We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't even walk in the door”
Review of Dunvegan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunvegan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Dunvegan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Very shabby on the outside,looking in didn't look much better(washing machine in doorway and very saggy worn sofa)When we tried to enter got told hotel didn't open until 630pm and to have a drink down stairs in the bar.Decided against it.Nothing like it depicts in the advert.

Room Tip: Check trip advisor first
Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Dunvegan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2016

The review if for the restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. We stopped in for lunch on our way to Dunvegan Castle. I think we were served in the bar as opposed to the actual restaurant which appeared to be across the entrance area. I ordered the soup of the day (lentil) and a sandwich. It took quite a long time to get our food. The sandwich was not bad, just average. The soup was terrible. It was the only time in Scotland that I got soup of this sort that was not blended. The lentils were only about half done so the soup was actually crunchy. Everything (service, upkeep) seemed a somewhat lacking.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

My husband and I popped in here for a meal whilst staying at the excellent Tables Guest House opposite. There were only 2 other couples in the hotel who were waiting for their food to arrive. There were 2 members of staff at the bar, neither of whom seemed particularly interested in taking our drinks order. We got there at 6.45 but were told that they could not take our food order until 7 pm as everything was freshly prepared!! The menu is not exactly extensive and my husband ordered a burger which, whilst edible was pretty mediocre. I ordered the pate with oatcakes which was fine (you cant go wrong with bought in pate and packet oatcakes!) The place has not changed in the past 20 years and just gets more and more of a "run down" look. This hotel with its close proximity to Dunvegan Castle and the seal boat trips could be brilliant but unfortunatley the whole place looks totally unloved. As a child, I remember this as being a really "posh" establishment with very expensive cars parked in the car park. It is in desperate need of new ownership with someone who actually cares about the tourist trade.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We booked dinner here at 7pm on a weekday night- after being told rudely that we must book as the place got busy- by a member of staff who looked horrified to have to show us a menu. When we arrive that evening at around 6:45 the staff basically ignored us and stood around the bar- even though there was only one other table of patrons in the place, We had to ask for a menu and whether drinks were table service. When we then tried to order our food- again by approaching the staff- the waitress walked away from us saying "I'll do it in ten minutes" (at seven rather then ten to) despite dinner being available from six. We asked if we could order drinks, she continued to walk away. Needless to say we left without eating- completely shocked by the absolute rudeness of the staff- we just couldn't believe it! I really hope that the manager reads this, and the other reviews I have seen commenting on service and addresses the problem.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
7  Thank Ellie0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here. The food wasn't terrible - just average, but the service and overall upkeep of the venue was very poor. Plus point was that the food was freshly prepared but the service from the staff was shocking. Not rude. But they acted like they couldn't care less. Food plonked on plate and then left us alone. No asking if we wanted more drinks, or if food was okay or we needed anything else (like a dessert or coffee). We just got up eventually and paid at the bar next door. Not sure what the management are trying to do with his place. All the basics for running a successful venue are sadly lacking and could easily be rectified. The outside of the venue is also very tired with peeling paint, weeds. Outside the stairs down to the celar bar were downright dangerous with broken and missing paving stones. Dunvegan is crying out for a good pub/hotel and this isn't it. Would recommend The Old Schoolhouse Restaurant if looking for something to eat. Unfortunately it was fully booked when we were there.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Thisismyscreenname74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

The staff and food was amazing. We were able to get a reservation for dinner and we were not disappointed!! The food was amazing and the staff was friendly! The manager gave us suggestions of locations to visit and the history of the area!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank travelingJaneDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile


Very unwelcoming looking place and in much need of a makeover. Snooker table felt held together with tape, you not only stick to the carpet when you walk but also to the chairs. However it's the only pub/bar in Dunvegan so not much choice but to try it for yourselves if you've got a good sense of humour.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mumpays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunvegan
56.9 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
23.9 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,069 reviews
10.8 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
385 reviews
46.1 km away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
587 reviews
0.1 km away
The Tables Guest House
The Tables Guest House
#2 of 10 in Dunvegan
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvegan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvegan Hotel

Address: Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunvegan
Price Range: $141 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunvegan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing