We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment with fantastic viewscand...”
other traveller has booked this property
in studio looking towards picture window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
in studio looking towards picture window
well equipped kitchen View from window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
in studio looking towards picture window
well equipped kitchen
View from window
Comfortable chairs
Kingsize bed
walk in shower
view from sitting area
Front door
Path to Studio
outside dining area
Sunset from Studio
View over Loch
Garden
Shrub garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
elsecar1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment with fantastic viewscand ideally located for exploring the north of the island”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in march 2015 and was our first visit to skye and will certainly return. The scenery and wildlife were better than we could have expected and would throughly recommend dunvegon castle and coral beach. The apartment at knott was only 20 min drive from portree and was a warm and welcoming retreat after a day walking in the snow and rain. A highlight of our week was having breakfast whilst watching seals in the loch. The owners, joyce and brian, were friendly and helpful and we look forward to seeing them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iainsmith...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil getaway, surrounded by beautiful scenery.”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We would go back tomorrow if we could!

Waking up in the morning to open the curtains and watch some playful seals while you have breakfast is something quite special. There are plenty of beautiful scenic walks - all of which are detailed as to how to get there by your hosts - we only managed one due to us being there for just two nights. There is absolutely no one around for miles. Portree is not a far drive - maybe 10 minutes - should you be staying longer than a couple of days and need to restock. We will definitely be booking again sometime, we had a great stay!

P.S - unless you have timed your trip to get the ferry at Malaig, head for Lochalsh once you get to Fort William, we missed the last ferry and had to double back, you'll miss out on a really great drive if you do it in the dark!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris2959
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A PERFECT RETREAT”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The studio at Knott cottage was the perfect retreat for us. It is a warm, comfortable and very well designed space for two people to relax in. The kitchen is well equipped ,we cooked xmas dinner with no difficulty at all. The bathroom would not be out of place in a 5* hotel and a comfortable bed that was sometimes difficult to get away from.
The fantastic picture window with the seals bobbing about in the bay, the birds large and small and the ever changing view will lure you into sitting for probably much longer than you intended.
Our hosts Joyce and Brian were as friendly and helpful as anyone could be.
The studio is well placed for exploring Skye which is a beautiful island in all weathers.
We highly recommend this accommodation and would hope to return ourselves when we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith P
1 review
“An Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Excellent hospitality and care by Brian and Joyce Heggie, the owners.
The apartment was everything we needed for our stay, light, modern, comfortable and well equipped.
Very peaceful location with lovely views of the loch and countryside.
The flower garden is a delight and the vegetable plot inspirational!
Access to Portree and Dunvegan only 15 minutes' drive.
Good walks and wonderful views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment and garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One off the bucket list”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have wanted to visit Skye for several years, so discided this was to be the year to go, as neither of us are getting any younger. A long journey, but so worth the effort.
We were so delighted when we saw the view from our studio window, and must have spent hours over the week, just watching out for the sky and the wildlife.
The studio had every thing 2 people could want over a week, in fact, once you'd got the food in, there was no need to go any where else. We had the lovely garden behind us to wonder in, or just look out of the rear window at.
Joyce and Brian odviously love their home and make you feel they love to share it with you, the little touches such as the dish cloth and washing up liquid already there for use show that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the propety
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The studio was everything we could have hoped for. Excellently and thoughtfully designed to provide what is needful for a relaxing stay. Warm, light, comfortable, easily cleaned. Uncluttered. Plenty of storage space. Good cooking and laundry facilities. Lovely views of the loch. Very helpful hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bird feeder.
Liked least: Perhaps not quite as thoroughly clean when we arrived as the studio should have been.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B
Dalgety Bay
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic studio cottage, in amazing loaction on Skye”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Knott Cottage is a studio apartment with amazing views over Loch Snizort on Skye. The studio is very modern and clean and fitted out to a very high standard. The lounge/bedroom area is very large with two 'Joey seats' (from Friends) positioned to take in the amazing view from the full height window looking over the loch. The bathroom is huge with a waterfall style shower just what,s needed after a day walking. Everything you need is provided, washing machine, dishwasher etc. Joyce and Brian are a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome and were there if you ever needed them. The gardens associated with the property are lovely you can even get a cream tea and buy some plants after viewing for a small donation to charity (great idea Joyce). The property is well located 15 mins from both Portree and Dunvegan. There are many great things to do on Skye, Dunvegan Castle, The Fairy Pools walk in Glen Brittle, the Storr, the Quirrang. Castle Donald is also worth a visit in Armadale as is afternoon tea at Kinloch Lodge just north of Armadale on the way home. Wildlife abounds on Skye and we saw Otters, Seals, Herons, Buzzards, and a Sea Eagle all from the window at the studio. The property also has a gas BBQ that you can use located in the main vegetable garden. There are so many great places to mention for eating a couple not to miss are the Edinbane Inn (5 mins from Cottage, see separate review) traditional musinc on Wednesdays, Loch Bay Seafood restaurant in Stein (make sure you book in advance). For a real treat either eat at the Three Chimneys or even better stay and eat we spent our last night there, you wont be disappointed.
Overall we had a great holiday, property fantastic, location great, weather good, locals very friendly, scenery spectacular, and Joyce and Brian were lovely owners, all of which contributed to a very enjoyable wee. Looking forward to returning sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, views and high standard
Liked least: We could only stay 1 week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing