We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Colbost, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JimAST
St Andrews
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want peace & quiet with stunning views then look no further than Red Chimneys. An extremely homely and comfortable cottage, it is very well equipped. Underfloor heating keeps the place nice and toasty. There is plenty of wildlife to be seen but you have to keep your eyes peeled. We saw dolphins, whales, an eagle and loads of smaller animals as well as a stag deer. The cottage is remote so be prepared to drive a lot if you go sightseeing and mind the roads, they are very narrow with passing places. Follow the directions on your booking confirmation, you will find the place even if it doesn't seem like it. I certainly recommend this place and a huge bonus is that it is pet friendly. We took our two dogs and they loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: The Travelling to and from
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had a lovely break at Red Chimneys Cottage, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. Seeing all that wildlife sounds fabulous, the dolphins and whales sound like a particular treat! We certainly hope you, and of course your dogs, return to enjoy the place again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazsx4
East Wemyss, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs ”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Red Chimneys. This has to have been one of the best holidays we have had. The cottage is amazing and equipped to a high standard with everything you could ever need. The view has to be the icing on the cake sitting with a cuppa watching the sea, the birds and enjoying the peace makes for that special moment. Cannot recommend it highly enough! Will be back next year for 2 weeks as one isn't enough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moowlisci...
North Linolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Stunning views , cosy comfortable cottage”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Red Chimneys for a week in early April. We'd booked the holiday as an anniversary gift for my parents for their 48th wedding anniversary.
It was an 8 hour drive for us to get there but as soon as we arrived we forgot how tired we were when we saw the views from the cottage.
Looking across loch Dunvegan towards the Claigan coral beach the view never got old.

The cottage is clean and had everything we needed , a couple of tiny little suggestions would be more pegs for hanging washing out (there were only a few ) such a s name not to make the most of the fresh blustery air to dry clothes. And the upstairs bedroom lacked anywhere to hang clothes with the storage being drawers.
These were just minor things thoug and certainly didn't impact our stay.

Amenities are excellent, fridge freezer, dishwasher (we didn't use this) washer, tumble dryer , TV, DVD/ blue ray player , underfloor heating (our dog loved this) and the woodburner upstairs.
The information folder mentioned the log basket would be filled with one lot of logs on arrival and the fire made up ready to light however the basket was empty and fire just full of ash. Fortunately we have a log burner at home so it wasn't a problem and we found logs in the store outside
There's a great supply of books should you be unfortunate enough to have any rainy days (we had amazing weather with the only rain as we left ) and some cd's to listen to.

Beds were comfortable and I slept like a log! Bathrooms were fine with brilliant water pressure for a nice hot shower.
The bathroom downstairs which my parents used (they didn't have the en suite shower room) had a lovely big deep bath too.
The field directly in front of the cottage has two very friendly pigs in and in the next field we were lucky end to see lambs being born.
Plenty of other wildlife to be seen too, we saw a deer at dusk in the pigs field, barn owl, many Hawks and buzzards.

We had a lovely relaxing stay and took the recommendations from previous guests in the guest book and visited the oldest bakery on Skye and Jans cakes both in dunvegan. All I can say is it's just as well we were so active during our stay!

We had a great week and would definitely recommend this lovely quiet cottage with spectacular views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, comfort and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Red Chimneys Cottage, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time there. Those views must have been absolutely spectacular, especially as they made you forget all about your long journey; what a welcome! We certainly hope you will be back to enjoy spotting the wildlife again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetreac...
Dumfries
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Secluded bliss!”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage has to be one of the best holiday cottages I have stayed in...ever!
It has been upgraded to a high standard and made a perfect base for our holiday. The dogs loved the underfloor heating and we loved the wood burner! There was a telescope for watching the abundance of wildlife surrounding the cottage.
The owners had thought of everything and had provided games, books, DVDs for rainy days as well as leaflets about local attractions to visit.
It was the perfect spot for star gazing and we even managed to see the aurora borealis during our trip.
We will be back again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the cottage and it's ambience.
Liked least: not much storage for clothes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvedurham
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Two adults and 3 Siamese cats have had a very relaxing week in the delightful, cosy cottage that is Red Chimneys. We will miss the ever changing views up and down Loch Dunvegan, whereas the Siamese will undoubtedly miss the underfloor heating ! We've had a mixed bag of weather, lots of snow, torrential rain and sunshine, but this hasn't deterred us from going out and about exploring. There are lots of guide books & leaflets in the cottage.
Beware if you arrive in the dark as we did - SatNav guidance runs out about half a mile away from the cottage. Continue along the track and Look out for a sign to Glendale next to a post box (left hand side) the gate is opposite set back from the road (on the right) just after a line of blue and green dustbins.
We used the Fasgadh General Stores in Dunvegan for postcards, provisions we'd forgotten and to replace the logs we used (£4 a bag). The staff were very friendly & helpful and the store is well stocked and inexpensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Not being able to find it in the dark !
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn R
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Arrived at the cottage just as it was going dark so our first impressions included a sensational sunset so we really got the Wow factor. Really lovely & secluded spot away from the towns, but close enough not to feel isolated. We loved the whole place. We have stayed at quite a few rentals over the years & this one stands out because of the attention to detail it has been given. Furnished to a high standard & all the little touches were much appreciated-plenty of towels, all basic kitchen needs, nice soap in the bathrooms & even Christmas decorations. Under floor heating & wood provided for the wood heater meant that even though the weather wasn't great, we were nice & toasty all the time. Highly recommended

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keecloud5...
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A true tranquillity base of quality.”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at quite few rental cottages both in the UK and abroad but this one stands head and shoulders above them all.
Sitting on the fairly steep side of Loch Dunvegan the front of the cottage gives you a panoramic view from the Waternish peninsula on the left across to the Cuillins on the right, with Dunvegan Castle and Macleods table thrown in. With the nearest neighbour out of sight ( and certainly for us out of sound ), and the nearest in view, the very friendly crofter away down the embankment to the right about 100 metres away, there is a real sense of solitude here. That is not to say you are totally out of touch with the World, the nearest shop ( a tiny but very well stocked Post Office) is at Glendale about 3 miles away across the hill behind ,an hours good walk or ten minutes by car,with a great view of the Hebrides from the top of the hill. try the G.I. Wastle multi grain loaf a delight for £1.25.
The cottage itself shines with quality and comfort. You can tell that this is no side line money spinner , but a much loved holiday home used by the owners. No rickety second hand furniture and equipment here, instead, all top quality, from bathrooms to bedding through cutlery to crockery, everything has been chosen with an eye for detail and for quality ( there is that word again) everything is provided even down to matches and a lighter for the wood burner ( our only disappointment , if you can call it that, was that the weather was far too warm to have a cosy night by the fire), you can see the owners personality shining through the décor and ornaments. If you are a frustrated troubadour like me there is a guitar ( and thankfully for me a tuner) hanging on the wall so I could practice my ham fisted 'noodling'.
As I said we were blessed with good weather, and spotted a large pod of Dolphins in the loch ( again two pairs of binoculars on hand helped with the viewing), but even if the weather had been really bad I know that we would have been well sorted at Red Chimneys , with books , games , DVD's and that wood burner to keep us occupied.
A completely relaxing week, in a home from home. Get in soon because I predict this place is going to be the sort people re-book as soon as they get home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing