We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well planned, peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Coll

Front Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Chalet
Outside decking for relaxing & having barbecues Sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Front Chalet
Outside decking for relaxing & having barbecues
Sitting area
Kitchen
Shower room with 'power shower'
Double bedroom
Single bedroom with bunk beds
Play area
Stornoway
Lews Castle in Stornoway
Loch Seaforth - Ullapool to Stornoway
New ferry & old ferry Feb/2015
Typical coast views for Lewis & Harris
West side of Island
Lewis sheep
Driving towards Coll beach
Bernera bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Malcolm M
1 review
“Well planned, peaceful retreat”
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A thoughtfully planned chalet. Spotlessly clean, and the facilities made it very easy to manage, Peaceful and private. Very good value and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private and easily managed
Liked least: No problems whatsoever.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian A
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Chalet”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Chalet Coll is a very comfortable and cosy little chalet. It has been well designed to make best advantage of the space inside. Being in the country, it is very quiet and peaceful and has ample room for parking as well as a play area and decking.
The chalet is well located for exploring Lewis and Harris and is also quite handy (10 mins drive) for Stornoway with its shops and restaurants. The owners were pleasant and helpful. I would definitely come here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings
Liked least: No problem areas
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thanks and grateful for all your comments. Only recently we were aware that we could respond to the comments we got for our chalet coll. We do appreciate all the nice responses we got from all these lovely people from all over the world. We have met so many lovely people from all over the world last summer, from next door English to our Scottish, French, Spain, Germans, Australians and people from as far away as the east and they all loved being here on their vocation visiting our Islands. All of these nice visitors gave us a lovely sense of security, We hope we will have the privilege of meeting all of these kinds of people next year and in the further future. Thanks for your review Gillian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire95x...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chalet Coll”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

me and my boyfriend visited stornoway and stayed in chalet coll, it is the perfect base we were out most days travelling the island but it was the warm comfort zone we needed to come back to at the end of a tiring day!

my boyfriend is local to stornoway and lived in keose glebe, prior to us booking a trip together he didn't know chalet coll was around, more people should hear/know about chalet coll as it is the perfect getaway with two beautiful beaches right on your doorstep and not too far from the town centre petrol station and other amenities.

the property owners couldn't have been more helpful...

the chalet was clean tidy, free wifi & tv and central heating.
really couldn't fault a single thing.

we will be coming back again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
505freema...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Chalet Coll. such a great find for us. This is a beautiful, compact and bijou chalet! I travelled with my wife and mother and we all loved our stay here. Great location and so peaceful and tranquil. We had great sleeps. Top marks to the owners. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything , loved the chalet!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig A
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely stay at Chalet Coll, very cosy and comfortable. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived, everything we could need for a trip away. Very clean and felt nice and homely. We even had milk and lovely biscuits waiting for us on arrival, which was very much appreciated. Would recommend staying here. We would definitely like to return on our next trip to explore the beautiful island of Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chalet is very clean.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69kenm
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good base”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The chalet is about 15 minutes outside Stornoway. It makes a good base for exploring Lewis while staying close to the main town. If you get the weather Coll Beach is fabulous and 10 minutes walk.
The chalet itself is quite small but very well done. I was there on my own but it would suit a couple. It's clean, comfortable and well equipped. Wifi was variable but I think that's an area rather than a chalet problem and may be fixed later this year.
The owners are kind, welcoming and helpful, as well as very tolerant of guests with no sense of direction.
I would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenncan
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well planned and compact little chalet.”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Chalet Col is a very compact but expertly planned little chalet. Comfortable and warm, Iain and Ishbel have thought it all out very carefully and the furnishings and equipment are excellent, very well co-ordinated and all in all providing a splendid little holiday home. The three of us (my wife, myself and our daughter) were comfortably accommodated in the double and single bedrooms. There is a 'put-u-up single bed in the lounge area too which we did not need to use. Chalet Coll is situated in a quiet little crofting village, peaceful and just off of the beaten track yet just 15 minutes from Stornaway (airport and ferry as well as a very good range of shops and supermarkets) We found it to be an absolutely excellent base for touring the greater part of Lewis, most of which is within an hour's drive. Southern Lewis and Harris is a little further but still within a reasonable journey time. The beaches are superb - some within just a few minutes drive or a comfortable walk and half an hour's drive takes you over to the spectacular Atlantic surf on the western side of the Island.
iain and Ishbel are most hospitable and welcoming hosts and we could not recommend Chalet Coll more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness and hospitality of the owners
Liked least: Only having a few days available to enjoy such a lovely place.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing