We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded all expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plane Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Airth, Falkirk District, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

419tashh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed December 30, 2019 for a stay in December 2019

Absolutely amazing!!
Castle was lovely and the ground are really amazing too! SOnja and her daughter were great at communicating, check in was easy and we had the best time there for a friends hen do.
Perfect for fun and games. The banquet hall is awesome and the whole castle is really perfect for a good game of sardines! Thank you :)

Date of stay: December 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinSmit...
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 7, 2019 for a stay in November 2018

My family friends and I visited for a couple of nights last year. The castle was everything I hoped for and more. Can't recommend this place enough. Drinking a few (well many) beers in front of the huge open log fire with family and friends is a memory that will stay with me forever.
A true castle and manor house in one with all mod cons and great gardens.
If you are thinking of booking the castle do it, you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2019
Thank you for your kind review and glad to hear you had a fab time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreddieTo...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful week-long family stay and Golden Wedding party.”
Reviewed August 2, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful week. Our sons, wives and grandchildren joined us for a family week at the castle. Sonya gave us a great welcome, and made sure that we could find our way round these fascinating buildings. We were in the tower and the manor house. Lovely gardens too.
Our grandsons had great fun with wooden sword, shields and lances which were on hand. Our granddaughter mastered the hobby horse! Our family is far-flung and this gave us an opportunity to be together in a memorable place.
We had a Golden Wedding party on the Saturday for 45 people. Before we arrived in Scotland, Sonya made sure that we had the set-up we needed for our music, as we live in Canada it was a little complicated. Sonya and her crew did everything that was needed: the hall looked amazing; every little detail was looked after. The food was fantastic. Our guests were saying that the canapés were the best they have ever tasted. We had the canapés the courtyard.The lamb and salmon dishes were raved about as were the desserts. Congratulations to Eliese and James of CAT AND TURTLE who were the chefs. The serving staff were unfailingly cheerful and efficient.The food was properly hot even though the kitchen was a spiral staircase down from the hall!
One of our guests became ill during the evening and Steve took him to hospital and made sure he was being attended to.
We had rollicking mini highland games, run by Steve. What a competitive bunch, children and adults! They all had a great time. Tossing the caber, tossing the welly boot and the tug-o-war were the most fun to watch! Excellent organization by Steve.
All-in-all, Sonya and Steve gave us a super experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you and helping to ensure this was a super celebration for you all:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEN M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Dinotastic Weekend!”
Reviewed July 30, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Stayed at Plane Castle for my sisters Jurassic Park themed Hen Do, this venue is AMAZING! Sonja and Steve were brilliant from the booking phase, right through until the day we left. Steve hosted our mini Highland Games for our party and we had an great time! Half of our party were from down South, so his energy and outfit really added to the whole day!

The catering set up is fantastic, we didn't have to do anything-other than pour ourselves drinks! The food was lovely and nothing was a problem for Elise and James, James even joined in our dino fun with his t-shirt choices!

I would 100% recommend this venue for any type of event,seriously considering going back for a family get together. Book this castle, you will NOT be dissappointed.

Jen McIlhone

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Have a fabulous wedding and hopefully see you again one day:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann W
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed July 8, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Our cousin trip to Scotland would not have been complete without our stay at Plane Castle! A group of ten, with four children, this was the perfect place to call home for two nights. We had arranged for a traditional Scottish dinner on our first night and Steve, the private chef, did not disappoint! Eating in the banquet hall made us feel like royalty. There are many places to explore and the children loved the secret passageway in the castle and the pond and hobbit hole on the grounds. There are plenty of bathrooms, beds, and spots to sit and relax. As no one was staying in the tower, Steve took us in and all the way to the top. The view was magnificent. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raisciort...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fly away at Plane Castle ”
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Do you want to be transported back in time, with surroundings that exemplify the very meaning of history and class? Then look no further than Plane Castle.

This castle is the hidden gem in the Stirlingshire region that you have been searching for. Located not far from Bannockburn and Stirling it is steeped in rich history. This is the base from which to plan your stay from.

Whether you are looking for a weekend break, long or short stay this abode captures rich Scottish history, encapsulates amazing beautiful scenery and is the ideal location for your wedding - which is why we chose this amazing location.

We had an absolute fairytale of a weekend - the sun shone, the Ochils were picturesque and our hosts Sonja & Steve delivered exactly what they said they would and indeed over and above!!!

I would urge you strongly to get in touch with Sonja to inquire about
having your family escape or function at this venue. You will totally be surprised what is on offer.

Sonia, could not do enough for us - she's slightly crazy, but a great kind of crazy! Her personality is reflected throughout the castle. I'm not saying she's old and derelict but she fits in with the very foundations of the castle like she's actually part of the bricks and mortar that comes part n' parcel with the package.

Honestly, we cannot thank Sonja and Steve enough. They and their team are all equally integral to the overall experience that you will never forget.

The food we had was very good. The rooms we had were just absolutely befitting of the inspired Jacobean period. This place is a complete warren and even after staying at the castle for two days, I had issues finding my wife - which wasn't an entirely bad thing! A trip to the bathroom meant I went AWOL for 4 hours as I'd be off exploring the rooms and surroundings in perfect peace and quiet.

I think we had about 15 guests or so staying with us very comfortably. The rooms are very fitting of the abode and you could be transported into a period drama similar to that of Outlander. Mesmerising!

Actually, I really enjoyed the fact that there was no broadband or internet in the castle as it meant people were not distracted from the real reason they were there. It was great to escape technology for the weekend and have some real personal escape time from modern day cruxes. I will state that our mobile providers pretty much supplied a great 4g signal, but that's not the point. Switch off your phone and laptop and soak it all in.

Love it, love it, love it!

I could have easily asked for another night stay to chill out further just to soak it all up even further.

Money cannot buy you the experience you and your loved ones will remember forever after your stay.

Our wedding was catered for 50 guests, each one was extremely complimentary of Plane Castle and their hosts.

It's everyone's dream to get hitched and stay in a castle. Make sure you give this one a whirl - nothing comes close. And its so achievable; it doesn't come with the wedding associated price tag you think it does. OUTSTANDING.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Grazie!

Hard to believe, but I don't work or own the castle (I wish I did) but it will forever be in our hearts.....

Date of stay: March 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fi_and_St...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing venue for a weekend away”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Manor House and Tower for a hen weekend and had an absolutely fantastic time. The castle is interesting and fun with a awesome great hall where we chilled, dined and partied. Steve and Sonja were great hosts and arranged a number of different activities - they could not have been more helpful with all the planning. The rooms were lovely, there was plenty of space for everyone. The kitchen was fantastic with everyone we could have needed. I would recommend this place to anyone for a hen weekend or a family/friends weekend away.

Date of stay: March 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are always happy when our lovely guests are happy:-) Have a great wedding
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.