We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eranca cottage

summer relaxing at Eranca
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
summer relaxing at Eranca
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
summer relaxing at Eranca
great place to see the otters
views as you sit on the decking at the cottage
view from outside the cottage
Fully fitted kitchen
Dining area
Hallway
Luxury bathroom
luxury bedroom
time to relax
Dalmore beach,only 7 miles from the cottage
views of sleeping beauty from the Eranca cottage
sitting on the decking enjoying this spectacular view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Breasclete, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
tomboy11
Co Durham
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful ”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 1 week and this is a must do cottage. It has been developed to a very high standard and is exceptionally clean and presentable. Ideal for exploring the Isles of Lewis and Harris. The cottage is very well equipped and is cosy and comfortable. The bathroom is very luxurious and has a jacuzzi bath, which is great following long walks. Aggie and Angus are very welcoming and are extremely helpful and friendly.
Thanks for a great stay. I would advocate that you book early to avoid missing this as a base for exploring as it feels like home from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pond48CHL
Colts Neck, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical place, both peaceful and stimulating”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage is cozy,charming,and fully equipped with modern appliances. Located short driving distance from amazing historic and natural sites, like the Calanais stones. Perhaps best feature of rental are hosts Aggie and Angus who treat you like family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A warm welcome,and very comfortable stay in a great location.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We received a very warm welcome from Angus and Aggie on our arrival. We were greeted by a table beautifully set out with the most delicious array of cakes, scones, homemade jam and chocolates. Our accommodation was first class with all the facilities we could want and more. Angus and Aggie have made a lovely home from home for all of their guests and Alan and I could not recommend it highly enough. If you plan to stay in Lewis look them up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Could not pick one thing over another. Everything was first class.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle...
Leognan, France
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at Eranca. The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful. The cottage is new and modern, very beautifully decorated with very modern appliances. The bathroom is out of this world. Eranca is parfectly situated to explore Lewis, close to the historical sites and beautiful beaches. We are very happy with our choice and were very sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRayner...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place I have ever stayed”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Eranca was simply the best holiday rental I have ever used. The standard of the furnishings and fixtures is outstanding and the cleanliness of the cottage when we arrived was very impressive. The cottage has spectacular views that are constantly changing with the light and weather conditions and the whole of Harris and Lewis is an easy drive away. My wife and I loved walking in the day to come home and chill out in front of the massive TV on the comfy sofa. Aggie and Angus dropped in to see us on our last night there having been on their own holiday and were very friendly and welcoming. I will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The spectacular location of the cottage and quality of the fixtures and furnishings
Liked least: The knives in the kitchen!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry D
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday in a fantastic part of Scotland.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Eranca is a brilliant holiday cottage with everything you could ask for, and so much more.
The owners, Angus and Aggie are excellent hosts. The welcome is genuine and they really could not do more for you.
Everything is of the best standard and so much thought has gone into what is needed. All cleaning materials., toiletries tea, coffee, fresh flowers, medical kit...... The list goes on and on.
Lewis and Harris have some of the best beaches in the world and we were lucky enough to see them at their best, in glorious sunshine. Luskentyre is truly breathtaking.
This is a paradise for game and sea anglers and Angus was only to pleased to arrange some fishing and suggest places to try.
We will be back to this heaven on earth, very soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewN64...
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, lovely owners”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Warm and friendly welcome from Aggie and Angus (those lovely cakes!), beautifully fitted cottage (fantastic shower), comfortable bed and a location a few yards from Loch Roag.

This is an excellent location from which to visit all that Lewis and Harris have to offer. We can particularly recommend the iron age cottage at Bosta on Great Bernera - we experienced a peat fire in the middle of the room and a marvellous commentary from the lady there.

Beaches to die for. The west coast of Harris is well known for its beaches - not just Luskentyre but the others too. However Lewis has its fair share of white sands and turquoise seas. Just north is the surfing beach of Dalmore and to the west is the beautiful Uig peninsula with the huge Uig sands and more lovely beaches at Valtos. And we saw an eagle from the car on the remote road south of Uig.

There's lots more to see - the broch just up the road at Carloway and the black house village and the Arnol black house (occupied until 1966). And don't miss the Butt of Lewis lighthouse surrounded by sea cliffs and waves and wind.

And we enjoyed an evening meal at the friendly Loch Roag guesthouse.

It was a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing