We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty much perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ahU4783YD
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pretty much perfect”
Reviewed June 11, 2021 for a stay in May 2021

The house is very well fitted out all you could really need is there and more, bedrooms are all a good size and all have very nice en-suites. nice welcome with a bottle of wine and some sweet Scottish goodies. as the title says pretty much perfect, thanks Hannah

Date of stay: May 2021
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jellybean...
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything you would ever need”
Reviewed December 30, 2019 for a stay in December 2019

We don't have anything negative to say, the property was absolutely perfect for our Christmas week, made even better with a wonderful welcome of a bottle of wine and some shortbread.

Excellently appointed rooms, the property is spotlessly clean, decorated and furnished to a very high standard with all modern amenities. The beds were comfortable with quality linen, all towels provided. Showers and bathrooms were excellent. Washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher all there for your use.

About a 10 minute drive to Portree, which has a large Co Op for shopping. a few minutes from the main north/south Portree road.

Communication with the owner was truly excellent, responding usually within an hour. We only had one problem on arrival, with one of the toilets, but Hannah sent a plumber within the hour and all got sorted without a drama.

A few suggestions if I may:

Slip mats in the showers would be a valuable addition. My 78 year old Mother in Law almost slipped over a couple of times.

The bathroom with only a bath (two bed bedroom) needs a longer shower hose for washing hair.

Kitchen utensils and utilities were plentiful, the only things we found we needed and couldn't find was a sieve and some small baking trays that would fit into the right hand oven. (Loved the Rangemaster cooker by the way, superb).

Overall our stay in Bayview and on Skye was truly wonderful, a beautiful property with an amazing view and all the amenities a family would need while on holiday exploring the Highlands and Islands, couple this with an attentive and responsive owner who seriously cares about her tenants. Thank you Hannah

Date of stay: December 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79JennyB
Pathhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Doesn’t get much better than this!”
Reviewed August 16, 2019 for a stay in August 2019

We’ve thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bayview Croft. Superb views, beautifully decorated, spacious...I could go on and on.

Each bedroom has a fab en-suite and the beds are really comfy. The kitchen is very well-equipped with all the utensils you could need.

We’d absolutely return to the house in the future. Thanks so much!

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage on Skye”
Reviewed July 14, 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Photos don’t do this cottage justice!
Spacious inside and outside: lovely garden with tremendous views over the bay.
Very comfortable.
Great holiday with 3 generations of family.

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA0901
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bayview Croft”
Reviewed June 24, 2019 for a stay in June 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Third time staying at beautiful Bayview Croft. View over Portree Bay to die for. Stunning garden and everything you could ask for inside. Travelled as a family of 6 and plenty of space for everyone. Made it to St Kilda this year too which was on husbands list for past few years! Already planning for Next Year.

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Jul 2019
Hi
Thank you for your kind comments and happy that you enjoyed BayviewCroft for another holiday.
Hopefully see you back next year.
Enjoy the rest of the summer
All the very best
Hannah x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CleggyBro...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Over the bay to Portree”
Reviewed May 6, 2019 for a stay in May 2019

Just back from a perfect week on Skye staying at Bayview Croft for our 2nd time.
Love the house & location looking over the bay to Portree.

Cons

No blinds on the windows in the master bedroom above the kitchen.
The sun comes blasting in at 5.30am.
We had to use a sun protector from our car to block the window.

The bedroom next door has blinds so I don't know why the master has none!!

Only underfloor heating downstairs which can make the large open plan room cold sometimes during the day.

We had elderly parents that could not heat up until we put the stove on when the temperature dropped on Thursday.

No towel radiator or underfloor heating in the downstairs bedroom.
The shower room was way too cold all week & no good for an Oap.

Pros

Hannah replies to text & emails fast to address any concerns & can adjust the temperature in the main living area remotely via a phone app.

The house is well laid out & spotless.
The views from the front garden are great & if you walk down to the water you can see the old man of storr.

Your only 5 mins from Portree by car with loads of good options to eat out.

Close to a few good walks

The horses in the field next to the cottage are very friendly.

Date of stay: May 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 May 2019
Thank you for your review.
Regarding the cons, the master bedroom has one small west facing window without a blind it provides a picture postcard view of Portree which our guests love. The main window does have a blackout blind as in the other upstairs bedroom.The entire ground floor including the downstairs bathrooms has under floor heating and maintains a temperature of 22C during daytime and evenings. Our guests over the last three years have found these temperatures completely comfortable.
This is a very cosy house!
Regards
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2019 for a stay in April 2019
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 May 2019
Hi
Thank you so much for your kind review it is very much appreciated and happy to read that you all enjoyed yourselves.
Hopefully one day we can welcome you back to Bayviewcroft.
All the very best
Hannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.