just as much if the weather had not been so kind ,as there was plenty of space to spread out in and the three accommodation areas are completely self-contained. Thank you Angela for our lovely, unforgettable weekend.
The community shop in Kirkmichael was a handy 10 minutes drive away and had some excellent home-made cakes. Croy beach and Culzean Castle are a short distance away and well worth visiting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
Hi Susan, thank you for your review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves. The whole team at Barwheys try to go the extra mile to ensure our guests requirements are met, so its always nice to get such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicoladun...
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding & Stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

After looking at various venues, we chose Barwheys for our wedding. The location is great - very peaceful and secluded. The staff are very helpful, understanding and will go out their way to make sure you are happy. Every room/house is presented beautifully with immaculate bathrooms & kitchens. Our 2 night stay was perfect, this gave us chance to set up and arrange things how we wanted without feeling rushed or limited in any way. Special thanks to Drew for helping hang lights and to Angela for the several suggestions and ideas from herself and Drew to make our stay flawless. I cannot fault the place and recommend Barwheys for any occasion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
Hi Nicola and thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to welcome you, Jason and your family and friends to Barwheys. We are glad we were able to help, albeit in a small way, to your fantastic day - and it stayed dry! Best wishes for the future from The Barwheys Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineB...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
Reviewed May 14, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a wonderful place to stay and enjoy a special time with friends. The accommodation is of a superb standard and everything has been carefully planned to ensure guest needs are met. From having 2 dishwashers, 3 ovens, 2 separate sinks in the Farmhouse kitchen to beautiful décor and individual en-suites in all rooms. The outside space was fabulous – so peaceful. Angela always responded quickly to any communication and was there to welcome us, explaining things and even took our Sainsbury’s delivery when we hadn’t arrived yet!! I can’t recommend Barwheys highly enough and we all hope to be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Hi Caroline - thank you for your kind words - we put a lot of effort into making sure everything is just right for our guests so its always good to get positive feedback - we hope to welcome you back in the future.
The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndsey19...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hideaway”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After looking for a while for somewhere for my sister in laws hen night, we found Barwheys. I couldn't believe how beautiful and peaceful it was.

We were looking for somewhere that suited all age groups and this certainly did. As there were 3 connected cottages and a separate games room, we found it perfect for people who wanted a bit of peace or to go to bed earlier.

All bedrooms have been decorated to such a high quality that no one was left with a room that wasn't as lovely as the rest. Bonus was each room had its own bathroom.

In the middle cottage, there is a table that seats 16 which was perfect so everyone could sit and eat together.

The whole place was finished perfectly. It was the small things that made Barwheys perfect. I will definitely be back with my family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place
Liked least: Poor phone signal but I didn't find this a problem
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely comments Lyndsey. We would love to have you back at Barwheys. Best wishes the Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAF6364
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just a great getaway”
Reviewed November 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great getaway with a group of friends and the location was ideal.
The quality of everything was top notch and there was nothing that we needed that wasn't there, which was a very pleasant surprise.
It is great to have the big kitchen and dining area where we could all be together but we also had separate areas that we could find some peace and quiet if required.
The games room was ideal for a bit of fun and the big screen was spot on, especially with the rugby World Cup final being played while we were there. If there was one thing missing, I would say that a fridge in the games room kitchen would be helpful.
Everything was good from picking up the keys to leaving and I would have no hesitation in recommending Barwheys to anyone looking for a top quality escape in the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having all my friends in one place and sharing time together.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments Linda. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best wishes
The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cad201520...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

16 adults booked Barwheys to celebrate a family 60th birthday. We all enjoyed a fantastic weekend from start to finish. Accomodation was presented to an extremely high standard, with beautiful surrounding countryside. Owners were very helpful and unobtrusive. Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments, we really value your feedback.

We hope to see you back here again.

Kind regards

The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing