We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Ellen, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
06GoMango
Near Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“AMAZING place to stay.”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife, our son and myself stayed at the Puffin Cottage for a couple of nights a couple of weeks ago, but next time we need to stay for at least a full week. Yes, next time we return to Scotland we will be heading back to Islay, and hopefully this fantastic cottage will be available for us to book again. The cottage has everything you'll need for a nice enjoyable stay. The kitchen has all the dishes etc you can ask for. The bedrooms are well laid out, and comfy. A short walk around the corner and you have a grocery store and a couple of hotels/bars if you want an evening out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean and comfortable the cottage was.
Liked least: ...that we didn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Hi and thank you so much for the lovely review. Of course you and your family will always be welcome back at Puffin Cottage if you come back again to Islay. It is a magical island and we love to show it off and entice our visitors back time and again. Hope you have a safe journey home and once again thank you for choosing to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morag B
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Such a great cottage,was equipped with everything one need and more.. Even our dogs were made welcome .
I would highly recommend this cottage,in a good location for getting about.
Will certainly be back.
Many Thanks to the owners of this property who do a fab job.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so please that your family, including the dogs, felt at home in Puffin Cottage. It really is the ideal place for families, so close to the sea and amenities but the road to the rest of the island is just around the corner. Both my daughter and I enjoyed growing up in this lovely friendly community with its breathtaking scenery. Please come again and be made welcome once more. As they say in Scotland, "arrive as strangers and leave as friends"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 days stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great Cottage, very clean, calm Location, everything you Need (and dont really Need) to enjoy your stay at Islay! Very responsive owner who supports very kindly upfront and during the stay. Will certainly come back!!

Matthias Bahr

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank for your great review and it was a real pleasure chatting online about you upcoming stay and I'm so glad you found everything you needed (and didn't need!) during your holiday. Hopefully you will come back again soon and be able to stay longer next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Very clean
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
I am so pleased we were able to make your stay a truly enjoyable experience, thank you so much for your lovely review and you will be made very welcome if you ever return to us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 May 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am so pleased that your stay in Islay was made more enjoyable with us. We are a team and we are very happy when our efforts on your behalf are appreciated by our guests. Please come back again to Islay and a very warm welcome at Puffin Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bogman52
bogman
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Cottage in Islay.”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my father and brother on a recent Distilleries trip. Great cottage. Nice and modern interior, well heated with everything you need. And spotlessly clean. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you and we hope that you'll come back and stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at Puffin Cottage with friends for a long weekend. Cottage was clean and welcoming. We all felt it was good value for money. Great location in Port Ellen. Handy for the pubs/restaurants. Two minutes from the port and beach. Great communication from the owner who was very friendly and willing to help with any questions. We were all very pleased with our choice of accommodation and would thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review, this is our first season and we hope our guests will continue to come back to us, constructive comments are always welcome as we strive to be even better. Please do come back again, you'll always be assured of a warm welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing