We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect setting, cosy and hospitable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Room By The Beach

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Smell some Scottish Peat! (for you to light yourself for fun, the room doesn't smell of peat)
A microwave and mini fridge are hidden away in the wardrobe.
Our garden
From our driveway, the beach is a five minute walk.
Natural fresh springs on the beach (when tide is out). Take a drink of the freshest water ever!
the view from the bottom of the croft
our ancestors old black house ruins
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melanie B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting, cosy and hospitable”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The room was lovely, my husband and I really enjoyed our stay. Alison and her family made us feel really welcome.

The house is in a perfect location, far enough out of Stornoway to not be in the town, but close enough that going in for food in the evenings wasn't a hassle.

It was a lovely, peaceful setting for a relaxing holiday - would definitely go back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbells...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Long weekend in Lewis”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our hosts were warm & welcoming and the room was very comfortable and cosy. There were numerous snacks and a bowl of fruit, but the greatest treat was the beautiful Stornoway smoked salmon in the little fridge. We also had use of a very nice living room. The beach is nearby.
Ideal for 2 people; slightly cramped for 3.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxmemxx
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Value”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Me and my other half had a very enjoyable stay here in Tong. Very friendly and accommodating hosts. Nice clean facilities. 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 mins from Stornoway. All round fantastic place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccama...
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Home to stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The room is cosy and the hosts make you feel very welcome! Brilliant location when visiting the island as it's close to town and a 5 minute walk from a beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seumas M
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay! Clean and warm, with lots of snacks. Shared bathroom was not a problem, worth saving that little bit extra you'd spend on a hotel room. House is nicely decorated and close to a secluded beach. I'd highly recommend this room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very friendly , lots of extras”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Very friendly host, unfortunately we're not able to meet properly until third day, lively scotch salmon and other goodies left in room for us
Tv, fridge and microwave provided in room but invited to use rest of the house
Very informal which we liked and would be happy to revisit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a lovely welcoming place. Alison & family are friendly ,generous & enthusiastic. Our bed & room were comfortable, warm & clean. We had access to the kitchen; our own fridge, kettle & stuff. The Isle of Lewis is beautiful & we were able to see all the places we'd planned to. We just didn't have long enough & would love to go back one day. Thankyou.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
It was a pleasure to welcome you. We are so glad you enjoyed the island and hospitality :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing