We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Dunvegan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunvegan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Dunvegan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2017

When me and my partner arrived we were told we had to wait 15 minutes to order our food as they had a big group in - only 4 people were in sight in the restaurant and bar. Probably should have left at this point but we were hungry. Every group or couple who came in any time after us we're told they had to wait 15 minutes for their food, it was half 7 and a group were told they couldn't take their order for food until 8:15pm and to go and get a drink at the bar! We also noticed the Christmas decorations were still up on windows and walls and an old plug in fire place was lying out next to an old fire place covered in dust. One very loud and strange waitress who the majority of the people who had appeared were laughing at due to how poor her people skills were. My partners food was fine - he enjoyed but I'd ordered risotto and it came out cold and was more like rice pudding than anything else. Would not recommend at all! Run down and needing a good clean. What a shame, I bet it was the place to be 50 years ago...

Room Tip: Safe your money and go somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Dunvegan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017

Trying to track the owner down is quite a task to make a booking, but once we arrived, it's a very friendly place. The owner and young evening staff in the hotel bar / restaurant were very helpful. The bar downstairs is only for the intrepid.
The carpet in the dining room needs a viking burial in the adjoining Loch.
Beds were comfy, bathrooms adequate.
Breakfast was magnificent, with black pudding and haggis.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank THWL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

After travelling around the area we dropped in looking for a snack and a cuppa. Despite the time of day (8pm) we were warmly greeted by 2 friendly and obliging staff who genuinely know good customer service. Don't be put off by the seemingly tired look of the hotel, you will be well treated.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We'd sailed from Canna and were looking forward to a nice evening in a local village.
It was June and the Christmas decorations were still up. Very shabby inside bar area.

Didn't have wifi which is so needed if you're sailing and need weather forecasts.
Wine was out of a plastic bag.
Decided not to eat given current impression.

There are very few places for people on boats to stop at this part of Skye and we'd hoped for better.
It has got a beautiful view and the moorings look very new and so suspect the pilotage books are out of date in this respect.
Would try again if some efforts at improvements were made as we are always keen to eat in day to day places rather than snooty restaurants.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank lmaccers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We spent the nights of 20th and 27th May here and were very comfortable. We had an evening meal on the first night which was very good. Our ferry from Harris on 27th was an hour late; Alison waited up to let us in at midnight; it was wonderful to drop in to a comfy bed, The outside wood is shabby but the inside is pleasant. The staff did a good job; Alison Raismith could not have been kinder nor more helpful.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mrs Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This was a cute little hotel. Friendly waitress. Food was quick and was quite nice, nothing amazing but good enough. Cute location , limited menu. They were also out of several puddings they had listed on the board!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

I am a local, and have despaired this year of most of our local eateries on the basis of either value or quality. The Dunvegan hotel looks a bit dated, and the restaurant /kitchen is only open for a couple of hours in the evening but this year it has given us the best value and most palatable meals for money. The service was fine, the fried baby Camembert starter was superb, and the bill for 3 of us with wine - 2 starters, 3 main courses and 1 desert -£63 - best value we have had this year.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunvegan
56.9 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
23.9 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,067 reviews
10.8 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
381 reviews
46.1 km away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
586 reviews
0.1 km away
The Tables Guest House
The Tables Guest House
#2 of 10 in Dunvegan
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvegan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvegan Hotel

Address: Dunvegan IV55 8WA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Dunvegan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunvegan
Price Range: $139 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunvegan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing