We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday lunch in great surroundings”
Review of The Old Kiln Cafe

The Old Kiln Cafe
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Port Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed April 30, 2018

Old Kiln café was our first meal on Islay and it was a great experience overall. We enjoyed great food - soups, fish and sandwiches - topped with a few drams of whiskey and rounded off with ice cream and an amazing raspberry cheesecake. Great meal and great service.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexisGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 395 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2018

Had lunch here twice during our week on Islay, also had a tour of the distillery. Gets very busy so be prepared to wait.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Limar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018

We visited on Saturday in the midst of lunch, it was full but the nice staff quickly arranged a table. We ate the salmon plate and fish pie and drank Islay ale. Very nice and nice. Too bad you could not sit outside and eat. But we had nice inside too. Of course we enjoyed a couple of good drams.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank bosselasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

We normally visit a couple of times over our 2 week visit to the Island, I found my steak pie & veg to be dry and more like a school diner than a restaurant meal. We didn't visit again, Maybe next year.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

Very nice place to have lunch. The food is very good, the people serving very nice and the distillery is well located. Very good whisky too.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank germainguerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Kiln Cafe also viewed

 
Port Charlotte, Islay
Port Charlotte, Islay
 

Been to The Old Kiln Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing