We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base, great property, great Scott.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glenalva Cottage

Beautiful garden apartment in traditional Scottish village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful garden apartment in traditional Scottish village
Private entrance Peaceful country garden to relax and smell the roses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Beautiful garden apartment in traditional Scottish village
Private entrance
Peaceful country garden to relax and smell the roses
Main entrance
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Large master bedroom with king size bed
Comfortable twin room
Cosy living space
Living room
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bridge of Allan, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave W
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great base, great property, great Scott.”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a little trouble paying the balance for this property but that was a Trip Advisor (TP)problem and not the property owner who did everything she could to help. TP didn't manage to help at all!
The property was very nice. It was clean and well maintained with comfy beds and a decent shower (both a must in my book).
it is also a great base to visit the area, we've visited the area many, many, times but never stayed in the Bridge of Allen; it was perfect for our Easter break and will certainly be back - however, I will deal direct with the owner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No one thing, it was all good.
Liked least: Trip Advisor poor service when I had a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Hi Dave,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and sorry you had such issues getting the balance paid with trip advisor! We got there in the end and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest wishes,
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareC300...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent base for touring and site seeing”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We would just like to say that the cottage was everything that we expected and more. It was very clean and the goodies that had been left for us were much appreciated, along with the flowers which were a very nice touch.
The cottage was a perfect base to come back to and relax after site seeing in the area and there is a great deal to do in the area.
We would definitely stay there again and would recommend the cottage to family and friends, thank you we have come back from our holiday very relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison F
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Convenient, generally clean and comfortable but lacking a little attention to detail in some areas”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We used Glenalva as a base for attending the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Instructions about arrival and departure were good and very clear. The cottage was mostly clean and comfortable; nice beds, a good powerful shower and a washing machine were all appreciated. Kitchen was well equipped but it would have been useful to have more than 4 plates, bowls, cups etc. Cooker wasn't great and was not as clean as it could have been. No BBC TV coverage - thank goodness for wi-fi and i-player. Bridge of Allan and surrounding area is lovely and well worth a visit,; easy access to Glasgow by road or rail. We would certainly go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Shower and washing machine
Liked least: Cooker was not as clean as it could have been
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and would return! We will look to provide more than 4 plates, bowls, cups etc. I am so disappointed to find that you found the cooker unclean and this is something that will be addressed ASAP and it is something we are looking to upgrade. We will also look into the BBC coverage, it is something we have had in the past so I am not sure if this is just a signal issue, but we will get that fixed. We appreciate your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilS164
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a combined business trip and family holiday.
We have three young children 6,4 and 10 months and they loved the apartment.
It is all on one level so 10 month old could get everywhere easily which he enjoyed.
Beds are very comfy and the rooms are spacious, bathroom is nice with a great shower, which was very much appreciated after a long days work.
Garden is very pleasant and quiet and well planted.
Kitchen has all you need and good space.
The station with direct trains to Edinburgh is a 10 minute walk away, so a trip into Edinburgh is nice and easy without having to drive and find parking.
Bridge of Allan is a lovely village with a great park right next to the river for the kids to paddle.
Allen Bridge Cafe serves brilliant fish and chips and the bakery sells great cakes so these are worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mate K
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
“Charming, peaceful aparment”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

With my sister and with her friends we've spent a beautiful week in Scotland at Glenava Cottage. The apartment is in an excellent location. We were with car and we could easily get to everywhere and you can park your car in the street, but having a car is not essential due to the good public transport system.
At the arrival we've got a welcome pack from the owner; a letter, a wine and short bread of course :) The apartment was very comfy for 4 adults and had a peaceful atmosphere.
Unfortunatelly we have not enough time to have a look around in Bridge of Allan, so we could not try any of the restaurants. If you prefer to cook at home you can easily do it; there is a groceries almost next to the cottage, and the kichten is well equipped.
Only a wee thing was missing for me; I've read in the descirption the apartment has Wi-fi but unfortunatelly it wasn't any device to connect it.
I would reccomend it to anyone who wants to spend a good week in Scotland in a beautiful environment.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted you and your family enjoyed the stay at Glenalva. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Since your stay we have had Wi-Fi installed in the property, sorry it wasn't available when you were there and I hope it didn't cause too many issues.

Kindest regards,

Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tastefully decorated apartment in perfect location.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stayed at Glenalva Cottage with my two teenage granddaughters for a long weekend. We received a warm friendly welcome from the owner. The apartment had charm,was spotless, comfortable and tastefully decorated.
It is in a perfect location for touring central Scotland. You could easily stay here without a car as there is an excellent public transport system. There are also many good restaurants in Bridge of Allan that are only a few minutes walk from the apartment. We went to the Westerton for a meal while we were there which was very good - see my separate review.
I would have no hesitation in booking the apartment again when I am in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, comfort and friendly welcome.
Liked least: Shutting all the gates for the neighbours dog but that is very tongue in cheek!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing