We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PH131268
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Beautiful cottage, lovely hosts, fantastic room and gorgeous breakfast

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 8, 2021via mobile
Arrived at the cottage to a welcome note on the door from Diane (our host) telling us which room we were in and she would come meet us when we got settled. Beautifully done cottage, which we found out had been in the family for some years and Diane & John had renovated and added to over the years to a fantastically high standard. The cottage itself is in the north of the island and in a great location for the majority of things you would want to visit.
Our room on the first floor was stunning and the bed was so comfy. We were made to feel extremely welcome and even had the use of the small fridge in the breakfast room. Great amount of choice for breakfast, the food was lovely and all cooked to order by Diane who is absolutely lovely and chatted away with us each morning.
The views out of the window are amazing, even on the misty days.
Would 100% recommend this lovely guest house.
Remember, take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints and kill only time. Skye is gorgeous, let’s keep it that way.
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: Check low tide if you’re going looking for the dinosaur footprints. We missed them!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
3.5 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
    2.9 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Expedia.com
    4.3 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    5.2 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
    Free parking
    Facade/entrance
      9.6 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
      • eDreams
      • Vio.com
        C$618
      • Priceline
        C$618
      7.0 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      C$529
      • Expedia.com
        C$528
      • Vio.com
        C$508
      • Hotels.com
        C$529
      18.0 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
      Free parking
      Bar/Lounge
      9.7 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      11.1 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
      Free parking
      Mint Croft’s two luxury cottages in Geary are designed for couples or small groups looking for an indulgent romantic break or cosy getaway and have even been named as one of Britain’s Best Honeymoon Hideaways by British Vogue.
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      22.0 km from An Cnoc Bed & Breakfast
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Staffin
      Reviews (189)
      Filter reviews
      189 results
      Traveller rating
      181
      8
      0
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      181
      8
      0
      0
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews isle of skye lovely place lovely owners great breakfast made us feel host island
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      6 - 11 of 189 reviews
      Reviewed August 10, 2021

      This was a perfect, little B&B.

      The owner was very nice and friendly, and the room was clean, cosy, and comfortable.

      A very easy drive to key attractions and Portree.

      Excellent breakfast - we had the smoked salmon both mornings, which was extremely tasty (and generous on the smoked salmon!).

      Would recommend to anyone who wants a nice and quiet break on Skye.

      Date of stay: August 2021
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank alexrB6331SW
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed August 1, 2021 via mobile

      An Cnoc was a brilliant stay, the location is stunning, surrounded by hills, sheep, cows and sometimes a beautiful sea mist. It is only 30mins drive from Portree which was ideal for us, in the village of Staffin itself there is a store, a cafe and a takeaway. It’s perfectly situated for most of the popular Trotternish walks with Old Man of Storr only 15mins away.
      Diane and John were brilliant hosts, both warm and friendly. They showed a real interest in us and our holiday and gave us great advice on places to go, we loved our chats with Diane at breakfast. The breakfasts themselves were beautiful, lots of choice and in a lovely breakfast room. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated and actually the CLEANEST b&b we have ever stayed in! All the small touches that Diane and John put in to their home just show their care and love for their home and business.

      Date of stay: July 2021
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Sian H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed August 25, 2020

      This was a tremendous experience. The hosts are very friendly, helpful and the breakfast was superb! If you want to experience the true tranqulity of Skye, the location couldn't be better placed. Not far from the stunning Quiraing, with amazing views across the sea to mainland Scotland. Don't miss out!

      Date of stay: August 2020
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank JimMcD1234
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

      An Cnoc is a great B&B: Our room (#3) was newly furnished & clean with state of the art equipment (e.g USB plugs) and a small, modern & clean bathroom wit a shower. The breakfast was delicious and Dianne is great host.

      It is a bit remote (approx. 5 minutes drive from main road) which is an advantage as it is silent.

      Only downside was the rather slow WiFi.

      Date of stay: September 2019
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank DetlefStober
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed August 16, 2019

      I have already stayed in hundreds of B&B's, but this one belongs to my top three. The location is really unique. The cottage is surrounded by meadows with thousands of sheep. White dots in the fields with pleasant streams. In the background the Quiraing, an impressive volcanic plateau. Our host Diane was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and cosy. The beds are soft. Breakfast was very delicious. Diane and her husband enjoyed talking to us. We had a very nice chat. The ideal B&B!

      Room tip: All rooms with a view on the unique countryside
      Date of stay: August 2019
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Scenic638271
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews