We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, helpful staff”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed for just one night with our dog. The hotel was beautiful in a stunning and convenient location. Because we were travelling with our dog we had to stay in the annex which meant we did not have the stunning view from our room, but the room was beautifully furnished and spacious. We did not mind not having the view as all the public rooms have the same gorgeous view and we were only in our room to sleep. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent and the staff extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocolateRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    319
    99
    40
    24
See reviews for
140
644
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Cullin Hills Hotel is truly extraordinary! The view from this property is magnificent. Portree Harbor is a stunning place and Cullin Hills Hotel has the best view and location to enjoy it! The comforts of this hotel make you feel at home. The staff is gracious and polite. The rooms were spacious and inviting. The breakfast and dinner can’t be beat! The dining room truly makes for and grand experience. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a home away from home!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Harbor are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the Cuillin Hills Hotel as a part of our short term study abroad trip, and for the most part i believe all my classmates enjoyed the stay. This was my first trip to Skye, but if I ever come back, I'm definitely staying at the Cuillin Hills Hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Everything about this property was fantastic. We had a beautiful room facing the harbor, and it was excellently furnished. Both the breakfast's and dinner's here are great. The salmon was some of the best ive ever had. Everyone that works here couldnt be any friendlier. My favorite part of the property is the expansive whisky room/collection which is where I spent my evenings overlooking picturesque Portree Harbor.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown MA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at Cuillin Hills Hotel for two nights in March and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a Cuillin Hills Room which was very large and comfortable and had fantastic views through the large window overlooking Portree Harbor and on to the Cuillen Hills. Beautiful, lush green location just a short walk from the town. The staff were very responsive and accommodating. We had breakfast included and had dinner one night in the restaurant. The food was OK, not great, and the menus for both breakfast and dinner were not very creative or interesting, just pretty basic. But overall we really loved our stay here and the nightly nightcaps of Talisker in our room were a fine touch!

Room Tip: Splurge on a Cuillin Hills Room. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This bed and breakfast had large rooms, great views, and a very friendly and accommodating staff! The breakfast in the morning had many choices and the dinner menu was even better. Its a very peaceful place to stay and do a little shopping. If I travel back to the beautiful Isle of Skye this will be the place for me.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from a fantastic weekend in Skye. From the moment we entered the Hotel the staff went out of their way to help make our stay special. We were on a B&B tarriff and chose to eat dinner in the Hotel on our first night. We found the food choice and quality to be of a good standard. Must compliment the Manageress and the young man who does bar tending and table waiting (thank you both for helping to make our stay memorable you are a credit to your profession)
We had the bonus of some lovely warm weather during our stay which added to our total enjoyment of this little piece of paradise called Skye.
Portree is in a lovely central location to explore the whole island and is also blessed with a few good bars and restaurants. Try the Harbour View restaurant.....top quality seafood at reasonable prices.
Should we return to Skye at some future date we will stay at the Cuillin Hills Hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front offer stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpetemon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
38.0 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.6 km away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
313 reviews
0.5 km away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.6 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
426 reviews
28.0 km away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Property: Cuillin Hills Hotel
Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated hotel on the island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel has a lounge bar, a Malt Embassy offering more than 130 Malt Whiskies, The View Restaurant with fantastic views from every table. Bedrooms are all en-suite, many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing