We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nearly perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Shane O
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bayview is a great cottage in a superb location overlooking the bay. The cottage has been recently renovated to a high standard such that the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, the lounge is comfy and the tv etc worked well, the dining area well thought out and the kitchen roomy.

So why only 4 stars. The ship has been spoilt for a ha'porth of tar. In a cottage that sleeps 6, only 4 bowls, some chipped, and an odd collection of wine glasses. The cutlery was a similar story with an assortment of odd knives, spoons etc. the garlic press didn't work and the weigh scales had no bowl. There was no fire extinguisher visible.

Every other welcome pack I've had comprised as a minimum, tea, coffee and milk and usually biscuits and choccies etc. this property could only manage a poor bottle of red plonk. So you have to pop out and buy milk.

Now these are all small things and if you don't cook for yourself you will never notice them but we did and it was a niggling shortcoming to such a fantastic property.

So come on owner you've sold a magnificent property short, sort it out and let the next review be 5 stars.

Date of stay: September 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review.
We always seek to give our guests the best possible experience. We have replaced the chipped bowl you indetified, and we have rectified the garlic press and scales. I can assure all our guests at Bayview Croft are supplied with ample crockery and matching cutlery for up to eight guests. We also supply a wide range of glasses to cater for all drink requirements. As recommended by Visit Scotland we only supply a fire blanket, guests are not encouraged to extingish any siginificant fire.
Hannah Macleod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foodster7...
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Outstanding ! ”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This a review I selfishly don't want to write in case next time we want to book (and we will) you all listen to me and it becomes so popular we can't get a booking. It is a gorgeous place to stay. It is immaculate,spacious beautifully decorated and in a wonderful location. There is stunning views , lovely garden and so peaceful. Negatives here are the midgies though not the owners fault - see how I am grasping for some negatives! It has all mod cons - wifi, heated floors,great showers, huge telly etc etc. Big negative not to go though is there was no tea, coffee or milk- tee hee ( that's me grasping again) although there was a bottle of wine with a lovely welcome sign round it so I should concede the owners have got their priorities right. All communications were dealt with professionally , promptly and in a very friendly manner. I can't wait to go back- please everyone ignore this review.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Hello
Great you both enjoyed your short break.
I thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you again to Bayviewcroft.

All the very best
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky B
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An outstandingly comfortable, well equipped and tastefully decorated property where we had a great stay.”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We are a group of four friends (aged 60 plus) who were lucky enough to spend a week in this lovely accommodation at the beginning of August. Bayview Croft has recently been refurbished and we really enjoyed cooking meals in the brilliantly designed and well equipped open plan downstairs kitchen area and eating them off the generously proportioned kitchen table. The downstairs seating area is, like the rest of the cottage, very comfortable and tastefully decorated and has a brilliant television screen. A nice extra touch was the guidebooks to the local area which gave us some ideas for excursions. The three double bedrooms were very comfortable and each has an ensuite added to it with up to the minute fittings. Even though we visited in the summer we appreciated the under floor heating which kept the property cosy in the mornings and evenings. The wifi worked very well.

The location of the property close to Portree is very handy. Portree has two co-operative supermarkets and a range of nice pubs and eating places. Staying there made it easy to explore both the north and the south of the island.

All in all, probably the best self catering accommodation I have ever stayed in!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall excellent condition of the property.
Liked least: We didn't find anything to criticise,
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Hello Ben and friends

Thank you.very much.
I really appreciated your kind review regarding my property and delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully welcome you all back in the near future.

All the very best.
Kind Regards
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location, stunning property! Not to be missed if visiting Skye!”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Bayview Croft at the very beginning of June 2016 and were very lucky to be the first guests following an amazing renovation.
The place was absolutely immaculate. Every room had been renovated to the highest standard- the big kitchen/diner was particularly special!
Each bedroom has an incredible en suite with some lovely finishing touches.
The first night we arrived we had planned on heading into Potree for dinner & drinks however, once we had seen the property and the views we decided to stay put and enjoy a BBQ with a view overlooking the bay!
We are a group of 20 somethings and would highly recommend this place for a group of friends or family looking for a lovely house with a big communal kitchen/living area!
We have all said we shall be back

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Hi Guys
Great hearing that you all enjoyed the new Bayview Croft and thanks for your kind review
It was lovely meeting you all and hopefully again next year.
All the very best
Hannah x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsherbert
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Three generations were perfectly catered for”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family (us, our parents, and our toddler) had a wonderful stay at the Bayview Croft last week. The house is two cottages put together so on rainy days there is plenty of space to spread out and relax with the good stock of board games (or watch the TV) or just watch the atmospheric view over the hills. The house is fully modernised, and the underfloor heating is perfect to come home to at the end of the day. On sunny days, the outdoor space is magical for children. Our almost three year old loved going on what he called his "adventures" in the garden: playing hide and seek and tag through the trees, running up and down the slopes, picking berries, watching the rabbits. The picnic table out the front is perfectly located in the sunshine (gorgeous views over to Portree) so we able to enjoy breakfast and dinner picnics while he wore himself out. The section is fully fenced with good gates, so it felt safe to let him explore on his own a bit. Inside we did move a few lamps out of his reach during our stay, but overall it's an easy place to have an active toddler. Perfect for the whole family. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden is amazing
Liked least: they need a new can opener in the kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Hello Jane
Delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and your little boy
enjoyed exploring the garden and watching the bunnies. Look forward
to welcoming you back on another occassion.
Many thanks
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliePete...
2 reviews
“Best holiday cottage we have stayed in!”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Bayview Croft at the end of June as a family of 4 and had a fantastic holiday. The cottage was absolutely stunning having been newly refurbished. It had everything we needed, spotlessly clean and in a great location just a couple of miles outside of Portree. There was plenty to keep our boys entertained nearby with fell walking, stunning scenery, lovely places to eat and a trip on the Bella Jane boat. We are already looking forward to our next trip to Skye and would definitely stay in Bayview Croft again.

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Hi
Delighted to hear that you all had fun and thank you so much for your review it is very much appreciated.
Look forward to welcoming you all back to Bayview Croft.
Many thanks
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N
2 reviews
“A perfect place to stay for our holiday vacation”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here with my family of 4 and we all loved it. Bayview Croft is a spacious house that has just been beautifully remodeled. There was no lack of amenities as everything was well equipped, stocked and ready for our stay. It has great sea views and a path the kids loved to take to go down to the waters edge. We used it as our location to explore the entire island and it was very conveniently located for our day trip drives. Skye is a truly beautiful island and staying at Bayview Croft made it especially nice to explore. Would happily stay here again for another week!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was incredibly spacious and well equipped
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Hello
Thank you for your kind review and delighted to hear that the whole family enjoyed the cottage. Hopefully one day we can welcome you back to Bayview Croft and Skye. All the very best
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.