We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Seamus_h8...
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My wife and I stayed here again with another young family for a week in Skye. We were blown away with the newly renovated property...

It was excellent the previous time we stayed, but the new renovations have made this cottage, even more impressive. High-spec finishings and superb comforts.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Hi
Thank you so much.
Its lovely to hear that you like our new renovations, it makes it all worth while when we receive such warm comments.
Many thanks again
Cheers
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc0511
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heaven on Earth!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My husband and I booked this large lodge to ourselves for a weeks holiday in Skye from 04/02/17 to 11/02/17. It does sleep 8, but we fell in love with the photos and location and decided it was the one for us.
It's a very short drive from Portree (heading towards Sligachan) and takes less than 5 minutes once you leave Portree to reach Penifiler where Bayview Croft is situated.
The clue is in the title of the croft ... it really does give you an amazing view of the bay of Portree.
The croft itself, from the moment you turn the key, screams luxury. We are sticklers for a good and well stocked kitchen and this did not fail to disappoint. The owners have clearly thought of almost everything we could ask for. The double sided wood burner ... oh my, we wished we could have taken it with us. Absolutely fabulous. The croft offers 3 large bedrooms all en-suite and a separate toilet downstairs and are all very well lit and thought out - loved the mirrors with digital clock and hidden light (took us a little while to figure out how to turn off the light)!!!
Underfloor heating - amazing, particularly for the -3 temperatures we had.
The croft is a great base for all the sites that surround Portree. Nothing took to long to get to.
Overall, if your looking to spend a holiday in Skye in a luxury home from home, you need not look any further. This place is finished to the highest standard and honestly made our holiday. Absolutely perfect.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2017
Dear Mr and Mrs Mills
Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated and delighted that you had a good week and enjoyed the croft.
Hopefully see you back soon
All the very best
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Hello Deborah and friends
I am delighted that you enjoyed your first trip to Skye and hope there will be many more. I thank you for your kind comments and it was a pleasure for Neil and I to meet you all.
All the very best for a Happy, healthy 2017
Neil and Hannah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MichelleM...
Glasgow
2 reviews
“Stunning property”
Reviewed December 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here on a pre-Christmas getaway with our 8 month old baby. The house itself is stunning with everything you would wish for in a luxury cottage. The views are outstanding and the house lends itself well to sitting and admiring them from every room. We had everything we would need for our stay with a young baby. This is such a stunning property, we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Hello
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We would love to welcome you back to Bayview Croft and wish you all a very happy Christmas and good New year xx.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, central location.”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a very good cottage, very clean, warm, and well equipped. Could possibly do with more plates and cutlery and a dvd player but this is really a minor point. Views are great and its easy to get to anywhere on the island due to its central location. We had a great holiday.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen/dining area
Liked least: No dvd player
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Hello Ian and family

Thank you for your kind review and hopefully welcome you back on another occassion.
All the very best
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Hi Anna
Thank you so much for posting a review. Delighted that you all enjoyed
Bayview Croft and your daughter liked the horses, I will let Archie know he will be delighted he is mentioned on Trip Advisor.
Hopefully we will welcome you back to Bayview Croft on another occassion.
Have a good winter.
Take care
All the best
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shane O
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bayview is a great cottage in a superb location overlooking the bay. The cottage has been recently renovated to a high standard such that the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, the lounge is comfy and the tv etc worked well, the dining area well thought out and the kitchen roomy.

So why only 4 stars. The ship has been spoilt for a ha'porth of tar. In a cottage that sleeps 6, only 4 bowls, some chipped, and an odd collection of wine glasses. The cutlery was a similar story with an assortment of odd knives, spoons etc. the garlic press didn't work and the weigh scales had no bowl. There was no fire extinguisher visible.

Every other welcome pack I've had comprised as a minimum, tea, coffee and milk and usually biscuits and choccies etc. this property could only manage a poor bottle of red plonk. So you have to pop out and buy milk.

Now these are all small things and if you don't cook for yourself you will never notice them but we did and it was a niggling shortcoming to such a fantastic property.

So come on owner you've sold a magnificent property short, sort it out and let the next review be 5 stars.

Date of stay: September 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review.
We always seek to give our guests the best possible experience. We have replaced the chipped bowl you indetified, and we have rectified the garlic press and scales. I can assure all our guests at Bayview Croft are supplied with ample crockery and matching cutlery for up to eight guests. We also supply a wide range of glasses to cater for all drink requirements. As recommended by Visit Scotland we only supply a fire blanket, guests are not encouraged to extingish any siginificant fire.
Hannah Macleod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.