We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was a Skye Tourist Board it would be called Gillian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Heather Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If there was a Skye Tourist Board it would be called Gillian”
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

Brilliant four night stay in a very well located hotel with wonderful breakfasts, extremely attentive service from Gillian and her husband-chef Craig. All the local knowledge you can eat... culture, history, scenery, routes, timetables, restaurants etc.. And, if the weather is not kind (ours was), very well stocked lounges for a rainy day. Could not fault it. We will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    84
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
223
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I had a really great time here, Gillian and Craig are very welcoming and helpful. White Heather Hotel is situated right on the harbour and ideal for views and wildlife watching. The rooms are comfy and clean and the bed was great after a busy day of sight seeing and walking.

Thankyou very much for a brilliant time and for your understanding with regard me being late due to the roadworks.

Room Tip: Harbour facing rooms to watch Otters
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We enjoyed our 3-night stay here - owners are very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast with lots of options. Rooms themselves are typical size for European smaller hotels. Beds were comfortable. They offer small kitchenette with free laundry facilities for guests. Hotel felt very secure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dvbtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The hotel was very easy to get to. It's very close to the bridge that gets you on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is a bit dated, but very clean and the owner is very helpful and super organized. Breakfast was absolutely perfect. Lots of hot food (eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, beans), and as well as good assortment of drinks, hot and cold. Full continental supply as well. My wife really appreciated how clean the hotel was.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean, just a note, you can hear the neighbors quite easily. So if your going to bed earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamredlupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We traveled the UK for three-plus weeks starting in York, then to Edinburgh, Inverness, Isle of Skye, Keswick, Conway and ending in Chipping Campden. We probably were most impressed with the Isle of Skye over all the other places we visited; however, it is different! Forget about a bottle of wine at dinner because you will be driving a very narrow, sometimes single lane road to get back to your room. There's no place within walking distance in Kyleakin. So my advice is to buy a bottle of scotch or wine and have your drink when you get back to your room. But the Isle of Skye is worth it and you do have lots of choices for some really great restaurants. Guillian runs her place with love and seems to have a lot of fun doing it. She knows everyone and place on the island and was a great source for information. The rooms were very clean and we had a great view of the harbour. The bathroom was quite small. The house has two nice lounges and a kitchen for guests' use as well. It was great to able to bring back left over dessert from dinner and keep it in the refrigerator. Gillain's breakfast is great, borderlining on fantastic! She offers bagels as an option which was a welcome change from the normal fare. All-in-all, it would hard to beat this place for your base.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tgsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed here 2 years ago in May 2009 with my now wife and sister. The B&B was very nice, there was plenty of parking nearby, and the hostess was very kind and hospitable as well as conversational in the morning. We really enjoyed our visit to Isle of skye and would definitely stay here again the next time we make it to scotland from the states.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedbreakfast v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

After staying at the White Heather Hotel last year, we opted for a week at Apple Blossom Cottage at Struan (about 1 hour from Kyleakin) which is owned by Gillian and Craig. Just as the hotel was perfect so is this cottage. The views are fantastic, the cottage itself is lovely and homely with all the "Gillian" touches, the tv has Sky, there are free landline phone calls which is just as well as we both lost the signal on our mobiles. There is everything you could need and a lovely welcome pack for you on arrival. You just pick up the key at Kyleakin and drive off to the cottage. It is more centrally based for touring and Talisker is just down the road. There is a field telescope in the porch for your use and you have visitors on a daily basis in the form of cheeky chickens who come and tap with their beaks on the french windows, to attract your attention and sheep who come and maintain the grass - absolutely brilliant, you could not spend a better week anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank silverjubilee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyleakin
31.8 km away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,054 reviews
14.9 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
55.7 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
569 reviews
53.8 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
387 reviews
49.5 km away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Heather Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Heather Hotel

Property: White Heather Hotel
Address: White Heather Hotel | The Harbour, Kyleakin IV41 8PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Kyleakin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kyleakin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — White Heather Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our cosy family run hotel, nestled on the harbourside in Kyleakin, by the Skye Bridge. Both lounges, breakfast room & most bedrooms enjoy harbour, Castle Moil, mountain views or Loch Alsh, mainland views. We have 3 Standard rooms & 2 *NEW* Superior rooms, a Family room & 1 Single room, all ensuite. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your White Heather Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Heather Hotel Kyleakin, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing