We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place to stay on the beautiful Island...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillside Cottage

Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Entrance to Hillside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Hillside Cottage with moorland views
Entrance to Hillside.
Cosy living room, relax and chill after a days exploring
light, spacious living room
View from the living room
Well equipped kitchen.
American fridge freezer/washing machine/tumble dryer/dishwasher
Light and airy double room.
Moorland views
Twin bed room
Drench shower and normal shower head...bliss
Bridge at river Roskhill
River Roskhill,
Heather moorland by river Roskhill
Moon behind the Cuillin Mountains, taken from Roskhill
Cuillin Mountains
Cuillins
Cloud below the Cuillin Mountains
Deer feeding on the lowlands on the road to the Isles
picnic bench
Private road up to Hillside Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunvegan, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nicola W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay on the beautiful Island of Skye”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I can not rate highly enough Hillside Cottage, we thoroughly enjoyed the Island of Skye and having such a lovely cottage as a base just added to our holiday.

The cottage is beautifully decorated, spacious and has everything you could need during your stay. Gail and Spencer were very helpful and came down to welcome us and answer any questions we had.

The cottage was really comfortable, warm and cosy with plenty of room for a family of 4. We even got to use the log burner one evening.

Dunvegan is only a short drive from the cottage, although Dunvegan is small it has pretty much everything you could need such as a local shop, garage, gift shop, cafes and restaurants.We ate at the lovely Old School restaurant for two nights and I would highly recommend.

We hope to be back to the Isle of Skye in the future and would definitely look at staying at Hillside again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanmarl...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Hillside is a lovely cottage, great care as been taken to make it home from home. Everything was spotless and welcoming. The location of the cottage makes an excellent base for touring this breathtaking island. All the information provided on walks to enjoy was very welcome Quiraing was our favourite. We will definitely return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Bath towels to small, bath sheets would compliment the luxurious feel
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellywiag
Edinburgh scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful spacious well equipped cottage. Gail and Spencer were very helpful with any enquiries we had and came down to see if we had settled in ok. Great information pack with plenty of walking info and general help around the Island. The beds are so comfortable. In fact the whole cottage just has a cozy feel about it.. We even got to use the fire one night. Beautiful place and hope to get back soon. Thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan V
Port Denison, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were so pleased with our choice for our stay on the Isle of Skye. The welcome that Gail and Spencer gave us was lovely. They provided us with the local information that made our stay easier. The facilities provided were above the standard that one could expect for a holiday rental and were much appreciated. We were extremely grateful for the good WiFi access as our mobile phones decided to not have reception in that area. After a day exploring Skye it was nice to come home to a place that felt like 'home'. I did note that many considerations had been given for wheel chair access like the wide passage and doorways and the height of the light fittings, but having just spent time nursing a partner in a wheel chair the bathing facilities would make it difficult for anyone in who was unable to climb into a tall sided bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the well appointed cottage and the welcome from our hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William J
Mariana Islands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Cottage on a Beautiful Isle”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had the privilege of staying in the Hillside Cottage for 4 nights in August of 2015 while we were on our honeymoon. We decided that the content and destination of the honeymoon would be a surprise for her, and so the planning and organizing of our trip fell to me. After exploring different places to stay on Skye via TripAdvisor, I decided to reach out to Gail and Spencer. I couldn't have been happier with my choice.

I primarily interacted with Gail during the booking process and our stay, but that was in no way a problem. She was extremely prompt in her response to my inquiry and very professional. I was quite impressed. After booking, I asked for any tips on places to see or eat around Skye and on the journey there from Fort William. In her advice, Gail went above and beyond any of my expectations. She provided a highly extensive list of anything we may have needed to know in getting to the cottage and traveling around Skye. She also made knowledgeable and useful recommendations for sights to see, things to do, and places to eat on the isle.

Not only was our time on Skye greatly improved by Gail's recommendations, our stay on the isle was made much more comfortable by the amenities at Hillside. With soft beds, a very nice bathroom, cozy couches in the living room facing the television (and a fireplace!), a washer and dryer (as well as a clothes line), and a complete kitchen, we found everything we needed right at our fingertips. There were a few minor things missing from the kitchen/laundry area, such as detergent for the washing machine, but that may have been something that we were expected to bring ourselves (in case of allergies, etc). Luckily, most items we needed were available in Dunvegan (just 5 minutes away).

All in all, I would highly recommend Hillside Cottage to anyone looking for a vacation rental on Skye. The location is a perfect "home base" for any excursions you may be interested in taking. The central location makes travel to most parts of the island quick and easy; and as the cottage is not located in a high traffic area, relaxing at the end of a day is even easier. Gail and Spencer are gracious and thoughtful hosts, and their cottage is a very enjoyable place to spend evenings. Our only complaint was that we weren't able to spend more time with them. We will definitely be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The centralized location of the cottage.
Liked least: That we only had 4 nights avalaible to stay at Hillside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melanie M
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful Vacation Rental”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Of all the places my husband and I stayed while in Scotland for two weeks, this vacation rental was my favorite. The house was extremely clean, well designed, and full of thoughtful details throughout. Gail and Spencer have filled the vacation rental with everything you might need while on vacation, from practical things like pots, pans, tupperware, tin foil, etc - to extra special details like games, movies, detailed information about hikes on Skye, local artists, restaurants, etc. There is also a wood burning stove in the living room and it was nice and cozy to come home every night to a warm fire (even in June!).

It was our first time visiting Scotland and Skye, and when initially booking this rental I was worried the location might be too remote and difficult to drive to other parts of the island, because we are used to driving on the other side of the road/had never driven on single track roads. We found this rental in an ideal location, although on a more remote part of the island, but still easy to get around (not that many single track roads, and easy to manage when there were). The cottage is located close to lots of interesting hikes (especially coral beach), Dunvegan castle, dining at Three Chimneys, SkyeSkyns, Edinbane Pottery, etc. It did not take much effort to drive to the East side of the island either. I found the Waternish part of the island the most charming/relaxing, and I am not sure we would have explored it as much if we had not stayed at the Hillside Cottage. My only regret is that we did not stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$187
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing