We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble. A++++”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Guest House
Ranked #1 of 27 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here july 2011 when we sailed to Tobermory with work. the Hotel is in a fantastic location and was had very reasonable rates, the breakfast was tip top and the owners could not do enough to make the stay perfect. Highly reccomended. Happy days !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

We were very pleased we picked this B&B as what's not evident from Google Earth et al is the steepness of the slope from the harbour (and the pubs and restaurants) up to the main part of town where a lot of the B&Bs are. So we had a short gentle amble back to the B&B after a night out rather than a strenuous uphill climb to face. There was also plenty of free parking on the road outside the B&B. One poster had complained that the locals weren't very friendly but everyone we met was most pleasant and helpful.

Some previous posters have commented on the small room sizes but we had a lovely big room (9) on the top floor with great views over the harbour. The bathroom wasn't en-suite but as we were given exclusive use of it (and the floor we were on as guests) for the time we were there, this wasn't a problem.

Breakfasts were of good quality and plentiful. And if you're lucky (unlike us) nab a seat in front of the window so can watch the birds feeding from the bird table directly outside. You had choose what you wanted to eat and what time you wanted breakfast the night before which was sometimes a little tricky when you're on holiday and aren't always working to a tight schedule. But if you need to set off early in the morning the B&B will leave you a breakfast tray the night beforehand. Quite a bit of thought had been put into this – milk in a flask for your cereal, a croissant wrapped in cling film, fruit, cartons of juice and breakfast bars.

If we're ever back in Tobermory we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 9.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuscanHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Harbour Guest House and what a good choice we made. The Guest House is ideally situated right on the sea front at the colourful and characterful little town of Tobermory. There's plenty of free parking on the street outside or in the car park opposite. We had a large, comfortable room - perhaps not up to the minute decor but very homely and spacious. We were well satisfied. Breakfast was excellent in a room overlooking several bird feeders - a nice touch. Our hostess gave us a warm welcome and provided us with information about the town. On her recommendation we had one meal in the local pub, the Macdonald Arms - without a doubt the best value meal we had on our entire trip. Tobermory is an ideal place to stay - quiet but plenty of amenities (including a nice Coop and a wonderful little Museum). We were touring around the beautiful island of Mull where there is so much to see and do, two nights is not really enough. While Tobermory is on the northern coast of the island and not exactly central, we did things we wanted to on the southern end of the island (visiting Iona and Staffa) when we first arrived on the island and then took the quiet and scenic roads north in the evening to spend two nights in Tobermory arriving in time for fish and chips on the quay. The next day we spent touring and walking around the northern part of the island which has stunning scenery (including the Island of Ulva and Calgary Beach) and some surprises like the memorial in Gruline to Llachlan Macquarrie, an early Governor of New South Wales and a gorgeous waterfall, Eas Fors, by the roadside opposite Ulva. Reluctantly we left Tobermory on our final morning by the stunning ferry route to Kilchoan - very handy to be staying in the town to get in the queue early for the ferry which is not very big. The Harbour Guest House offers a homely, friendly environment but also feels a bit like a small hotel - if you prefer a little more independence. We loved Mull, we loved Tobermory and we loved the Harbour Guest House - we hope one day to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteleysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Finding triple share accommodation in this popular pretty village was not easy so we were pleased to be offered twin + single rooms at Harbour View. The twin room is very small and the bathroom is tiny but wow what a view of the beautiful harbour.
The single room is comfortable and has the sole use of a huge bathroom and separate toilet. What the rooms may lack in decor and size is made up for by the great service, lovely breakfast/sitting room and fantastic breakfasts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieAusssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We were a party of 6 which comprised of a family of four and grandparents. The double room we had was quite small but the large family room was so spacious, there was enough room for all of us to sit in! It does warn you on the web that some of the rooms are small though so were pleasantly surprised our room was on the large side. The welcome to us and our children was so warm. Balamory DVDs were available for us to borrow and the children were happy to watch the birds in the morning as well. Louise was so helpful with advice on eating (not very easy with children in Tobermory) and what to do and she was always very smiley (something we hadn't always come across on our travels round Scotland). All in all, a fantastic find and highly recommended

Room Tip: If you want a large room - ask when booking!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerityMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Stayed for two nights based on Trip Advisor reviews. Hosts were welcoming and went out of their way to make reservations for us for dinner at a busy restaurant. The breakfast was good especially the porridge! The room was comfy but the only problem was nowhere to put luggaage...bit crowded. The price wasn't bad considering everywhere in Tobermory is quite a bit more expensive than the mainland. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed just one night at the Harbour Guest House. The room was small but very nice. The shower was very good. The hosts were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was just fantastic. I would definitely recommend the porridge and the kippers and the smoked haddock - really lovely!
Great location right on the harbour front so easy to walk to the local restaurants and pubs. Would recommend Cafe Fish - superb food and views. But you MUST book if you want to go here - we saw so many people being turned away as it was full.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateandMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.4 km away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
716 reviews
0.1 km away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
421 reviews
27.1 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
130 reviews
0.4 km away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#8 of 27 in Tobermory
354 reviews
7.9 km away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#2 of 10 in Dervaig
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Guest House

Address: 59 Main Street, Tobermory PA75 6NT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tobermory
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Guest House offers bed and breakfast accommodation in one of the most stunning locations in Scotland - Tobermory, on the Hebridean Isle of Mull. Originally a fisherman's cottage, Harbour Guest House is one of the painted buildings situated on the water front at the harbour. We offer a very warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and a hearty breakfast and are very passionate about the wildlife, flora and scenery of the Isle of Mull which we would love to share with you. Guests are welcome to use the relaxing lounge area overlooking the rockery garden and bird feeders and there is free wi-if throughout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Guest House Tobermory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing