We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect self-catering accommodation on Mull”
other travellers have booked this property
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous Royal Buildings in Tobermory.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous Royal Buildings in Tobermory.
Location below Western Isles Hotel. Kitchen and dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Back Brae Lodge location behind the famous Royal Buildings in Tobermory.
Location below Western Isles Hotel.
Kitchen and dining area.
Living area.
Living area with partition closed.
Dining and living area.
Double sofabed closed.
Double sofabed open.
Upper entrance.
Some local Tobermory products.
Main bedroom.
Main bedroom with sink.
Main bedroom with full length mirror.
Bedroom
Time for a nap.
Upper stairway.
Lower stairway.
Bathroom with shower and bath.
Lobby and drying room.
Decking by rock face.
Entrances to Back Brae Lodge
Main Street, Tobermory
Elvis the otter.
White tailed sea eagle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Niall j
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect self-catering accommodation on Mull”
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Everything at Backbrae Lodge was great - it was warm, clean, well-finished and found the folders and books about walks etc. in the local area really useful. It's in a great location in Tobermory for access to the local shops, restaurants and bars. If you're looking to visit Mull then I'd definitely recommend Backbrae Lodge as the perfect self-catering option!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Thanks for your review Niall, glad you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“... is what is says on the box !”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We went to the Isle of Mull for Christmas & found Back Brae Lodge to be a perfect base - very thoughtfully laid out & well equipped with everything from indoor drying & boot racks to shelves full of books, dvds, games etc. Whilst it doesn't have a view, it is less than 50M away, handy for the shops & more importantly the pub. The whole process from booking to leaving was handled very professionally. Would have no hesitation recommending !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the living rooms
Liked least: Lack of hot water for a good bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Thanks very much for your review Jenny, glad you enjoyed your Christmas stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry G
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautifully clean well kept and well equipped cottage , including plenty of books games etc to do if the weather is poor .it is situated right in the centre of Tobermory close to shops restaurants etc ,but very quiet I Highly recommended this accommodation ,booking was easy the description is very accurate we will defenitely return . But not for those with mobility issues as step to entrance .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing all great
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay at Back Brae Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
217Jane
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is situated behind the "red house" and had everything we required including some heating as it was unseasonably cold and wet during our week. The kitchen is well equipped and there was a lovely welcome pack of local goodies including soaps, whiskey miniatures and biscuits. The location was perfect although there is not a sea view from the property, but less than 20 seconds walk away is the sea and famous street. It was great to be able to walk to the local shops within a few minutes and we found the bakery and Co Op had everything we required. There are some great places to eat including the Fish and Chip van, Macgochans and Hebridean Lodge on the outskirts of the town.. We also had a great meal at Glengorm Coffee Shop. We took a day boat trip to Treshnish Isles and Staffa where we saw hundreds of Puffins and some other sea birds as well as Fingal'sCave. A fabulous day out. We also went to Iona where the sun came out and we saw Corncrakes. Other favourites were Calgary Bay and most parts of the coastline. A fabulous holiday in spite of the weather and we hope to return to Mull again and if we decide to re visit Tobermory we would be happy to book Back Brae Lodge

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No sea view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thanks, glad you enjoyed your holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
“Outstanding.”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Back Brae Lodge is set off Main Street in Tobermory. It is peaceful but still close to amenities including shops, bank, restaurants and cafe. Although, there is no designated parking, we had no problem parking on the street during the week of our stay in July.

We found the accommodation itself clean, comfortable and exactly as described. There are DVDs, books and board games for rainy days and a wealth of helpful information on local walks and trips to Iona, and Staffa. There is a charming and secluded decking area which is perfect for enjoying a glass of wine.

On arrival we received two small sample bottles of whisky which of course made us want to visit the Tobermory Distillery. A lovely touch.

Would highly recommend staying at Back Brae Lodge for couples or a young family of three or four.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKS994
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great accomodation in perfect location with really helpful owner”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in Back Brae Lodge for just short of a week. We arrived a day later than planned because of the Calmac ferry strike. The owner, Kenny, very helpfully emailed and warned us about the imminent strike, which wasn't covered in the English media at all until it was actually happening. That meant we could sort out alternative ferry times and overnight accomodation in Oban ahead of the rush/ allocation by Calmac. He was very accessible throughout, responding promptly to emails. We loved the space in the apartment, especially downstairs where there is lots of space for getting in and out of walking boots and gear and to hang and dry stuff as well as a tumble drier. The apartment is really set up for a couple, as the web site suggests. It is literally round the corner from a great pub, The Mishnish, and handy for lots of great eating places including Cafe Fish. We also appreciated the wifi and satellite channels on the TV. Parking is not on site but was never a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Thanks for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosemary9...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from a week here and cannot praise the accommodation highly enough. Friendly, helpful owner made the booking process easy and was kind enough to return the clothing I stupidly left behind.

The property is in a prime spot, just off the harbour in one of Scotland's most well recognised locations. We had no trouble parking and had shops, restaurants and a bank within a minute of the door. Despite that, the house was very quiet and relaxing. The living space upstairs us bright and spacious with a very well equipped kitchen area, comfy seating and TV and WiFi.
Downstairs is a large bedroom and bathroom and a really useful large hallway for outdoor gear. Everything was absolutely spotless and the malt whiskers and biscuits were a nice welcoming touch.
Tobermory us a great place to stay with lots to do and masses of activities within easy reach in other parts of Mull. I would not hesitate to stay at Back Brae Lodge again and thouroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything's! Location and comfiort.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
Glad you enjoyed your holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing