We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“" Blacksmiths Cottage ", Tobermory. Fantastic.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Lounge
Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paul h
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" Blacksmiths Cottage ", Tobermory. Fantastic.”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Went to " Blacksmiths Cottage ", Tobermory first week in September.
Can sum it up in two words,,,,,

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC.

The standard of the accommodation was fantastic and the views from the garden were breath taking. Everything about the property was spot on. Especially liked getting the log burner roaring at night in the lovely, cozy living room. Underfloor heating in the downstairs bathroom was lovely. FreeSat television in each of the two bedrooms. Both of which were so cozy and the two on-suites bathrooms were fantastic. Also massive kitchen and dining room.

Ten minutes walk down the hill into town. Quite a bit longer than that coming back up because its quite steep. Especially when your full of fish and chips from the harbour. However, there are a couple of benches on the way back up to stop and catch your breath

If you do come then make sure you have a ride to " Calgary Bay " which is exactly eleven miles away on a single track road. Very winding but loads of passing places and brilliant views on the way for photos. Anyway, its definitely worth the drive because " Calgary Bay " is absolutely breath taking. Looked at some pictures of it on the net before going and they don't do it justice in real life.

Also, make sure you go to " Café Fish " in the harbour. If your going at night then you will definitely have to book the day before. If you go at lunch, then get there before 13:00 because it gets really busy. Believe me though its worth it. The best fish we have ever had.

Anyway, if your looking for a complete Chill Out, Feet Up, Relax for a week then don't hesitate to go to " Blacksmiths Cottage ".
This is a proper getaway from it all, chill out cottage with the convenience of Tobermory on your doorstep.

Thanks to Hylda and John for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the accomodation
Liked least: Cant think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2018
We're so delighted to hear that you had an "absolutely fantastic" holiday in Blacksmith's - it certainly is the place to relax. Calgary Bay is definitely "worth the drive" indeed. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef M
Wilen, Switzerland
1 review
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the cottage. The warm welcoming by Hylda let us feel like beeing at home. The house was very comfortable and we have had enough space for us 3. The bedrooms, en-suite, are large and well furnished. Both the kitchen with dining room and the living room were very cosy and large. There are 3 TV's, a dishwasher, a washing machine and WLAN. The cottage is surrounded by grasland and very quiet. We were welcomed by a sand couloured horse and every morning the rabits ran along the meadows.
Probably not my last stay in this accomodation on the beautiful Isle of Mull.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2018
Thank you so much for your review of Blacksmiths Cottage - we're always delighted to hear that our guests have had a comfortable stay and are likely to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleofs...
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We actually won a 3 night stay in a Facebook competition(like and share). Everything about this cottage is wonderful. Spotless,stunning views, v comfortably furnished. Sooo quiet and just a 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk to Tobermory . Had a fabulously relaxing break. V warm welcome from Hylda ,and icing on cake, a bottle of wine and lovely mull biscuits on arrival. We will absolutely be back,and v happy to pay next time!!Highly recommend both the cottage and the island :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2018
We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the island and the cottage - we hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_C_Gl...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent well equipped comfortable 4* holiday property”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in Blacksmiths Cottage in Tobermory 3 times, the house is very spacious, and comfortable, both bedrooms are ensuite and have colour tvs. The lounge, kitchen and dining room and extra ground floor bathroom are modern with oak flooring and slate tiles. The log burner created a cosy atmosphere in the evenings although the house had more than adequate central heating. Blacksmiths had Sky tv and wifi too. Private parking and open countryside all around made for a peaceful holiday and it only took 10 minutes to walk to the seafront and shops in Tobermory. We will be booking again for May 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the comfort and the modern facilities.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2018
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Blacksmiths Cottage - we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing