We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Vacation Rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillside Cottage

Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Entrance to Hillside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Entrance to Hillside.
Cosy living room, relax and chill after a days exploring
light, spacious living room
View from the living room
Well equipped kitchen.
American fridge freezer/washing machine/tumble dryer/dishwasher
Light and airy double room.
Moorland views
Twin bed room
Drench shower and normal shower head...bliss
Bridge at river Roskhill
River Roskhill,
Heather moorland by river Roskhill
Moon behind the Cuillin Mountains, taken from Roskhill
Cuillin Mountains
Cuillins
Cloud below the Cuillin Mountains
Deer feeding on the lowlands on the road to the Isles
picnic bench
Private road up to Hillside Cottage.
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunvegan, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Melanie M
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful Vacation Rental”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Of all the places my husband and I stayed while in Scotland for two weeks, this vacation rental was my favorite. The house was extremely clean, well designed, and full of thoughtful details throughout. Gail and Spencer have filled the vacation rental with everything you might need while on vacation, from practical things like pots, pans, tupperware, tin foil, etc - to extra special details like games, movies, detailed information about hikes on Skye, local artists, restaurants, etc. There is also a wood burning stove in the living room and it was nice and cozy to come home every night to a warm fire (even in June!).

It was our first time visiting Scotland and Skye, and when initially booking this rental I was worried the location might be too remote and difficult to drive to other parts of the island, because we are used to driving on the other side of the road/had never driven on single track roads. We found this rental in an ideal location, although on a more remote part of the island, but still easy to get around (not that many single track roads, and easy to manage when there were). The cottage is located close to lots of interesting hikes (especially coral beach), Dunvegan castle, dining at Three Chimneys, SkyeSkyns, Edinbane Pottery, etc. It did not take much effort to drive to the East side of the island either. I found the Waternish part of the island the most charming/relaxing, and I am not sure we would have explored it as much if we had not stayed at the Hillside Cottage. My only regret is that we did not stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1300807
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Hillside cottage for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.

The cottage was extremely clean and very comfortable, everything you could think of was there, really appreciated the up to date dvd's like American Sniper and the Theory of Everything to watch in the evenings.
Maps and books are provided and the information that I received before arrival really helped us plan our short break.
The beds were so comfortable, great shower, fast wifi, well equipped kitchen, the location is ideal for exploring the Island and it is so nice to come back to a lovely home. Plenty of hot water and the house is very warm, we didn't even put the log fire on!

Can't wait to book this cottage again and explore more of the Wonderful island, will definitely recommend to family and friends and will stay for at least a week next time:)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loader365
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very comfortable, warm cottage. We stayed for week in May and loved it. Everything was spot on, from the decor and furniture to the kitchen equipment. Nice to have a supply of maps to help explore the island. Well placed just outside Dunvegan and ideal for getting everywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Little touches like fresh flowers in the house when we arrived.
Liked least: That we had to leave....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything you need for self catering
Liked least: the best view was from the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alyth
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$188
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing