We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, atmosphere and food.”
Review of The Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cross Keys
Ranked #2 of 2 Kippen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great pub, atmosphere and food.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Just had a great night in The Cross Keys. Atmosphere was buzzy and perfect for a Friday night. Food great quality, fresh and original but had the classics as well. Short but well chosen wine list. Fantastic local to have on your doorstep.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    40
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
74
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
aberfoyle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

2nd time at the keys.far better than last time.good atmosphere .great pint of erdinger food nae bad as well.and not that expensive. give it a try

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinAberfoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We booked the double room at the Cross keys for my partner's birthday. It was compact but clean. There was no wardrobe to hang up our clothes so we used the hooks on the back of the door. We had our evening meal in the bar area and the menu looked appetising and we made our choice of a crab starter followed by the salmon only to be told that they were not on the menu! It would have been better customer service if the waitress had told us before we made our choices. Our alternative choice of peppered steak and pork were tasty. The breakfast in the morning was very good and extensive. Overall we had hoped for a better experience

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesS232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Faultless service , food , and everything else . We arrived as a party of five on 29 March 2012 whilst driving past and hungry .

I cannot think of any comment to make except that everything was perfect .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlandstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Booked a Valentine's day dinner and asked for a table next to one of the log fires. We were duly seated by a roaring fire. The food was of a high quality and the atmosphere very homely. Despite the final bill being on the expensive side I would dine here again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just-me-myself-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Went out to Cross Keys to treat my Partner for Valentines day Lunch , we opted for Mussels in a mild curry sauce ......hmmm i would have the sauce as a soup it was delicious, Also had Beetroot with Feta Cheese and Walnuts on toast , Main course was Seafood Liguine ,cooked to perfection , my partner had Chicken Breast with Glaze and Noodles ,again Flavours etc couldn't fault it , service with a smile, a real fire too adds to the ambiance ,Would we go back .....Yes ,Looking forward to it , It's great to find somewhere that's not just Scampi and chips , Steak Pie ....lol

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank obankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Just had an overnight stay at the Cross Keys. We stayed in the larger twin with en suite bathroom which was fine for an overnight stay - cleanliness was up to standard and the beds comfortable - shower/bathroom was very nicely done out. Only drawback for a longer stay would be the lack of wardrobe but for an overnight stay it was no problem and some tea/coffee making capability in the room would have been nice.
The bar was excellent - good ales, friendly atmosphere and very attentive service. I especially loved the real fires. Although we only had a snack to eat - that was excellent and so was the breakfast and judging by the number of people dining, it benefits from a good reputation for its food.
I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kippen
15.2 km away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
506 reviews
18.8 km away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
17.3 km away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
407 reviews
15.6 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
536 reviews
0.1 km away
The Inn at Kippen
The Inn at Kippen
#1 of 2 in Kippen
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Property: The Cross Keys
Address: Main Street, Kippen FK8 3DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Kippen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kippen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is a traditional and comfortable Inn nestled in the village of Kippen between the Loch lomond and trossachs national park and the ancient city of Stirling, Scotland. There are three contemporary en suite rooms with heated floors, excellent beds and fresh white linen. The pub has log fires in winter and the beer garden has great view in the summer. Food at the Cross Keys is traditional modern with standards and specials side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Keys Hotel Kippen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing