We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern luxury in a gorgeous cottage”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
fruit_loo...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Modern luxury in a gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at An Taigh Clach. the homemade scones and pancakes waiting for us were a lovely touch - made us feel very welcome and right at home. Lovely open plan kitchen and living room area with peat burning fire and panoramic views of the surrounding countryside - beautiful when sun is setting. Would defiantly stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msw3569
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“absolutely PERFECT in EVERY aspect!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How good is the cottage and hospitality of Val & Calum?.... well, within 2 days of arriving at the cottage we had rebooked for late August 2013 and also June 2014, it really is THAT good!!!

Having visited Lewis since 2002, we need look no further for the perfect self catering property

You quite simply feel ‘at home’ as soon as you arrive, the attention to detail throughout the cottage is first class!

Everything you need for an idyllic break in a special part of our country is at hand and the location of An Taigh Clach in Carloway is perfectly placed on the island… close to the world famous Callanish Stones and Carloway Broch heritage sites, only 30 minutes from Stornoway with the rugged landscapes of The Port of Ness and Butt of Lewis a short drive to the north and the spectacular white sands of Uig and Great Bernera to the south

Have posted some photos of our amazing break at the perfect island retreat…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Val's home baking - worthy of an award in it's own right!
Liked least: leaving...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill s
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beyond all our expectations,highly recommended.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The cottage is well appointed to a very high specification in a wonderful location.Although listed as 4* if you arrive with 5* expectations you will not be disappointed.The welcome pack which includes Lamb,2 bottles of wine,a dram or two of malt whiskey,and not forgetting the home made cakes is very generous.On arrival with the Peat fire lit and the kettle on it all makes for a wonderful welcome.A barbeque is also provided along with charcoal for those warm and sunny evenings.The separate drying room was very useful for storing your outdoor gear,wellies boots etc.Carloway surrounded by active working crofts is an ideal location from which to explore the island.A tour of Harris via the coast road is a must,as are a visit to the standing stones of Callanish (best at sunset).We would have no hesitation to recommend An Taigh Clach for a wonderful stay and warm welcome.
Bill & Cilla.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warm welcome and attention from the owners.
Liked least: no adverse comments.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PylonPete
Yantai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best there is”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We have stayed in many properties over the years, but we have never experienced the sincere desire to please and attention to detail given by the MacDonalds. Absolutely everything you need is provided, including lamb in the freezer and wine to get you started! We took an inflatable dingy for fishing and visiting the islands. There is an excellent slipway and secure place to leave a boat just a mile away.The drying room was superb for our wetsuits and stuff, they should make more of this in their adverts. There is even a hose on a reel that will reach the car park for washing stuff, or into the field to wash off sand, so it doesn't make a mess.The peat stove was wonderful. I had some work to do whilst i was there whilst the others enjoyed themselves. Sitting in the lounge with the windows all round and the fantastic view made it an idyllic place to work. This must be the best property to rent on Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Genuine care by owners who did everything in great detail to ensure our stay was perfect.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas s
penicuik
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort and tranquility a perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at An Taigh Clach and we will return.
We were welcomed by Valerie who had a peat fire burning in the stove, I spied scones, butter, jam and cakes in the kitchen. Valerie made us feel so welcome,It was like coming home. The accommodation is all to the highest standard, with safe parking for the car.
As with our previous visit we had a very happy and relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery and the peace.
Liked least: Leaving An Taigh Clach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is our 3rd visit and we expect to have many more. The house is just idyllic and the hospitality of the owners is second to none.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanis
Inverness
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A well equipped home from home, friendly hosts that make your stay extra special.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We booked this self-catering cottage based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The cottage is easy to find as the photos are exactly how it looks. The owners were more than helpful and gave accurate directions before we even arrived. We found it ideal for travelling around the island.
I have been to other self catering houses and took more than required, there was everything we needed and more. The kitchen is particularly well equipped, a good selection of topical books, a photographic history of the renovation of the property is particularly interesting and you appreciate the property and the work carried out by Callum and his family even more. Free Wi-fi was great too.
A very warm and friendly welcome was given and very quickly we felt like we were visiting friends. Personal touches like home baking, a lit fire, decanter of whisky and wine made all the difference. Dvds for the kids and outdoor games kept our young children amused. There was plenty of space for them to play with their Lego and cars in the living area. The boys enjoyed their visit to see the newly born lambs and calf at Valerie and Callum's croft. We took a travel cot which sat in the living room and our youngest slept better than he has ever done at home!
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will definitely come back to this lovely place. We enjoyed getting to know our hosts and have made new friends. If you like to stay in surroundings that are warm, comfortable and have stunning views then this is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing