We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful location, fabulous house and impecable...”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Frontal view of 'An Taigh Clach'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Frontal view of 'An Taigh Clach'
Utility shed + wood and peat bunkers on a summer scorcher
'An Taigh Clach' - Aerial view
Living area and breakfast bar
Dining area
Kitchen
Stornoway Black Pudding with hand dived scallops, Stornoway Smokehouse salmon and an imported lemon!
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Shower room
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Dalmore beach - 2 minute drive
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Aberdeen Angus cattle
Croft work in Spring
Silage making in August
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Callanish Standing Stones - 7 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
The_Famil...
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful location, fabulous house and impecable accommodation - all round best holiday experience ever!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From before we arrived we had a hassle free holiday! Booking was simple and directions were accurate. On arrival we were greeted with such a warm welcome we felt at home straight away. Amazing views all round, comfortable/warm interior and everything we could need - and much more with delicious home baking, good wine and whiskey too! The house was a cozy but clean home from home with basic but quality and fresh cooking stuff in the cupboards.
As a base for exploring Lewis and Harris, Carloway couldn't be better - about 45 mins to Uig sands, 30 mins Port of Ness, 30 mins to Stornaway. Although be warned, traveling around takes a lot longer with so many stops visiting the numerous artists galleries and crafts people - who were with out exception welcoming and chatty especially with the children. We strongly recommend a visit to the Blue Pig in Carloway - our children stayed for a craft session and we found excuses to call in every day! Honestly if I was to give a list of recommended stops this review would be an essay!
Briefly, places well worth a visit are The Morven gallery for coffee and cake, 40 North for amazing foodie food, Carloway Broch for being blown off your feet and kids exploring (+ educational tick in the box!), the weaving shed on the main road heading north on the right - wonderful visit for us and kids.
The house is well placed for beaches (buckets and spades were found in the shed).....could go on waxing lyrical all day. Suffice to say we only stayed for one week this time (our first visit) but next time it will be for two! In fact must book it before word really gets out about this place!!
Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Totally exceeded our expectations
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdmanof...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant welcome”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very well presented and maintained property, stocked with all the essentials, as well as all the little things that malke a stay special.
The welcome pack from The Macdonalds was excellent, and their lamb was delicious.
Nothing was too much trouble, despite Val and Calum being busy people, and we were made to feel very welcome all the time we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm Welcome
Liked least: Steps would rule this out for disabled.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMacAs...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing, fivestar comfort, great location, friendly owners and great vlaue”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful holiday on the Isle of Lewis made special by the excellent accommodation and hospitality at Taigh Clach Carloway on the west coast of Lewis. Great accommodation which is in a beautiful location with views to the Atlantic to the West, Harris hills to the south, Carloway village to the east....you will want for nothing here, great library of books, modern but hebridean luxury accommodation. Val is the perfect host who will do everything she can to make your holiday special. Wine and whiskey on arrival with some local lamb to get in you in the mood...along with home baked scones and crab claws delivered to your door as the week goes by. Great location for visits to Uig Sands, Callanish Stones, The Broch,,and a short five minute walk to the old village of Garrinin and Carloway tweed mill. We visited Dail Mor beach most days which is five minutes in the car and had the beach to ourselves every time.. We visited St Kilda which was the highlite of our week, walked the West side coastal walk which starts just down the road at the thatched cottages and is a great coastal walk which takes you to Dail Mor and Dail Beag beaches. So much to see and do on Lewis, however you will find it hard to leave the cosy luxury of Taigh Clach which is five star self catering .... with even endless supply of peat and wood for the wood burning fire.. we have stayed in all sorts of accommodation over the years and would recommend Taigh Clach for a holiday on the Isle of Lewis...hard to beat luxury and a place you will definitely want to come back to !!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury and cosy feel of the cottage
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaArro...
Arroyo Grande
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a couple of seasoned travelers, one of our best vacations ever.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved An Taigh Clach. Valerie McDonald, the proprietor, was warm, welcoming, and totally available, even during her regular workday when we had to interrupt her with an important question. The cottage was truly in a class by itself--a traditional Hebridean stone barn, lovingly and meticulously renovated by Valerie and her husband. There are at least 15 windows in the living room, which allows a constant 180-degree view of the every-changing sky and weather--all watchable from a cozy position by the peat fire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unbelievable views.
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicinix
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Perfect Perfect”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Superb accommodation, beautifully decorated home from home style holiday house. Living and kitchen area were so comfortable, we ate most nights in the home. Kitchen has everything you could want and more. Bedrooms were great, very comfy beds and the bathroom with shower was excellent. Utter peace and quiet (except for the baaing of sheep!!) heaven. Great location, you can see the sea on one side, hills and sheep on the other. Under a 10 min drive to Dail Mor beach where we spent hours as its utter heavenly beautiful. We biked we frisbee'd we visited Seilbost in Harris and up to Tolsta on Lewis, we saw soap being made and watched tweed being woven. We had a tv in the lounge, and took 15 DVDs with us along with 3 teenage girls, the tv was never on and we watched 1 DVD. That's how good the holiday was! Seriously if you want peace and quiet and a laid back easy going holiday surrounded by beauty then book this ! Calum and Val are excellent hosts and we literally couldn't have asked for more ( except maybe the cheese scone recipe!!!) (( they left goodies for our arrival !!!)) 10/10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way Calum and Val have fitted out the home and the support they provided made us feel at home very quickly.
Liked least: Can't think of anything we would change - loved everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fruit_loo...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Modern luxury in a gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at An Taigh Clach. the homemade scones and pancakes waiting for us were a lovely touch - made us feel very welcome and right at home. Lovely open plan kitchen and living room area with peat burning fire and panoramic views of the surrounding countryside - beautiful when sun is setting. Would defiantly stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msw3569
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“absolutely PERFECT in EVERY aspect!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How good is the cottage and hospitality of Val & Calum?.... well, within 2 days of arriving at the cottage we had rebooked for late August 2013 and also June 2014, it really is THAT good!!!

Having visited Lewis since 2002, we need look no further for the perfect self catering property

You quite simply feel ‘at home’ as soon as you arrive, the attention to detail throughout the cottage is first class!

Everything you need for an idyllic break in a special part of our country is at hand and the location of An Taigh Clach in Carloway is perfectly placed on the island… close to the world famous Callanish Stones and Carloway Broch heritage sites, only 30 minutes from Stornoway with the rugged landscapes of The Port of Ness and Butt of Lewis a short drive to the north and the spectacular white sands of Uig and Great Bernera to the south

Have posted some photos of our amazing break at the perfect island retreat…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Val's home baking - worthy of an award in it's own right!
Liked least: leaving...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$182
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing