We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing hen weekend at Plean Castle!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plane Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plane Castle The kitchen in the Manor House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Plane Castle
The kitchen in the Manor House
A snug sitting room on the ground floor of the manor House
Main Jacobean bedroom
One of the 15th century Tower bedrooms
Kitchen dining in the 15th Century Tower
The grand fire place in the 15th Century Tower with painted roof beams
One of the many bathrooms in the manor House and Tower
Twin room in the tower
Medieval banqueting hall in the Tower
Medieval banqueting hall
Dining room in the Manor
The Great Hall perfect for celebrations
View from the gardens
A wedding enjoying a pipe band
Great Hall seating area around the fireplace
Party time in the Great Hall
Wedding in the Great Hall
Set for a wedding in the courtyard (view from the battlements)
Banqueting Hall
Banqueting Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Airth, Falkirk District, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
EilidhC07...
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing hen weekend at Plean Castle!”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just back from a brilliant hen weekend at Plean Castle. All of us had a fantastic time and the castle couldn't have been better! Sonja and Steve were fab hosts, very welcoming and meeting our every needs from day one of organising. The castle itself is amazing our theme was Harry Potter so everything fitted perfectly. It's presented immaculately with all the rooms and bathrooms very clean and the main sitting areas are great. Couldn't have asked for a better location and weekend. Thank you so much Sonja and Steve!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! the tower was amazing very traditional!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyfinla...
1 review
“AMAZING place to stay!”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Thank you to Sonja and Steve who made our stay at Plane castle absolutely fantastic!

From the moment of booking the castle Sonja was quick to respond and very accommodating to our needs as a group, including being flexible with check in/out times!

We booked the castle for 18 people for a friends' hen do and were not disappointed. The castle is magnificent; lots of traditional markings and decor with all the mod cons you will need (like central heating)! All our group were very impressed. There was a lot of space for entertaining and for relaxing. The grand hall was an excellent space for our afternoon tea and for dancing the night away. Despite the space, the castle still felt homely and the spiral stairs/ secret passages were very fun.

The grounds were stunning, with a seated area overlooking the lake. A few of the girls went a walk to nearby ruins, recommended by Steve, which they enjoyed. Steve also took us onto the roof of the tower where you could see for miles!

The bedrooms were all comfortable and clean and there were lots of bathrooms. Despite the accommodation being in two separate buildings it was easy to go between the two via a fire escape, so nobody felt they were in separate accommodation.

It's also in a great location, only ten minutes drive from Stirling.

Thanks again Sonja and Steve we had a great time and would definitely book again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always so nice to hear people love this wonderful old building as much as we do. Hope the wedding goes as well as the hen weekend and hopefully we will see you again one day:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhona_boa...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most stunning venue for any occasion!”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Myself and a friend had the task of organising a Hen weekend for 20 people and hosting it at Plane Castle was the best decision we could have made. Since the beginning, Sonja was so helpful on so many different aspects. All our girls had a blast the whole weekend and the Castle was just beautiful. So many unique features and it felt like going back in time. Luckily we had gorgeous weather for the whole weekend and got to walk round the lovely gardens with it's own lake and also get up on the battlements! The quality and quirkiness you get for the money you pay is fantastic and I look forward to my return! Highly recommended :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
And we would have you back any day. What a fabulous bunch of ladies you are. Have a wonderful wedding:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustyBinn
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“King for a day (or three)”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Plane for a family anniversary and it was fantastic. Steve and Sonja could not have been more helpful before, during and after our stay. The Castle is warm and welcoming and felt like home for our stay. It has everything we needed for a great time, inlcuding weather (I don't know if Steve and Sonja can control that every time). Go on, rent a Castle!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great big log fire in a great big room
Liked least: maybe the ghost....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. Weather arranging is all part of the service:-) Hope to see you again one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali D
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming historical experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect venue for our reunion - we all stayed in the main part of the castle - on arrival, we were welcomed by Steve who gave us a full tour - he was very knowledgable of its history and the area - we had some laughs exploring the grounds and the interesting monuments. The castle's full of nooks and crannies, fabulous period furniture, yet it's comfortable and cosy at the same time, (I'd wondered if it would be a bit creepy and draughty..but quite the opposite...well maybe just a bit spooky). Lots of stairs, so be warned of that.
You can do self catering, but we opted for full service. On our first night Steve and Sonja (the hosts) arranged a delicious dinner for us in the kitchen, we then retired or drinks in the main hall - it was too warm to light the huge fireplace. The second night we ate and drank like Kings in the main hall - a memorable night.
Afternoon Trip - they took us to see a nearby abandoned mansion and forgotten graveyard - a must do! - definitely recommend that!
The hosts couldn't do enough for us - the mixture of being there, yet leaving us to it, was quite relaxing and made us feel at home. (They live in the cottage on the grounds.)
All in all a great experience, that really added something to our get-together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDP2012
Leicestershire, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend!”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a wonderful weekend with my partner and our friends three weekends ago and we are still reminiscing about it.
On arrival we were greeted by the charming hosts, Steve and Sonja, who made us feel at home immediately after our 6 hour drive. Once settled in Steve gave us all a guided tour of the castle and grounds and we were taken up to the roof of the tower which gave us an amazing view, as the weather was fabulous that day.
My partner and I had a very comfortable four poster bedroom with en suite which had a very large corner bath with shower. It also had a lockable door which led to a separate staircase to the main hall, which was magnificent.
Our friends also had very comfortable rooms, all very characterful and each reflected the history of the Castle, as did all the other rooms. The main hall was magnificent and we particularly liked gathering around the huge stone fireplace enjoying an evening drink after dining in there on the Saturday evening.
The gardens were lovely with lots of quaint features and interesting statues, some of them in the small lake which was delightful.
It is very well placed for both Edinburgh and Glasgow and there is a whole list of activities that Sonja can sort out for guests if wanted, both in the castle grounds and out. We particularly like the idea of a masseur!
It is advertised as self -catering, which we did, but Sonja can arrange for a butler and a chef if need be which is fantastic and we think next time we will do this for one night at least.
The hosts have two small dogs, one of which I tried to smuggle in my car, in jest. Apparently it is not the first time a guest has done this either as both dogs are adorable!
With charming hosts and wonderful accommodation, steeped in history, we have decided to visit next year and stay longer. And bring the dog back with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole character of the place. Historical aspects etc. Great hosts.
Liked least: All good.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S4lang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING HEN WEEKEND!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

18 girls descended on the castle this weekend for a hen do! What a place!!

From the very start sonja and Steve have been life savers! We were double booked by our other venue and I contacted sonja only 2 weeks before the hen was due to start and thankfully this was the only free weekend they've had at the castle all year!

Sonja then organised catering for Saturday and was on hand all the time for any queries we had!

The castle itself was a brilliant venue - something a bit different with loads of interesting rooms to explore! Steve took the girls out onto the top of the tower building! He also drove a couple of us to the local shop for more booze! Super helpful people!

I would definitely stay here again, it's a great place for a party! Great sound from the iPod/Bluetooth speakers in the castle too!!

We had a big party in the tower building on the Friday, then Saturday we had people come out and do hot stone massages, manicures and pedicures - sonja has the contact details for these lovely ladies! We then had a 3 course meal in the great hall whilst doing a murder mystery on Saturday night!

There is absolutely everything you need already there - loo roll, hand wash, washing up liquid etc etc, enough crockery and glasses for about 80 people so you literally just need to bring yourselves and the food and drink!

Great place - would highly recommend!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing