We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best place I have ever stayed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eranca cottage

summer relaxing at Eranca
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
summer relaxing at Eranca
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
summer relaxing at Eranca
great place to see the otters
views as you sit on the decking at the cottage
view from outside the cottage
Fully fitted kitchen
Dining area
Hallway
Luxury bathroom
luxury bedroom
time to relax
Dalmore beach,only 7 miles from the cottage
views of sleeping beauty from the Eranca cottage
sitting on the decking enjoying this spectacular view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Breasclete, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
MaxRayner...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place I have ever stayed”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Eranca was simply the best holiday rental I have ever used. The standard of the furnishings and fixtures is outstanding and the cleanliness of the cottage when we arrived was very impressive. The cottage has spectacular views that are constantly changing with the light and weather conditions and the whole of Harris and Lewis is an easy drive away. My wife and I loved walking in the day to come home and chill out in front of the massive TV on the comfy sofa. Aggie and Angus dropped in to see us on our last night there having been on their own holiday and were very friendly and welcoming. I will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The spectacular location of the cottage and quality of the fixtures and furnishings
Liked least: The knives in the kitchen!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry D
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday in a fantastic part of Scotland.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Eranca is a brilliant holiday cottage with everything you could ask for, and so much more.
The owners, Angus and Aggie are excellent hosts. The welcome is genuine and they really could not do more for you.
Everything is of the best standard and so much thought has gone into what is needed. All cleaning materials., toiletries tea, coffee, fresh flowers, medical kit...... The list goes on and on.
Lewis and Harris have some of the best beaches in the world and we were lucky enough to see them at their best, in glorious sunshine. Luskentyre is truly breathtaking.
This is a paradise for game and sea anglers and Angus was only to pleased to arrange some fishing and suggest places to try.
We will be back to this heaven on earth, very soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewN64...
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, lovely owners”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Warm and friendly welcome from Aggie and Angus (those lovely cakes!), beautifully fitted cottage (fantastic shower), comfortable bed and a location a few yards from Loch Roag.

This is an excellent location from which to visit all that Lewis and Harris have to offer. We can particularly recommend the iron age cottage at Bosta on Great Bernera - we experienced a peat fire in the middle of the room and a marvellous commentary from the lady there.

Beaches to die for. The west coast of Harris is well known for its beaches - not just Luskentyre but the others too. However Lewis has its fair share of white sands and turquoise seas. Just north is the surfing beach of Dalmore and to the west is the beautiful Uig peninsula with the huge Uig sands and more lovely beaches at Valtos. And we saw an eagle from the car on the remote road south of Uig.

There's lots more to see - the broch just up the road at Carloway and the black house village and the Arnol black house (occupied until 1966). And don't miss the Butt of Lewis lighthouse surrounded by sea cliffs and waves and wind.

And we enjoyed an evening meal at the friendly Loch Roag guesthouse.

It was a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRous
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eranca was the highlight of my honeymoon”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Angus and Aggie were amazing hosts...from the personalized champagne flutes to the amazing selection of cakes left for us on arrival, we felt so welcomed. The cottage was quiet, the appliances were top of the line, the whirlpool tub was incredible, the bed was cozy...it was perfect. It is central to most of the tourist attractions on Lewis (very short drives away from the standing stones, the Carloway Broch, and the blackhouses), and only an hour away from the white sand beaches of Harris...but really, we also just enjoyed lounging at the cottage after we'd seen all the sights!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tub and the big screen TV!
Liked least: No hangers or space to hang up clothes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and location”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Angus and Aggie were the perfect hosts - greeted on arrival and presented with a delicious selection of cakes.
The location is great - peaceful and serene overlooking Loch Roag with a patio complete with deck chairs to sit and admire the view. We even watched three otters at play one evening in the loch.
This detached one bedroom cottage is fitted to the highest standard and is perfect for a base to tour the Isles of Lewis and Harris.
We really appreciated relaxing in the whirlpool bath after the long walks during the day.
Great WiFi connection and the 50 inch TV is cool too.
I would thoroughly recommend this cottage and would return in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, luxury fittings and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flory44
Stbalbans
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are so grateful for finding this cottage and having the privelidge of meeting aggy and Angus the owners of Eranca Cottage.from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay we felt so welcome. The cottage is beautiful and so well equipted. A real home from home. The cakes on arrival were such a lovely surprise and were delicious. The sky tv and the excellent wifi were brilliant.
The location was perfect for discovering everything the isle of lewis and Harris have to offer with some of the most stunning beaches we have ever seen. One of our highlights was watching the otters play in the loch at the bottom of the garden. We can definately recommend the loch roag guest house just up the road for an evening meal. Good homemade food and a very reasonable price. Just speak to aggy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The holiday coming to an end
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan456
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean and modern, well equipped cottage with a great view.”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We can't recommend Eranca cottage enough. It's perfectly situated on a loch, a stones throw for the Callanish standing stones, 20 mins from Stornoway. The nearby hotel (5 mins drive) serves good food.

The living room/kitchen area is very comfortable, the French doors allow you to relax on the sofa while enjoying the view over the loch, the bathroom has great shower and bath.

The owners are very friendly and helpful (sorry for the late review!). The cakes on arrival were a great touch.

This is a perfect cottage for a couple.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing