We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tide B&B(Dunvegan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Minnie's Rooms(Dunvegan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brae Cottage(Dunvegan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
20
37
30
22
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
37
30
22
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish and chipshotel baran evening mealpuddingwarm welcomethree chimneysalisonloch
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 147 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2016

The review if for the restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. We stopped in for lunch on our way to Dunvegan Castle. I think we were served in the bar as opposed to the actual restaurant which appeared to be across the entrance area. I ordered the soup of the day (lentil) and a sandwich. It took quite a long time to get our food. The sandwich was not bad, just average. The soup was terrible. It was the only time in Scotland that I got soup of this sort that was not blended. The lentils were only about half done so the soup was actually crunchy. Everything (service, upkeep) seemed a somewhat lacking.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2016

My husband and I popped in here for a meal whilst staying at the excellent Tables Guest House opposite. There were only 2 other couples in the hotel who were waiting for their food to arrive. There were 2 members of staff at the bar, neither of whom seemed particularly interested in taking our drinks order. We got there at 6.45 but were told that they could not take our food order until 7 pm as everything was freshly prepared!! The menu is not exactly extensive and my husband ordered a burger which, whilst edible was pretty mediocre. I ordered the pate with oatcakes which was fine (you cant go wrong with bought in pate and packet oatcakes!) The place has not changed in the past 20 years and just gets more and more of a "run down" look. This hotel with its close proximity to Dunvegan Castle and the seal boat trips could be brilliant but unfortunatley the whole place looks totally unloved. As a child, I remember this as being a really "posh" establishment with very expensive cars parked in the car park. It is in desperate need of new ownership with someone who actually cares about the tourist trade.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

We booked dinner here at 7pm on a weekday night- after being told rudely that we must book as the place got busy- by a member of staff who looked horrified to have to show us a menu. When we arrive that evening at around 6:45 the staff basically ignored us and stood around the bar- even though there was only one other table of patrons in the place, We had to ask for a menu and whether drinks were table service. When we then tried to order our food- again by approaching the staff- the waitress walked away from us saying "I'll do it in ten minutes" (at seven rather then ten to) despite dinner being available from six. We asked if we could order drinks, she continued to walk away. Needless to say we left without eating- completely shocked by the absolute rudeness of the staff- we just couldn't believe it! I really hope that the manager reads this, and the other reviews I have seen commenting on service and addresses the problem.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
8  Thank Ellie0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here. The food wasn't terrible - just average, but the service and overall upkeep of the venue was very poor. Plus point was that the food was freshly prepared but the service from the staff was shocking. Not rude. But they acted like they couldn't care less. Food plonked on plate and then left us alone. No asking if we wanted more drinks, or if food was okay or we needed anything else (like a dessert or coffee). We just got up eventually and paid at the bar next door. Not sure what the management are trying to do with his place. All the basics for running a successful venue are sadly lacking and could easily be rectified. The outside of the venue is also very tired with peeling paint, weeds. Outside the stairs down to the celar bar were downright dangerous with broken and missing paving stones. Dunvegan is crying out for a good pub/hotel and this isn't it. Would recommend The Old Schoolhouse Restaurant if looking for something to eat. Unfortunately it was fully booked when we were there.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Thisismyscreenname74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

The staff and food was amazing. We were able to get a reservation for dinner and we were not disappointed!! The food was amazing and the staff was friendly! The manager gave us suggestions of locations to visit and the history of the area!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank travelingJaneDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews