We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little piece of heaven!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skye Croft

Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft
The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Modern kitchen area with everything you should need if eating in
Dining with a view of the garden and shorefront
A clean contemporary bathroom complete with underfloor heating
Snuggle up by the log burner in our cosy livingroom
Private parking and entrance to your holiday croft
A great little getaway
Stunning nature
Grill Kota BBQ Hut at Skye Croft
Seals and cormorants enjoying some summer sunshine
A Heron feeding on the shorefront
Even stormy clouds bring photo opportunities
Make sure your camera batteries are ready for stunning sunsets at the croft
Red skies at sunset
Kilt Rock and the Mealt Falls
Portree only a short drive away
The Old Man of Storr
Uig Harbour with ferry links to the outer isles
Gail - your holiday accommodation owner
Guest photo on the waterfront at Skye Croft
Guest photo of sunset skies from Skye Croft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
tracymcgr...
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My partner David and I stayed at the croft for two nights at the end of January and absolutely loved it! We arrived late afternoon and the croft was warm, cosy and very welcoming! Gail enures that you immediately feel at home with all the personal touches that are in place for your arrival.

The croft itself is like a home away from home and we loved it so much we barely left it during our stay. The garden is well kept and the kota hut is great! very unusual!

The area in which the croft is situated is perfect as it is the best of both worlds, you have your own space but Portree is only 10 minutes away for quick trips to the supermarket.

When booking the croft, Gail makes you feel like you are an old friend and it is all very personal and makes you want to book up again ASAP! Can't wait for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_mac...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I smiled when I arrived and never stopped till it was time to go !!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is by a country mile the most beautiful and accessible holiday Croft I have stayed in on Northern Skye.

The Croft is within easy distance of Portree (8 miles), Glendale (3 Chimneys), Dunvegan (The Old School House). Don't forget to check out the well established awesome pottery just up the road in Edinbane, there's a pub there too and a hotel.

The Stien Inn is also a short distance (in Skye terms) and the view and the atmosphere there is just beyond belief. There is a back road to The Quiraing to save you driving around the top of the island It goes from Uig to Staffin. We also found a back road from Talisker to the Croft which cut out miles and was so scenic. If you've ever dreamed of going to Skye, go, you will not regret it.

Well that's the reason to go covered. Now the reason to choose Skye Croft.

The croft was so easy to find. Sat Nav to the door. When we entered the warmth and effort that has gone into making it my favourite Holiday Croft on Skye was instantly apparent. The table was laid beautifully, with loads of nice touches. Some cards beautifully wrapped, wine for dinner and impeccable settings.

The kitchen is really well laid out and almost stocked to the level in our own home. We cooked every lunchtime and almost every night and never thought we needed another utensil, pan or dish.

We found a fish van at the large Co-Op in Portree it's there Tuesdays and Thursday we bought the freshest scallops and mackerel. The mackerel needed de-boned but was sublime and the scallops the taste of the sea and the best restaurants anywhere. Ingredients for the worlds heads of state to use in your own kitchen..

The bed was so comfortable and the sofa to curl up in front of the tv too. We even played with the log fire one night which was very romantic. We loved the underfloor heating in the well appointed bathroom.

If that isn't enough, leading out of the back patio doors, there is a small but perfect deck with a gorgeous view out over the loch, with abundant wildlife and the most stunning views. The view changes every time you look and on it's own is enough to make you forget the bustle of the city and smile at your own good fortune.

We are freelance photographers from Edinburgh, who visit Skye whenever we can. There is no reward for us in writing this review. It's our heartfelt opinion.

We hope you manage to make the trip to Skye, you will not be disappointed, especially if you stay at Skye Croft. It's sure to book fast, so make sure you get your stay in the diary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of this croft is just ideal and it is so well appointed
Liked least: Leaving. We had a wonderful stay and a gret time on Skye
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david r
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best cottage in Scotland.... maybe even the world.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on a cold night to a cosy and warm atmosphere.The Christmas decorations and the gifts that were left for us were unexpected.
Everything you need is in the cottage.The thought and planning that has went into the cottage was easy to see.
We stayed five nights and our only regret was not booking it for longer.
Great cottage, great location. Ideal if you want to escape from life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't think of a more perfect and romantic location to celebrate my husband's birthday with him. The lochside setting was simply magical with breathtaking views and inside the croft had everything we could have wished for. Can't wait to come back to this mystical isle and would like to thank Gail for making our stay so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly90
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Beautiful croft, warm & cosy. Loch views are fabulous and the owner has provided everything you need. Feels remote but Portree a short trip away. Wildlife amazing. This croft provides a very comfortable and tranquil base on an amazing island

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Nothing to dislike fabulous croft
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JASPMS
wenonah, new jersey, usa
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You will be stunned by the beauty around you”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

In late September we arrived after midnight during a driving rainstorm and were delighted to find the cottage warm and cozy. It was spotless, had a great bathroom, a well equipped kitchen and a comfortable bed. There were also outdoor chairs as well as useful supplies for day trips in the shed such as a small backpack and a picnic basket. The supply of wood was large and the fireplace was perfect. It also has a great number of books about the area, which were quite helpful. The deck offered a great view and we often went outside at night to see the incredible stars and enjoy the intense quiet.

The property was only a few minutes outside of Portree, where there is a great supermarket and many options to eat and drink. As you drive and hike around Skye you’ll get to the point where you’ll almost stop taking pictures since everything is so beautiful. We stayed mostly in the northern region of Skye during our stay, since there were so many interesting hikes and things to see. Our Favorite hike was Coral Beach, just north of Claigan.

We also found a beautiful drive by chance one day. We were heading south on A863 from Dunvagan and turned left onto B885 just past Bracadale, which leads into Portree. The road was largely single-track the entire way and the area was so beautiful that it stunned your senses.

We had the distinction of being the first couple from the United States that stayed at the Skye Croft during 2012, and it hurts that we may not be back for a while, but we will be back……………………………….

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the back deck.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin s
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star s.c. acc. on skye. fantastic will be back”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2011

gail it was heaven, and to see the borealis well //// glass on woodburner easily cleaned daily with damp newspaper and ash. simple. thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warmth, quality, views, location,
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing