We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$391
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-08
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
138
41
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
41
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marmalade sister hotel nespresso coffee machine room was nicely appointed chargrill restaurant noise insulation boutique hotel isle of skye beautiful toiletries lovely hotel super king bed other hotels love this hotel superior room two night stay scottish highlands booked this hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 207 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2021

We are currently on our last night in Skye and stayed in Marmalade for 4 nights.
Since our arrival on Monday the staff have been nothing but welcoming and friendly. During check in, breakfast, dinner and generally when we leave and arrival the hotel they have always attended to us.

The rooms are gorgeous - so modern and clean. The beds are incredible! As people who travel the world for work these are some of the best beds we have had.
We were situated in the older part of the hotel and unfortunately on our first night had loud neighbours. The staff couldn’t have been more supportive about this and offered to change our room. The new room was lovely and we were thankful for this.

I would also like to say how amazing the food is here! We had dinner in the Chargrill restaurant on our first night. The food was so fresh and full of flavour. It was really worth the money! The breakfast every morning has been amazing. We loved the veggie breakfast! Overall this hotel is a 10/10!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2021

Dear Fiona,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are lucky to have a committed and engaged team that love the industry and all look after our guests so well. It is good to see the noise issue was dealt with quickly and efficiently and that you were able to get a great night's sleep
We're happy you liked every aspect of your stay with us, from the comfortable big beds in our rooms to the big steaks in Chargrill.
Please get in touch the next time you find yourself on Skye. We would love to welcome you back to the Marmalade!

Kind regards,
Daan & the Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2021 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.
Living in Scotland, we know quite well what accommodations look like around here, and the least we can say is that we felt very let down.
Firstly, they offered us a room with disabled access bathroom. While we’re happy that these facilities exist in hotels, we were disappointed as it meant the bathroom was in fact a wet room, without proper shower and with a seat in the middle, which rendered it impractical and not charming (especially that we were on our honeymoon). This wasn’t the end of the world. However, what was much more upsetting is the very condescending way the staff at the reception (working on the 28th of May) behaved when we asked to change room. They basically said « we can’t change it, you have to remember you’ve only booked a STANDARD room ». This condescending manner of talking to customers was totally inappropriate, especially that we paid 280£ per night for said « standard room ».
Other than this, the room was pretty average in both size and decoration, certainly not the boutique hotel we had imagined we were booking.
When coming back to Skye, we will consider booking cheaper, more charming and customer-friendly places like small inns.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MartinV3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2021

Hello Martin,

We are sorry to hear you felt let down. We do however feel like your review is somewhat unfair, our standard room with universal access is the only standard in the building that offers views over our garden and the Cuillins in the background. Seeing you were on your honeymoon we wanted to make sure you could wake up looking at this stunning scenery. The bathroom certainly does have a proper powerful shower and indeed a seat which makes it universally accessible.
When you came to ask for a different room, you did not ask for a room change, but a free upgrade. Although this is something we would very much consider for your honeymoon this unfortunately was not possible due to the hotel being full.
I am disappointed reading such a bad review based on a universal access bathroom and one interaction with a staff member, especially seeing we allocated you the room with a view with best intentions and even put a wee gift and note in the room for you upon arrival.

We still hope you enjoyed your honeymoon and wish you all the best together.


Kind regards,
Daan & the Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2021 via mobile

My partner and I were very excited to spend the final night of our trip in the Marmalade hotel, as the set up is beautiful.

Here are the pros: the hotel and room were very trendy, clean and functional. The view from our suite was stunning and we could see mountains on the water, it was great to wake up to. The garden area had a lovely fire pit and great sundowner spot. The breakfast menu was Devine - great choice of Scottish classics. There was lots of parking and it’s only a 5 minute walk to the centre of town.

Here are the cons: checkin is at 3pm, which is far too late to late to enjoy your day and we nearly missed our reservation at the three chimneys. There was no where to store our bags or get changed before our 3pm checkin. We had to get changed in a disabled toilet and I did my make up in the car. Room service ends at 9pm, which was a shame as we really fancied a late night snack. The fire alarm went off at midnight, and there was no confirmation that there was an actual fire? What’s that about? We all congregated outside, had no instructions, then returned to bed. I was worried my room was on fire.

All in all, worth the £283 cost given the location and time of year.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank megsa2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2021

Dear Megsa2021,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! It is wonderful to see you liked our rooms, amenities and even our brand new fire pit!

Check-in at 3PM is very common and certainly not late considering the current pandemic.
The last year has been difficult for everybody and has certainly added extra pressure to our housekeeping department. The safety of our guests is our top priority and we spend longer than usual cleaning the rooms to make sure everything is sanitised properly.

The fire alarm was falsely activated during the night and procedures were followed. In contrast to your review this was dealt with quickly and no guests were left outside without instructions.

We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your time on Skye and that we will be able to welcome you back to the Marmalade hotel in the future.

Kindest regards,
Daan & the Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2021 via mobile

Wonderful modern hotel in Portree - very modern rooms, ours had great views over the garden to scenery beyond. Really good shower! Breakfast was excellent - a combination of continental and cooked traditional. We had booked outside restaurants(fish) for first dinner on first two nights, and at the hotel on the last night. The hotel restaurant is a grill, serving steaks and it was probably the best meal of our trip. Service always excellent but never obtrusive - would love to stay here again when we see more of Skye. Lots of free parking, WiFi excellent. The name comes from a previous owner of the (unrefurbished) property who was famous locally for growing their own oranges in an orangery, to make marmalade.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Diamond1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2021

Dear Diamond1924,

Thank you for your amazing review!! We are happy to hear you loved our refurbished rooms and the stunning scenery. We are flattered by your compliments about our restaurant and staff. We would love to welcome you back the next time you find yourself on Skye.

Warm regards,
Daan & The Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2021 via mobile

We spent two nights at Marmalade Hotel in Portree to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived to check in, the staff at the hotel could not do enough for us. Our room was a superior double and it had everything we needed. King size bed, large TV, Bose bluetooth speaker, excellent tea and coffee facilities and free bottles of water.
Our breakfast was in the adjoining Chargrill restaurant. It was a feast. Each guest received a platter containing a Yogurt and fruit compote starter, a freshly baked croissant with jam and marmalade and a handfull of fresh berries. You could choose your fruit juice and tea or coffee. If you needed more juice or coffee, the staff had no problem bringing this to you. This was before you ordered your hot choice from the menu. I opted for the full Scottish both mornings. It couldn't be faulted.
We ate in the chargrill restaurant on the first night and, once again, it was top class. My ribeye was cooked to perfection. I want to give a special mention to the bar staff who made the cocktails for my wife. She loved them.
Marmalade is by no means the cheapest hotel on Skye but we feel that what we got was definitely value for money.
I should also give a mention to the fact that the way everyone adhered to the current Covid 19 restrictions made everyone feel extremely safe.
Without a doubt we will be returning to Marmalade. Hopefully it won't be too long till that happens.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AberfeldyTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosville Hotel, Other at Marmalade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2021

Hello Tam,

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review! We are glad to see you enjoyed all the amenities in our rooms, as well as the big comfortable bed!
Our breakfast platters are a covid-safe alternative to our breakfast buffet and combined with a full Scottish breakfast arguably the best way to start the day.
It's great to hear your steak was cooked to perfection. Our chefs take a lot of pride in their work and were happy to hear about your amazing feedback!
Please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Skye. We will have a Marmatini and a dram ready for you!

Kind regards,
Daan & the Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews