We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmlands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 9 Biggar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This B&B is in a perfect location. It's an excellent place to stay especially when a stop-over is required when travelling from Cheshire to Aberdeen. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean and the food was absolutely delicious. Both Verena and Graham were superb hosts and I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

This B&B helped us out in a bind with accomodations and it was a great place, with very friendly and helpful hosts. The food deserves special mention and was among the best on our trip. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Staying here was a special treat for the 5 of us (friends traveling together). Our friendlly hosts greeted us warmly and served tea and biscuits when we arrived. Our bedrooms were comfortable, and we had delicious breakfasts and dinners. We even had a choice of several items from the menu for dinner! I highly recommend this to anyone traveling in this area of Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We spent a night at Holmlands on the way to Edinburgh. We had read all the good reviews on Tripadvisor and heartily agree with them. Graham and Verena are great hosts and our room was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was sparkling and the towels and toiletries were of a superior quality to those in the 4 star Edinburgh hotel we stayed in the following night.
Verena's love of cooking is evident in the high standard of food she prepares. We had a delicious 3 course meal in the evening of our stay. No namby-pamby 'nouvelle cuisine' at Holmlands - this was home-cooked food at its best, from the melt-in-the-mouth beef to the divine sticky toffee pudding served with custard and cream. Next morning, there were home-made scones and preserves and eggs from Graham and Verena's own hens, together with locally-sourced bacon and sausage.
This couple really enjoy looking after their guests and we shall look forward to returning to Holmlands next time we travel to Scotland.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Framebender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed in this dog friendly B&B before a grouse pointing test nearby with my HWV Nima. We were made very welcome in this superb B&B which was comfortable and friendly. We had a delicious dinner and the breakfast was first class. Would definitely stay again...

Room Tip: Stayed in a comfortable spacious front room which had lovely views and was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanoldmeldrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have stayed with Vernena and Graham several times as an over night stop, on our way to Scotland for holiday and have always found their hospitality second to none.

This year we decided to stay with them for a long weekend and I can only say, the longer you stay the more you enjoy your visit.

Verena is a true foodie and makes the most wonderful evening meals and breakfasts, Graham is a perfect welcoming host, who looks after you from the moment you arrive to the second you leave.

This year we brought the latest addition to our family a rather demanding cocker spaniel and he was welcomed with open arms, even providing cleaning facilities and walk recommendations and he was similarly treated as one of the family.

Holmlands is like a home away from home only better as you get looked after impeccably.

We have already booked an even longer long weekend for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I stayed at Holmlands Country House on my way walking from John O'Groats to Land's End for Parkinson's UK. Not only did Verena & Graham do me a discount to help me in my donation, they also did my washing for me and fed me a lovely tea and breakfast. I was incredibly well looked after and was made to feel very welcome. I'm really grateful to my hosts for looking after me so well and being so kind. Definately somewhere I'd return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyharibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
3.3 km away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
349 reviews
4.8 km away
Abington Hotel
Abington Hotel
#2 of 2 in Abington
296 reviews
22.9 km away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
The Kirkstyle Hotel
The Kirkstyle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Biggar
76 reviews
16.2 km away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
343 reviews
15.6 km away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlands Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Carlisle Road | Crawford, Biggar ML12 6TW, Scotland (Formerly Holmlands Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range: $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holmlands Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helen and John would like to welcome you to their family run Bed and Breakfast.Located just off the M74 in South Lanarkshire. We are situated in a quiet rural location convenient for visiting Scottish Borders, Lanark, Biggar and Moffat. Glasgow and Edinburgh are within an hours drive. Built in 1903, this interesting Edwardian property sits in an acre of land with our own vegetable plot and free ranging hens and ducks providing a rich supply of our own produce.surrounded by rolling hills of the Clyde Valley. It is such a great place for a short break any time of year. Holmlands is an ideal location for an overnight stay to or from the Highlands and Islands. With direct access to the M74/M8 and the A702 Biggar to Edinburgh road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holmlands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmlands Bed And Breakfast Biggar, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing